Philly McMahon appreciation thread

so eye gouging is ok then Roger. what next?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 22/09/2015 14:48:03    1790763

cacsmckilly

Philly McMahon, the modern defender, big on muscle and fitness low on footballing ability, the guy reminds me of chemical ali in his interview totally denying the truth. And he really did bend the truth in his latest statement that Dublin goes man to man, lol hilarious stuff

^^^
^^^
^^^

Speaking of 'hilarious stuff'!!

Only outscored 2 of the best forwards in the game in recent weeks! You're dead right, no 'footballing ability' at all ha.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 22/09/2015 14:53:21    1790765

For the record, I like McMahon as a footballer, I think there is nothing wrong with a combative style and a guy willing to take the game to a so called great forward, maybe get a score off him. However, he gouged someone's eye (not the first player to do it though it should be said), he for my money 100% meant to connect with AOS with his head, he dived ridiculously, he feigned injury twice, he punched colm boyle twice, and that was all in the space of two games. None of those things are acceptable, and frankly it is a black mark against the gaa that he never faced sanction for any of it.

As for his comical denials : link

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 14:54:09    1790766

Here is the link:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=FafVtHWn4X8

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 15:06:03    1790779

Philly McMahon, the modern defender, big on muscle and fitness low on footballing ability, the guy reminds me of chemical ali in his interview totally denying the truth. And he really did bend the truth in his latest statement that Dublin goes man to man, lol hilarious stuff

I wish i was low on footballing ability and still be able to score 1-2 in an all ireland semi final and 0-1 in the final for a corner back.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2015 15:14:47    1790783

Sorry, but i love the guy
Sorry
Maybe it makes me a hypocrite, maybe it lowers my standing as a fan, if it does it does, but I wouldnt swap himself cooper and rory for another FB line in the country

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/09/2015 15:26:31    1790790

cacsmckilly

-----
That's hilarious for so many reasons. One being that this chap who is low on footballing ability scored 1-2 in a semi and marked many people's player of the year at that point out of the game. He then went on to a final and marked the best player of all time out of the game and scored a crucial point. He was many people's many of the match on Sunday and will likely get an all-star. Not bad for a guy low on footballing ability! Good picture of him on Sunday with the 4 trophies that he bagged this year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2015 15:34:47    1790797

For the record, I like McMahon as a footballer..................

More rubbish Master. This BS of starting your post professing your admiration for player and then sticking boot in fools no-one. AOS 100% tried to get MacMahon sent off by pulling MacMahon towards him and then running first to ref, and then media, whinging. He could take a leaf from Donaghys book there. You also had Lee Keegan admitting last week he deliberately tried to get Connolly sent off. Highly dangerous play, putting a player in a choke hold. Poor Diarmuid was very lucky he escaped without serious injury. Then you have Cillian O Connor. Twice, Dublin players have had to leave field of play because of his dangerous play. 2013 final and replayed semi 2015. Both blows were quiet deliberate. I was looking directly at them. Not on TV either. He also, as third man in clearly struck Connnolly while Keegan proceeded to choke him. I suggest You get your own house in order before coming on here with your holier-than-thou attitude and bad-mouthing any Dublin player.

Aido

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 22/09/2015 15:39:30    1790802

Philly is Ricey with the ability to score 1-2 in an all ireland final!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/09/2015 15:43:26    1790805

Good picture of him on Sunday with the 4 trophies that he bagged this year.

Great picture of him alright Joxer, not a bad haul for someone with no footballing ability

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 22/09/2015 15:51:37    1790810

Philly is a super footballer and probably deserves player of the year - can't decide between him, Berno or Kilkenny..

Eye gouging is unacceptable and he should be banned.. The circus about it is laughable though, it is only so controversial now due to social media and the amount of cameras.. far worse has happened in the old days and things just moved on.. fair play to Donaghy for not making a big deal of it.. club games now a days has this stuff happening all the time..

Philly is a top man off the pitch and is known for the amount he gives to kids and how important family is to him.. certain players do have a warrior mentality when they get onto the pitch and anything goes, it is why they are the ones who made it and we are the ones commenting on it on forums.

