Philly McMahon appreciation thread

Ulsterman
There are none so blind as those who cannot see and the Dubs and media have been struck down with their annual affliction; selective myopia, that condition that lets them see the every indiscretion north of Dundalk but nothing in the boundaries of Dublin. Stop this embarrassing in denial nonsense. There is simply no defence for McMahon or Dublin here, Croke Park's deafening silence on the incident is more disturbing.

You would have a valid point if you hadn't said north of Dundalk... They were throwing plenty of if west when they were trying to get Connolly off for what was a nailed on punch to an opponent. Not to mention AOS's telekinetic ability to make people push their heads into his by lightly holding onto their jersey...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 12:28:57    1790639

Administrator

Think you are wrong about Robbie Kelleher witnof. A real footballer. Gay O Driscoll in the other corner was a notorious hard man. So also but to a lesser degree Mick Kennedy who was more sticky as they say rather than hard,.

Gay O'Driscoll was on the Dublin team mainly because of the club he played for. Same reason Ger Brennan got the start ahead of Denis Bastick in 2013. Many bitter ex-players in Dublin over the preferential treatment of one club.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 22/09/2015 12:35:54    1790645

The. People who run the GAA are standing by week in week out watching all these incidents ( and probably reviewing them on TV ) taking place and yet fail to act or call in players to discipline them This year has been a proper shambles with players getting off scot free while indeed they should have been serving suspensions
As regards MC Mahon I can see his point about not giving a **** but look at another way what if say K Donaghy had to have lost an eye or any other player through similar as to what McMahon done.
In civvy street would these actions , gouging, punching, head butting or kicking or trying to cause injury not result in a court appearance?
So are GAA players above the law I ask or is the GAA above the law. Or in other words does the law of the land cover the GAA ? I should think it does.
Take the D Byrne incident( broken jaw) if that happened in a town centre at the weekend it would be classed as probably GBH and the person who done it would be facing a jail sentence.
Plus the injured person would be entitled to seek compensation.
If the GAA don't act then I can see free for alls , what's to stop a manager playing a hatchet man to deal with these so called hard men And as D Byrne found out he met harder than himself who was not afraid to do what he had to do.
Now we don't want to go down that road, we want the game cleaned up big time, proper suspensions handed down and cut out all this off the ball stuff
And fair play to the decent Dublin supporters on here condemning MC Mahon , it's hard to condemn your own players but it's the proper course of action
Let's be truthful about it it's the ball you should tackle not the man or his head /eyes
Also a few years ago was there not an incident involving an ex Down player/ ex manager who broke a players jaw in a game in I think Westmeath a few years ago That player concerned was a member of the Garda and a court case took place if memory serves me right. BUT THE GAA MUST ACT THIS WEEK.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 22/09/2015 12:40:49    1790646

First off i am probably in the minority but i am a fan and nearly started this thread myself.

He has outscored both Aidan OShea and Colm Copper this year - Fact.

He might be a dirty footballer but lots of players are and it does not make them bad people he just needs to work on this side of his game.

Just read last week that he grew up in Ballymum in hard times, a large number of his mates turned to drugs and got involved in crime. Many of them died and ended up in jail as a result. He lost his own brother in 2012. He credits Paddy Christie with getting him involved in football. He put all his attention into this as a young lad and took his football so seriously that he never even drank. Apart now from being a successful business man running 3 gyms and a food business he also does voluntary work trying to put young lads on the right track and turn them away from a life of drugs and crime. I think the lad deserves some respect.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 22/09/2015 12:41:30    1790647

Jays marse, you sound like one if those pinko soccer journalists bleating on about how hard such and such had it. Plenty players had it rougher than philly growing up, and theres plenty gougers playing. Noone these days has life hard anyway with the scratcher and opportunitys you get. Sure even I could've made it big, if I wasn't so tick!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 22/09/2015 12:41:41    1790649

I think what he did on sunday was a disgrace but the lame excuses and justification afterwards has made it worse. Why was he pawing Donaghy after donaghy stood up if he was trying to get the ball. Also he has previous.
I always wary of so called "hard men", usually they just engage in dirty and cowardly strokes.
Hope the gaa give him a decent suspension.
What has happened to jim galvin's core principles and values that he'a always on about?

