Philly McMahon appreciation thread

1790513 He had a good game on the gooch to be fair, but he wasn't marking o'shea, he was one of 3 men marking o'shea.

McMahon is a capable footballer, but the truth is sooner or later his poor temperament is going to let his team down. He has now been caught twice doing unsavoury things when a guy was on the ground, if people think refs aren't going to be watching for this in the future they are very naïve. You have to accept the good with the bad with a player like that. You have got the good and are celebrating, but the bad is in the post.

One of your better posts Master
I agree players live on the edge , they get older they get wiser but don't allways change their spots , Ger Brennan D Connoly have similar temperament , but lads that live on the edge are not the same player if trying to stay out of trouble is foremost in their minds . Hence if they get into trouble Im don't join the chorus of " he should know better etc "
With those players you have to take good with bad .
Something Ive learnt and was echoed by a development squad coach not so long ago , if the opposition bring their dogs youd better hope yours are on the pitch at the same time ,
Massive fan of Philly but realistic enough to know why opposition fans wouldnt exactly love him .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/09/2015 11:17:22    1790569

Ulsterman

1790522 By all means salute him if you are a Dub, he is a very good player, but that shouldn't make him or any other player exempt from due disciplinary process. If the alleged incident on Sunday had been Rugby Union or League the player in question would probably have been cited and received a disciplinary date already. However there smacks a tone of "We are Dublin, we don't care and we'll do what we want knowing we'll probably get away with it". If the GAA don't act on this, or even investigate it, an awful negative message will be sent to young players and the other 31 counties that "we tolerate this sort of stuff".

You touched on one thing that might help resolve a lot of disciplinary issues in the GAA. The need for a citing officer who can review every game as they do in rugby and then cite whatever needs citing, it might get us away from the nonsense of trial by facebook /twitter or whatever else takes your fancy after every game.
To criticise Dublin for having a 'we are Dublin we don't care' attitude however is a bit silly. Every successful team has always had an insular, self focused attitude. Do you honestly think Donegal and Jim Mc Guinness cared one jot what you, I or anyone else thought of them, the same for Kerry, Kilkenny or any other team that has success.
To suggest that Dublin feel immune to the rules is off the mark too, if Mc Mahon is to get punished then so be it, he deserves it and very few true supporters will argue otherwise, but to criticize Dublin for exploiting the same loopholes in the GAA disciplinary system (in Connolly's case) as Mayo (and many others) had done previously is very one-eyed. In reality the entire disciplinary system needs a complete overhaul in the GAA, because in recent years so many loopholes have been opened up in the process that it has been rendered all but useless.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 22/09/2015 11:19:48    1790571

First of all he's very handy footballer
BUT I'm not buying this act ... Of course he cares what people think of him.
If he didnt give a **** he wouldnt try to explain to Gooch attempting to justify what he was at for the previous 70 mins .. 'I do what i do - you do what blah , blah ' ...
Genuine Hard men dont care what what people think .. He is definitely not one .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 22/09/2015 11:26:11    1790578

He's my FOTY in anyways.

He won't get it but he has been the biggest reason that Dublin are All-Ireland Champions in my book.

I've huge respect for him off the field too. He's had some tough knocks and to get where he has gotten in life is his biggest achievement.

He'll be sent off someday probably or suspended or roasted by a corner forward and the masses will rejoice but he won't really care about that either. That's how he is.

He might as well enjoy the good times because, as well he knows, they will not last forever.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 22/09/2015 11:30:45    1790583

Administrator - what is your 'normal' posting name :-)

No harm in you having two logins, sure you need one to administer and one to be yourself. Just please don't tell us you are really snufalufagas?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 22/09/2015 11:38:53    1790588

I'm not a fan of his diving I have to say, he's no better than Tiernan McCann in that regard.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/09/2015 11:39:19    1790589

I don't know what he's like as a person but he's shown himself to be a dirty player this year, and he's relying on opposition players not making a fuss to get away with it (e.g. Donaghy). His play is heading to places no normal player would dream of going - I can't understand why you would wrap your hands/fingers around someones face/eyes or how that would happen unintentionally. It's this sneaky aspect that I particularly don't like. Do it and say nothing (or admit it if you are stupid (Lee Keegan?)), or don't do it at all. One or the other. This doing it but then "I didn't really mean it" stuff gets under my skin. You can do plenty of damage fairly. I think it was Padraig Horan who said there are very few accidents on a hurling pitch - the same could be said of football. I hope he cleans up and sticks to the football next year because he has talent and potentially more success ahead of him.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 22/09/2015 11:44:23    1790595

MesAmis

He's my FOTY in anyways.

He won't get it but he has been the biggest reason that Dublin are All-Ireland Champions in my book.

I've huge respect for him off the field too. He's had some tough knocks and to get where he has gotten in life is his biggest achievement.

He'll be sent off someday probably or suspended or roasted by a corner forward and the masses will rejoice but he won't really care about that either. That's how he is.