Can't stand Donaghy, Galvin, Cillian O'Connor on the pitch but to name a few, but I am sure they are just normal lads off the pitch and down to earth guys.. They are amateurs and work their ***** off for our enjoyment and love of their counties.. They do not deserve some of the flack they get.. not just mcmahon but tiernan mccann etc

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 22/09/2015 15:54:18    1790811

Chemical Ali versus Chemical Philly

Chemical Ali - Amercians? What Amercians

Chemical Philly - Headbutt? what Headbutt, eye gouge? What eye gouge, Dublin go man to man.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 22/09/2015 16:00:44    1790817

heMaster

For the record, I like McMahon as a footballer, I think there is nothing wrong with a combative style and a guy willing to take the game to a so called great forward, maybe get a score off him. However, he gouged someone's eye (not the first player to do it though it should be said), he for my money 100% meant to connect with AOS with his head, he dived ridiculously, he feigned injury twice, he punched colm boyle twice, and that was all in the space of two games. None of those things are acceptable, and frankly it is a black mark against the gaa that he never faced sanction for any of it.

As for his comical denials : link

-----

So he meant to headbutt but missed. How could you miss AOS' head in all fairness. It's the size of a large pumpkin.

Should we reel off Cillian O'Connor's sins from those two games also? You know, just for the sake of balanced commentary. Heaven forbid that you may be conveniently overlooking them like.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2015 16:01:28    1790818

I can understand why Dublin fans love him.

Surely though - putting his fingers into a player's eye makes you question him? There is a line that should never be crossed and he has crossed it. There is nothing 'hard man' about putting your fingers into someone's eyes.

But equally, saying he is low on footballing ability is off the mark. He's a quality player. But if he is going to live on the edge that much he will most likely become a target in 2016 and many will be looking to be the player who 'took him down'.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/09/2015 16:04:28    1790823

slayer
County: Limerick

I can understand why Dublin fans love him.

Surely though - putting his fingers into a player's eye makes you question him? There is a line that should never be crossed and he has crossed it. There is nothing 'hard man' about putting your fingers into someone's eyes.

But equally, saying he is low on footballing ability is off the mark. He's a quality player. But if he is going to live on the edge that much he will most likely become a target in 2016 and many will be looking to be the player who 'took him down'.

----

Agree with all of that Slayer. He needs to control his aggression. It's one thing being hard, it's another thing being underhanded.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2015 16:12:53    1790828

Joxer you've possibly been the biggest high-horser on here over the last few weeks. Your hypocrisy in playing the poor me and playing down incidents and the last two days is pretty laughable to be honest.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 22/09/2015 16:21:42    1790836

He is the same for his club he crosses the line in most games getting cheap shots in when opponents on the ground his behaviour against mayo and now kerry were a disgrace and CHOKE park will do nothing as usual.
p.s he is a good defender.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 22/09/2015 16:22:04    1790838

Agree with all of that Slayer. He needs to control his aggression. It's one thing being hard, it's another thing being underhanded.

Yeah & I think that's the key. If he is physical, if people know that he is going to be like that, I think nobody minds too much. One thing in his favour now is that the GAA season winds down for 3 months+ and maybe in the first 1-2 games next year if he steers away from the controversy, controversy will have found someone else.

There has always been this element in Gaelic Football. Cahalane v Gormley in 1993 is just one example.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/09/2015 16:24:35    1790844

"1. You have never heard of Dublin or a player complain of any foul play against them, or run to a ref complaining of such, is this because all other counties threat us with kid gloves? or maybe something else?"

maybe because every county except Dublin seems to accept that biting and gouging are not acceptable acts on the field of play.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 22/09/2015 16:50:15    1790877

I'd say the GAA are going to bide their time on this one, make sure all loop holes are closed off & then hit him with a 6 month ban if not more. This is the first high profile case of gouging & I think the GAA will make an example of him. Also, he has previous that he's got away with and along with Connolly getting off they're going to make sure they nail him.............and I very much hope they do!!!

Dessie13 (Dublin) - Posts: 70 - 22/09/2015 17:03:55    1790890