Philly McMahon appreciation thread

What happens on the pitch stays on the pitch----- that's completely wrong as what happens on the pitch , if not dealt with by the Refthen the authorities in the GAA should deal with it
What do we want --- free for all and the biggest thugs tramp all over light skilfull players. Do we want to see someone getting a serious injury and that injury caused by a player intent on doing damage to a fellow player
You would think T McCann committed murder a few weeks ago and all he done was dive Yet on here people went to town on him, wanting him suspended for months. Funny how little was said on the SG or indeed the RTE news ( maybe because it's not Tyrone)
Now I wanted Dublin to win, some great supporters as I found out last year after we beat them. Indeed P MC Mahon is a great defender , pity about his discipline. And what gets me is that I read an article from J Galvin about discipline being so important to his team ---- I think that was lastTuesday or Wednesday. I know the manager has no control on the players once as MC Mahon says" the war begins" Things can happen on the field of play, very quickly in the heat of battle.
What I will say the incident must be looked at and dealt with if evidence is thereto prove something happened.
I a
So think P MC Mahon was wrong saying ( I don't give a shit) and I'd expect to hear an apology from him in due course if action is taken against him.
Can't have this thing about rough upbringing and where he is from because I can tell all of youplentyabout rough times years ago

What about 50 years ago and hundreds of young boys / girls leaving Both Donegal /Mayo with their fathers to pick spuds in Scotland , to spend their time living in cowsheds and barns. Up at five every morning and pick spuds all day and very little food aA lot of these young people were around 14/15years of age and after about two months would return with maybe 15 or20 pounds each which would have to keep the house for the winter.
A lot of these people later emigrated and made very successful life's. But one thing they done was behave and set good examples to others.
If this is proven it must be dealt with as we don't want this creeping into the game.
Also why did K D complain to the ref indicating he was goughed and then yesterday say --- things that happen on the pitch stay on the pitch. This alleged incident has now happened in two Al IRELANDS and the first was never investigated which was wrong ( and the Tyrone player who done it was wrong) so this has at least to be looked at with both P mcM and KD both called in with K D asked to explain his gesture indicating something happened to his eye

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 22/09/2015 20:30:50    1791030

He really came of age as a footballer this year producing terrific performances especially in the semi finals and final . However he has let himself down badly .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/09/2015 20:43:09    1791036

1. You have never heard of Dublin or a player complain of any foul play against them, or run to a ref complaining of such, is this because all other counties threat us with kid gloves? or maybe something else?

dublin players were constantly complaining/arguing with the ref especially against Mayo

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 22/09/2015 20:54:42    1791046

Not a new poster - just been so long since my last post, I can't remember my moniker.

The problem with the GAA is that they do not act promptly to stamp out outrageous behaviour. They must get the courage to act restropectively after a game - the referee cannot possibly pick everything up.

If Philly McMahon had been given a severe suspension when he bit Paul Kerrigan a few years ago, he would have learnt his lesson and by now, he would be eulogised for his football performances - and for his football alone. (And if he didn't learn his lesson - then, the punishment escalates to the point of really hurting).

Instead of that, he has learnt that he can continue to get away with stuff.

The same goes for the other recidivists out there.

Hobsonbulmer (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 22/09/2015 21:46:05    1791085

I dont condone Philly , I dont condone DC , I dont condone Dublin players who step over the line , I was one of the few Dublin fans to state DC red card should have stood , and felt HQ screwed up in over turning the card .
Now equally let me tell you this Im following Dublin for 40 years , Ive seen us battered off the pitch , there have been times when we were quite rightly labeled soft and by god did our country cousins let us know it , the hypocrisy on this site goes two ways , Ive lost count how many times fellas have devoted one line in congratulating Dublin and become james joyce in the next 8 or 9 slating Dublin , everyone of you out there would pick both players in your team , and when they transgress yould be on here to defend them Fact .
Newsflash I was in Kilarney and I saw with my own eyes how some teams feel they can get at Dublin ,this team is different like Kilkenney we can play and we can fight , not something youse want to here , but you better get used to it .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/09/2015 09:09:39    1791114

Strange that you start an appreciation thread for Philly McMahon but not one for the real hero of Dublin football for the last 15 years, Alan Brogan who always played the game in the right spirit.

