Kerry overhyped

Its not that Kerry are over rated lads, its that this Dublin team was under rated.

Kerry are a very good team, with very good players.

Dublin are just a good share better than they are. Thats all.

Think about that

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/09/2015 18:46:57    1790962

In Rugby Union. an ill focused South Africa were caught cold by Japan. What are the odds they will slaughter the opposition in the remaining group matches?

If this Kerry team can make a final with a defence which isn't quite right then we'll see what a difference a year makes, shall we? Of all the teams this year, I was most impressed by the progress made by Tyrone. If they- and Mayo, Donegal, Cork and Monaghan- show more next year, it could be a vintage year.

Stop trying to gauge the greatness of teams. Leave that to history. Take each championship on its merits. Judge each game as it comes. And lighten up... FFS (if you're a pain in the arse after winning then you must be insufferable after a loss)

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 22/09/2015 19:19:37    1790977

I stand by the facts - they speak for themselves. Kerry have failed to beat the big 2 on 6-7 occasions in those 2 periods. That is not the form of a great side. My guess is the heart of this Kerry team will begin to retire and a rebuilding period will begin. It's difficult to see who can compete with Dublin over the next 4-5 years - a demoralised Mayo?, an unproven Tyrone?, a new Kerry. We could be entering a total blue period - hopefully not but they seem to have it all at the moment - finance, a conveyor belt of talent, support, etc.
Think I've heard this all before. Will ye ever learn? 2016 is a brand new year.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 22/09/2015 19:50:08    1790994

Dublin have beaten Kerry 5 times on the trot in Croke Park since 2011

Twice in league and now 3 Championship games

Kerry won an All Ireland without playing Dublin in 2014

They know how to beat Kerry... Like no other team in the country

Kerry's luck ran out on Sunday... and they have been fortunate in the last couple of seasons

They defended their title the best they could but Dublin has the better players and management

Gavin learned his lesson and is much better for it

Manager of the season... best team of the year

Won absolutely everything that was put in front of them

A clean sweep. Incredible stuff from the team of the decade

Good luck folks... See you in Croke Park..

Where we'll be looking to make it 6 on the bounce

Hard luck Kerry but you've had an awful lot of good luck...

Nothing lasts forever... but you'll 100% be back and it'll be up t Dublin once again to stop you

No one else can or will...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/09/2015 19:50:13    1790995

Donegal might stop them next year, or tyrone, or mayo. But I dont think that the dubs will be touched.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/09/2015 20:14:52    1791020

Congrats Dublin better team on the day you need luck Dublin had it
The Dublin forwards were to score alot of goals against a poor Kerry
defence according to some posters before the final well that poor
Kerry defence held the brilliant forward line to 8 points from play
the same as Kerry scored at the other end had Kerry played like they
can Sam would be down south Dublin had some handy frees plus Donaghy
should have a penalty and to be honest Kerry are the only team that
can beat them next year

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 22/09/2015 20:43:32    1791038

To degrade Kerry is actually an insult to this Dulbin side and takes away from their achievements. That is wrong! It's a takes very good and more often great team to beat Kerry in Croke Park but to beat Kerry 3 times in a short space of time takes and an exceptional side which this Dublin side are. Dublin beat a very good Kerry team with a lot of great players so that is measure of how good Dublin are. You judge teams by the opposition they beat.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 22/09/2015 20:50:12    1791043

i don't think Kerry were over hyped. They had an off day and still were within 3 points of Dublin. There's very little between dublin, kerry and mayo. the last 2 years have proven that. Luck has had a lot to play in both all ireland champions getting over the semi final stage in 2014 and 2015. It will be similar again next year with Tyrone in the mix for Sam.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 22/09/2015 21:21:37    1791064

It is hard to do back to backs, dublin posters should know this well since its been a while since they have done a back to back!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 22/09/2015 21:32:09    1791077

To certain posters , while its a bit of Craic. Kerry posters have been very gracious in defeat .
Let's enjoy that we won and don't ruin it by trying to push them down further.
Show a bit of tact.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/09/2015 21:47:38    1791088

Redslayer
County: Westmeath

I stand by the facts - they speak for themselves. Kerry have failed to beat the big 2 on 6-7 occasions in those 2 periods. That is not the form of a great side. My guess is the heart of this Kerry team will begin to retire and a rebuilding period will begin. It's difficult to see who can compete with Dublin over the next 4-5 years - a demoralised Mayo?, an unproven Tyrone?, a new Kerry. We could be entering a total blue period - hopefully not but they seem to have it all at the moment - finance, a conveyor belt of talent, support, etc.

How many Kerry teams are you talking about? Some of the current team weren't playing under 12 football during these fact full years you refer to.

a rebuilding period will begin
There's money to be made with that kind of knowledge

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 23/09/2015 09:34:22    1791121

Adamski,
Most pundits the week before the game were predicting a Dublin win so overhyped I dont think so.
We had a bad day at the office but still believe we have one of the best midfield in the country , unfortunately the last day was one of david Moran's worst performances in a Kerry jersey.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 23/09/2015 09:41:23    1791122

It's gas I was told to shut up the last two years when I was saying this and now with hindsight your all on saying what I've been saying for 2 years, where were you all the last two years when I was getting destroyed for my opinions on this Kerry team???

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/09/2015 09:56:51    1791135

Well done to the Dubs. No disrespect to Kerry but they have saved Gaelic football this season. Next season however I would like to see some Dublin matches outside of Croke park- in Navan, Wexford, Laois or wherever.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2522 - 23/09/2015 09:56:54    1791136

Last year jim Gavin was a poor coach and we didnot know how to defend , it rained we got a rainbow and know everyone is smiling , winners write history losers read about themselves , its Kerrys turn to take stick , we have a habit in recent years of annilhilating the losing finalists , you know getting to the final is something thirty odd other counties didnt achieve

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/09/2015 10:03:42    1791144

of course Kerry were over hyped as bad as we are in galway if we were told tipp cork Kildare tyrone were opposition we had to beat to get to A1 we might fancy it are we a top team no now Donegal play tyrone Armagh derry monaghan mayo if they had won would still had to play Dublin in a semi over hyped ??

thebadbounce (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 23/09/2015 10:20:20    1791156

thebadbounce

of course Kerry were over hyped as bad as we are in galway if we were told tipp cork Kildare tyrone were opposition we had to beat to get to A1 we might fancy it are we a top team no now Donegal play tyrone Armagh derry monaghan mayo if they had won would still had to play Dublin in a semi over hyped ??

A full stop wouldn't go astray. Not sure what your point is.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 23/09/2015 10:33:44    1791164

thebadbounce

1791156 of course Kerry were over hyped as bad as we are in galway if we were told tipp cork Kildare tyrone were opposition we had to beat to get to A1 we might fancy it
Maybe you would fancy it yet you were beaten by 2 of those teams, Kerry and Cork in the last 3 years. On top of that you were beaten by Sligo, Antrim, Mayo, Donegal and Meath in the last 5 Seasons. Hardly the AI contender material you suggest yourself. Just remember in teh last 2 years we've beaten Donegal, Cork, Tyrone, Mayo, as well as Galway who, in your opinion seem to be major AI contenders.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 23/09/2015 10:51:25    1791175

WINTER WELL......................

thebadbounce (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 23/09/2015 11:06:07    1791190

thebadbounce

You forgot to mention galway. We played you in round 4. We played 6 games this year, 4 division 1 teams, and 2 division 2 sides.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/09/2015 12:27:39    1791256