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 22/09/2015 12:55:32    1790659

Admin, thanks for the correction...of course it was Mick, I was talking with a gay called Ray when writing, hence the problems when you don't proof read. Loved Kennedy, you knew he just loved putting on the jersey, win lose or draw, and not much got by him.

As to the '70s team, it was built by Heffo so there was never going to be any shrinking violets on that team....footballers or not.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 22/09/2015 12:56:30    1790660

xxx

First off i am probably in the minority but i am a fan and nearly started this thread myself.

He has outscored both Aidan OShea and Colm Copper this year - Fact.

He might be a dirty footballer but lots of players are and it does not make them bad people he just needs to work on this side of his game.

Just read last week that he grew up in Ballymum in hard times, a large number of his mates turned to drugs and got involved in crime. Many of them died and ended up in jail as a result. He lost his own brother in 2012. He credits Paddy Christie with getting him involved in football. He put all his attention into this as a young lad and took his football so seriously that he never even drank. Apart now from being a successful business man running 3 gyms and a food business he also does voluntary work trying to put young lads on the right track and turn them away from a life of drugs and crime. I think the lad deserves some respect.

----

Good post. Philly is a warrior, no doubt. He did grow in working class Ballymun and has risen to be a successful business man and probably the best, or one of the best corner backs in the game. He is a tremendous athlete, no doubt.

However, he has had a couple of controversial moments this year. He is ultra competitive and I have no doubt that he genuinely adopts the win at all costs philosophy. Philly saw man to man challenges when tasked with stopping AOS and on Sunday stopping Donaghy when he came on.

When he goes over the edge then he must be punished. You cannot defend eye gouging if that's what he was attempting to do. I would have no problems with the CCCC dealing with this. I don't think Philly is a "dirty" player. I've been watching him for years and could count on one hand the incidents at IC level that he has been involved in, and half of those were this year. I suppose the frustrating thing is that incidents like this have occurred in the past and I don't remember people on here, who are now up on their high horse, calling for the likes of Ryan McMenamin to be banned following the 2005 final when Gooch claimed that he was eye gouged and bitten. Like I said I would have no problem with Philly receiving punishment if he deliberately tried to gouge and would not defend it in any shape or form.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2015 12:56:34    1790661

That is the thing though. Does he not care? Would he go on the radio if he didn't want to be heard? Would he be talking about looking at his man in the eye and going to war with him for the game? I get the impression he cares more than most, illustrated by the amount of effort he is putting into getting this image of himself out there.

I wouldn't think so no. He'd care he'd get sent off but as to what those down the country think I'd doubt it.

He is been asked questions and he's answering them but I suppose he could stay quiet if he wanted to so I see your point.

If he eye gouged someone then he should of course be banned and there's no defending it obviously.

I genuinely have only seen the incident once back on TG4 after the game and find it hard to say definitively that he gouged him. Maybe others have seen other angles with better footage and if so then fair enough. There must be better footage available though seeing how quickly everyone has come in for the hanging.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2015 13:15:00    1790671

Here is what I say. Dubs constantly on here moaning about Tyrone being dirty and northern football in general. Full of cheap shots, niggling, dragging and pulling.
Here's the thing what a hard man is it somebody who gouge a fella's eyes, punches somebody in the back of the head, kicks somebody in the leg?
In Dublin maybe yes by the sounds of it but in other places we call that type of person a ******* or a *******.
We don't want GAA to turn into a ******* game. To me the hard men are those going in hard with a good shoulder and taking a good shoulder. If two fellas face up for a bit of a biffo. Philly isn't a hard man. He's a dirty player full stop. He'll be one of those players who is the first to moan to the ref when somebody does something to him which he probably provoked in the first place.
Hard man my ****.

