The Sunday Game avoiding controversial Dublin incidents

I believe that this has been said on numerous occasions on this site in the past so I will keep it brief, the disciplinary system is a joke and requires a complete overhaul

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 25/09/2015 12:53:34    1792304

No statement yet and no ban yet. This isn't good enough. Over a week now. Still can't believe it. An eye gouge is one of the worst possible things you can do on a pitch in any sport. It is the most cowardly and one of the most potentially damaging things you can do. I cannot believe the GAA on this.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 28/09/2015 14:11:57    1793111

Have to agree, the silence from the GAA is shocking. I think most people saw the incident for what it was, disgraceful with no place in the game. Even Spillane in his newspaper column yesterday called for action.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 28/09/2015 20:50:12    1793330

Relax lads.

As far as I'm aware the CCCCCCCCCCCCC doesn't meet for awhile after the final for some reason. Could be a few weeks yet. There's no inter-county action until January.

You'll get your blood. Don't worry.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 29/09/2015 08:25:00    1793364

It's funny to see the way some Dublin fans make out those calling for action are "looking for blood" or are anti-Dublin. I'm a GAA fan, player, coach and volunteer. I don't care who did it. I just want to see these kind of actions punished properly.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 29/09/2015 12:10:48    1793521

icehonesty
County: Wexford

It's funny to see the way some Dublin fans make out those calling for action are "looking for blood" or are anti-Dublin. I'm a GAA fan, player, coach and volunteer. I don't care who did it. I just want to see these kind of actions punished properly.

My point is that it is silly to be complaining about it not happening yet when there's no reason to suggest that it won't happen soon.

The CCCC will meet soon and will ban Philly, and rightly so.

The outrage that he hasn't been banned already is a but silly imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 29/09/2015 12:15:11    1793528

The panel are a joke. If that was a Tyrone player they'd be calling for blood.

Remember the outcry for Sean cavanagh. Apparently a rugby tackle is worse than an eye gouge. In reality it's just the player who did it.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 29/09/2015 14:54:57    1793693

Sean Cavanagh & Tiernan McCann were named by the Sunday Game panel and demonized in the most personal way. Contrast this with the antics in the Kerry/Dublin and Dublin/Mayo games. There were studs into thighs, diving, cynical football, drag downs and alleged eye gouging. Were the individuals involved in these called out and vilified in the way Cavanagh/McCann were! Not a chance, the hypocrisy and double standards are just nauseating in the extreme.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/09/2015 15:20:25    1793716

The comparisons to Tyrone are getting a bit tiresome by now. Most people agree tsg,etc. Were OTT on the cavanagh incident, so why do yous want them to repeat it with Philly? Ive never heard him putting the boot into northerners, in fact he's half nordie himself. When he gets or doesn't get his punishment you might have a cause for a little whine. Meanwhile you'll just have to contain the excitement

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/09/2015 15:31:02    1793729

Jack_Goff

The panel are a joke. If that was a Tyrone player they'd be calling for blood.

Remember the outcry for Sean cavanagh.

-----
Indeed and we do. How could we forget? There must have been 20 threads setup on it and any time any player from a southern county so much as wags a finger at an opponent we're reminded what would have happened to him if he was from Tyrone or if he was Sean Cavanagh. And don't forget Tiernan McCann whatever you do. Who could forget the torture, the absolute torture that Tiernan went through. If Philly McMahon, Dermot Connolly, Jonny Cooper, Cian O'Sullivan, Paul Flynn (waved a camera away) were from Tyrone I tell you there would have been a southern media witch hunt and they would have been banned for three months. The Sunday game panel would have been screaming for heads, screaming I tell you.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 29/09/2015 21:09:00    1793944