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 23/09/2015 09:31:02    1791118

That was our big weak point throughout the late 90s and especially the noughties, damo. When push came to shove we were too soft. We always came out second best in the rows (eg, the famous Tyrone one) and both us and our rivals knew that. We really needed the steel that Brennan and Connolly brought, and later McMahon. I'd be a far bigger fan of the other two than McMahon, because I think they are genuinely hard, tough and uncompromising, who don't need to resort to eyegouging/sneakiness/diving (especially! McCannesque against mayo) to enforce

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 23/09/2015 09:58:14    1791140

But as long as the rules favor the sneak over the honest punch in self defence/retaliation, lads like McMahon (and Lee Keegan, etc.) will make hay and the game will continue its descent into farce

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 23/09/2015 10:00:39    1791143

murof

Strange that you start an appreciation thread for Philly McMahon but not one for the real hero of Dublin football for the last 15 years, Alan Brogan who always played the game in the right spirit.

Agree with that entirely. So many Dublin players play the game the right way, and the one accused of eye gouging gets the plaudits

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 23/09/2015 10:52:23    1791177

Interesting read by Darragh Ó'Sé: link

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 23/09/2015 11:38:58    1791207

Once again the link doesn't work:

http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/philly-mcmahon-bullied-gooch-out-of-final-says-kingdom-legend-darragh-o-se/41007?utm_content=bufferc038b&utm_medium=Social+organic&utm_source=Twitter&utm_campaign=Buffer

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 23/09/2015 11:41:45    1791210

I thought Kerry had this thing about them and I heard some of their players on about it ( think it was T o se ) --- hammer the hammer. According to Dara they must have fell well short on Sunday and failed to hammer the hammer. I suppose when you win you can come out with all these wisecracks but when you loose it's a different story.
Still Philly or no Philly I'd say a few counties will be hoping to meet Dublin in next year's championship. I love to see Donegal meeting them again as I always think Donegal play well against Dublin. Just look at the results of our championship meetings over the years since 1992.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 23/09/2015 12:25:35    1791254

Philly is the man, a tee-totalling blue warrior. Glad someone started a thread like this, he is a self-made man, has a good fitness business and is a damn good footballer. His motivational talks to youngsters are brilliant and he has great idea's about coaching/fitness. He plays the game the way it is unfortunately evolving now, he is no different than other players on other teams. All the good teams have a Philly McMahon type of player.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 23/09/2015 15:06:57    1791415

Damo I have to agree with you 100% . Im a long time following Dublin and remember well
been called soft for not retaliating or being tough enough to stand up to the rest.
Im not going to lie either I used to roar and want them to fight back it used to boil my blood.

BaileBhlainsear (Dublin) - Posts: 27 - 23/09/2015 15:29:02    1791434

arock

Philly is the man, a tee-totalling blue warrior. Glad someone started a thread like this, he is a self-made man, has a good fitness business and is a damn good footballer. His motivational talks to youngsters are brilliant and he has great idea's about coaching/fitness. He plays the game the way it is unfortunately evolving now, he is no different than other players on other teams. All the good teams have a Philly McMahon type of player.

They do, and what to people not from those counties think of them? Not much, it's difficult to respect an Aidan O'Mahoney, Lee Keegan, Philly McMahon, McGee brothers type, because what they do is not play within the spirit of the game to put it politely. They intimidate, foul off the ball etc. Were you singing Lee Keegan's praises a few weeks ago? Not a chance

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 23/09/2015 15:32:41    1791437

I like Dublin football but I hate players like McMahon who use words like "desire" and "were going to war" to justify their antics.
Its not war, its a game of football.
Its horrible stuff. All the dubs here seem to be backing Mcmahon, but if Ryan McMenamin did that the same people would be spitting feathers.
Go out there, lash into the task, see how it goes, and if you lose you lose.
Going to war? I would love to send all these GAA hard men to an actual war zone, see how long theyd last.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 24/09/2015 19:46:56    1792042

Animal of a man... really started to focus on him this year I don't even know why but I just did , I like his attitude towards the game and how he goes out and gives it his all , I enjoyed his battle with AOS, he was always there about's when it was put in between them and didn't back down at all
I'd love to see what he's like at club battle, Correct me if i'm wrong but his club play St.Vincent's next ?
Wonder does he want to transfer to Monaghan? ;)
anyhow congratulations to Dublin , enjoyed watching them this year , enjoy

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 24/09/2015 20:13:56    1792053

club level *

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 24/09/2015 20:34:04    1792070

Quite simply Dublin would not have won the All Ireland this year without Philly Mc Mahon and in my opinion should be player of the year.

He is a proud Ballymun man and rightly so, I read somewhere that he is helping some of the less privileged in his own community but of course this will not make the same headlines,

I bet Mickey Harte would love to have him on his team.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 24/09/2015 20:35:08    1792073

Joncarter, just send them up to play club football in Derry, Donegal or Tyrone, war zones in their own right at times.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 24/09/2015 20:39:47    1792074