You are a very angry man nick :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2015 13:29:43    1790683

MesAmis

Check it out here

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/sundya-game-philly-mcmahon/309574

When they slow it down and zoom in you can see it clear as day

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/09/2015 13:36:22    1790688

There are none so blind as those who cannot see and the Dubs and media have been struck down with their annual affliction

I can see cleeeearly nowwwww, the rain is gone.

I can see alllllll obstacles in my wayyyyy.

Gone are the dark clouds that had me bliinnnnd!!

Its gonna be a bright, bright, bright, bright sunshiny day

:D :D :D

UP THE DUBS...

CHAMPIOOOOOOOONES CHAMPIOOOOOONES OLAY OLAY OLAY !!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/09/2015 13:37:12    1790689

i think we can now end this tread because philly himself has spoken. He has admitted that when the ball throws in "he goes to war" and anything that happens in the 70 mins is grand once he wins his all ireland. Shows a lack of respect and a lack of honour. Cheating has no place in the game even wars have rules.

He said himself that he doesnt give a ****. Also he says the dublin defenders go man to man which would beg the question why were AOS AND STAR double teamed and some times triple teamed during the AISF and AIF if dublin go man to man. Also says they dont have 7/8 men in their defense where as i saw during the game as many as 12 defending.

Says he couldnt see the ball the second time he went in but its a fair assumption that the ball was probably a foot below his eye socket. And also as the video showed he found the eye first.You dont need a degree in biology to know the hands hold the ball not the face.

Liked philly till that interview but i now see him for what he is a common thug.

As for those who refer to his up bring and his residence i have no interest in that. Everyone has a choice to live the lives they do. Falling into drugs or crime is a personal decision and people that dont shouldnt be commended simply for being a reasonable member of society.

But just because of where you are from doesnt give a right to be a thug and a cheat on the field.

Some might say im being hard but how could you not be after reading that interview. Do what ever you want for 70 mins as long as you win.Does that not go completely against the ethos of good sportsmanship

Your right philly this is gaelic football it is a mans game. So play it like a man

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 22/09/2015 14:00:57    1790722

Cheers benjyyy. Hadn't seen that.

We'll see what comes outta it now I suppose.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2015 14:20:36    1790735

Philly McMahon brought up on the mean streets of Ballynum to be a Dublun hero , well done Philly you beast two All Ireland's in a row you've kept your man scoreless from play outstanding footballer and hard as nails.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/09/2015 14:24:39    1790740

Philly McMahon, the modern defender, big on muscle and fitness low on footballing ability, the guy reminds me of chemical ali in his interview totally denying the truth. And he really did bend the truth in his latest statement that Dublin goes man to man, lol hilarious stuff

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 22/09/2015 14:24:43    1790741

nothing hard about eye gouging, an attempted headbutt or diving clondalkindub

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 22/09/2015 14:34:42    1790750

Well, I'd give my left arm to have a player like Philly McMahon playing for Meath. He is cut from the same cloth as those great winning players we used to have in a Meath jersey. Once he crosses that white line, everything is fair game when it comes to winning.
McMahon is a real player, not a phoney when push comes to shove.
Fair play to him, it players like him that the GAA was built on.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 471 - 22/09/2015 14:36:22    1790753

22/09/2015 14:24:43
cacsmckilly

1790741 Philly McMahon, the modern defender, big on muscle and fitness low on footballing ability, the guy reminds me of chemical ali in his interview totally denying the truth. And he really did bend the truth in his latest statement that Dublin goes man to man, lol hilarious stuff

How many other corner backs have scored 1-6 in championship?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 22/09/2015 14:40:52    1790755

Bomber Liston not holding back on giving his opinion today. "This cannot be tolerated and I fully expect the GAA to follow it up with their disciplinary procedures". "Not sour grapes, this has no place in our games".

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 22/09/2015 14:43:33    1790760