He might as well enjoy the good times because, as well he knows, they will not last forever.

Am i missing something here. We are celebrating a man that has dived cheated and gouged in this summer alone.. Is that the cult hero we want for our kids. And the funniest thing is he is good enough not to need to do any of these things. One of the best man markers iv every seen was anthony lynch. On three seperate occasions kept the gooch in his prime scoreless from play. But did it clean. He was tough uncompromising but rarely got even booked.

Phily is good enough to be seen in the same light. And could go down as a cult hero in dublin just for his football.. Wouldnt it be awesome if he was being spoken in the after math of game for his football rather than the rest of the cowardly rubbish he get up to. I mena seriously gouging a lad on the ground with two other defenders standing over him that not tough marking .. thats not playing on the edge that just being a thug and if thats the cult hero that ye want for your kids to look up to then thats a wee but sad

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 22/09/2015 11:46:17    1790596

1. You have never heard of Dublin or a player complain of any foul play against them, or run to a ref complaining of such, is this because all other counties threat us with kid gloves? or maybe something else?

Get out of it, 2012 semi-final aftermath was a non-stop whinge-fest

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 22/09/2015 11:54:05    1790605

Administrator

Think you are wrong about Robbie Kelleher witnof. A real footballer. Gay O Driscoll in the other corner was a notorious hard man. So also but to a lesser degree Mick Kennedy who was more sticky as they say rather than hard,.

Ok. so now we know why there are so many Dublin threads :)

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/09/2015 12:00:18    1790609

Philly is entitled to head butt and gouge the eyes of the opposition, just another little dub perk like having meals delivered and playing every game on your home ground. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 22/09/2015 12:01:46    1790612

Here is what I say. Dubs constantly on here moaning about Tyrone being dirty and northern football in general. Full of cheap shots, niggling, dragging and pulling.
Here's the thing what a hard man is it somebody who gouge a fella's eyes, punches somebody in the back of the head, kicks somebody in the leg?
In Dublin maybe yes by the sounds of it but in other places we call that type of person a ******* or a *******.
We don't want GAA to turn into a ******* game. To me the hard men are those going in hard with a good shoulder and taking a good shoulder. If two fellas face up for a bit of a biffo. Philly isn't a hard man. He's a dirty player full stop. He'll be one of those players who is the first to moan to the ref when somebody does something to him which he probably provoked in the first place.
Hard man my ****.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 22/09/2015 12:03:31    1790614

Is gouging someone who is face down on the ground with their back to you, hard???

Is feigning injury to try & get someone sent off, hard???

He's well known for his antics in club football in Dublin aswell. You can put him in the same bracket as Davy Byrne, his clubmate.

This Dublin team stand for so much that is good & right about GAA & Gaelic Football but this fella is a stain on that.

The really sad part of it is that he doesn't need to do those things. His footballing ability alone is enough for him to get the better of his opponents.

If your looking for a real hard man then look no further than Rory O'Carroll. Gives it & takes it fair and square & goes about his business with no fuss.

Dessie13 (Dublin) - Posts: 70 - 22/09/2015 12:04:35    1790617

MesAmis

That is the thing though. Does he not care? Would he go on the radio if he didn't want to be heard? Would he be talking about looking at his man in the eye and going to war with him for the game? I get the impression he cares more than most, illustrated by the amount of effort he is putting into getting this image of himself out there.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 12:14:23    1790624

bryanadams

1790612 Philly is entitled to head butt and gouge the eyes of the opposition, just another little dub perk like having meals delivered and playing every game on your home ground. lol

So Philly is not your real problem? Its anything and everything to do with Dublin,very sad lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/09/2015 12:17:57    1790628

Philly is a fine player and no doubt he smudges the line now and again. But he is far from a gouger. He is from ballymun and not the glasnevin end of it either. A real ballymun gouger is something most people on here could not even comprehend, not unless you have grown up in a similar area. Someone like Philly had to fight tooth and nail to get where he is and occasionally some of that fight might come out on the pitch. If it does he should be punished and learn from it. But that doesn't make him a gouger.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 22/09/2015 12:18:47    1790629

Ray Kennedy, was he not a Liverpool player?

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/09/2015 12:21:38    1790631

There are none so blind as those who cannot see and the Dubs and media have been struck down with their annual affliction; selective myopia, that condition that lets them see the every indiscretion north of Dundalk but nothing in the boundaries of Dublin. Stop this embarrassing in denial nonsense. There is simply no defence for McMahon or Dublin here, Croke Park's deafening silence on the incident is more disturbing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 22/09/2015 12:21:40    1790632

s goldrick
Ok. so now we know why there are so many Dublin threads :)

Something that has been pretty obvious for about 3 years now...
The Monday admining is noticeably pro-Dublin, Tuesday is actually much fairer.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/09/2015 12:23:25    1790633

just another little dub perk like having meals delivered

Yeah, imagine that, having food from your own company delivered to you! The cheek!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 22/09/2015 12:23:34    1790634