The Sunday Game avoiding controversial Dublin incidents

Breffni39

So again, unproven allegations relating to Tyrone are definitely legit, but it's a completely different story when your own team Dublin are involved? And there is absolutely no double-standard or irony in any of this? And you are perfectly entitled to high-horse about this? Is my understanding correct here?

---
I see Bref so do you believe that the Tyrone U21s sledged their Tipp opponents to such a degree that the Tipp manager would not allow Tyrone officials into their dressing room? Do you believe that the Tyrone minors sledged the Donegal minors to such an extent that they disgustingly jeered young Michael Carroll over the passing of his father, causing the youngfella to break down? I mean I presume that you didn't witness these incidents. Do you believe that they happened? I mean they're unproven allegations right, just like Gooch being gouged and bitten? I'm not high horsing over anything but I have to say that I do get a laugh from some Tyrone fans lecturing about on the field behaviour. Again, for the record, if McMahon meant to gouge then he needs to be punished. I've no problem with that at all.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/09/2015 18:45:19    1791561

wee_yo

Joxer, a few genuine questions. Do you think the discussion about McMahon is unwarranted? Is this a simple case of "misconduct" akin to things other people were guilty of this summer? Looking at the video (link was posted on here previously) , does it not look like it was intentional?

----
Definitely warrants a discussion wee_yo but I think the tiresome non stop 'if this was a Tyrone player' and 'if that was Sean Cavanagh' blah, blah. It's all we've been hearing all summer. Every game now is under the micrscope and every tackle is being analysed for comparison against an equivalent by a Tyrone player.

I don't know if McMahon deliberately went for Donaghy's eye and I'm not trying to condone anything. This incident took place over about two seconds of slapping, there were about 6 hands in there, McMahon couldn't see Donaghy's eyes anyway and is it possible to gouge with thick rubber gloves on? It's hardly clean cut Stephen Ferris territory. There was no injury and the game played on. HOWEVER, what was McMahon doing with his hands around Donaghy's face anyway? It was definitely rough him up tactics anyway. Dublin should definitely deal with him internally I would say. He is sailing too close to the wind I would say.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/09/2015 18:56:01    1791565

Exactly who lectures who on here Joxer? Over the past 4/5 months there has been a cabal of dub posters who have seemingly set themselves up as the moral guardians of the GAA, taking some very lofty positions along the way, none more so than yourself of course. But it would seem that that high horse is only to be mounted in incidents NOT involving the current all Ireland champions, so I ask once again, who is lecturing who?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 23/09/2015 19:47:01    1791581

You know fine well why Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team don't talk to RTE to try and make out that this is paranoia leads me to think you are the one who needs to look up the meaning there......bud.
By the way it was you who were accusing Tyrone supporters of being paranoid, not the other way round. I see you repiled to another poster by using Sean C as an example.... What part of Tyrone or even Ulster as you seem to think it's all the same going by your previous reasons for always deflecting to Tyrone is Mayo in?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 23/09/2015 20:07:13    1791586

No Tyrone fan has any issue with a Tyrone player getting sanctioned. Nor do we even much care when the opposition gives one of our lads a good belt - it'll tighten them! Ciaran Whelan rarely ended a game without softening the ribs of the man he was marking; nobody cared, we're no saints either.

But what we find hard to take is the double standards in the Sunday Game and certain sections of the media. McCann feigns injury and the Sunday Game pundits damn near lep out of their skin. Gooch and Star take dog's abuse all day long, and what do our Sunday Game Defenders of the Faith have to say about it? Next to nothing. Soft voices, embarrassed wriggling and a general rush to change the subject. Pathetic.

That's what bugs us. Blatant double standards from people who have a duty to attempt to be impartial.

Apart from the eye gouge, Donaghy was massively impeded throughout - how can a man play if his marker has an arm though his oxter and back over his shoulder as happened to Donaghy in one picture in the Irish Times? Where was the ref? Donaghy has plenty to say but he is usually well provoked; I don't know how good forwards like him don't lash out more. It's a wider issue - dangerous forwards may not get hit or softened up so much nowadays, but they're sneakily held and impeded in umpteen ways that are illegal but refs just seem to ignore most of these incidents. And, of course, if, having been goaded for an hour, you lash out, you are deemed as guilty as the cur that started it. I also hate it when a man fields a ball only to be surrounded by 3 or 4 lads who couldn't have competed with him in the air and then he gets blew up for over-carrying.

Still, a massive performance from Dublin and fair play to them - worthy champions. Next year will be interesting!

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/09/2015 20:26:25    1791590

brendtheredhand

so I ask once again, who is lecturing who?

"Who is lecturing whom" surely dear man. ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 23/09/2015 20:29:34    1791592

brendtheredhand

Exactly who lectures who on here Joxer? Over the past 4/5 months there has been a cabal of dub posters who have seemingly set themselves up as the moral guardians of the GAA, taking some very lofty positions along the way, none more so than yourself of course. But it would seem that that high horse is only to be mounted in incidents NOT involving the current all Ireland champions, so I ask once again, who is lecturing who?

----
What is this 'high ground' that you speak of Bren? I call it the way I see it bud. They are my opinions and mine alone. If you don't like it then jog on. I'm not claiming any moral high ground, high horse or whatever metaphor you're trying to put on it. Dublin are certainly not moral guardians of the GAA. Have you ever heard of the 31 against 1 expression? We are likely to be the least listened to of all counties when it comes to lecturing.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/09/2015 20:32:23    1791595

Joxer, I suppose Tyrone supporters feel aggrieved because the team was highlighted more than their incidents or individuals and nothing they did was as serious as this. I do think they would have took a harder stance on the Sunday Game if the celebrations weren't going on and the Dublin lads watching. Right or not, it would have been difficult to go back to the hotel after going to task on one of the players.

On the gouging itself, yes it is possible with gloves. Just because he couldn't get his nails dug in doesn't make it any less dangerous. No he could not see his eyes, but he was looking directly at the back of Donaghy's head and I think he should know by now what was on the other side of it. What possible reason could he have for pinching his fingers and pulling them back as hard as he did, surely he didn't think the ball was as small?

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 23/09/2015 20:44:36    1791602

You can talk all day about this BUT are Croke Park going to act or even make a statement? This cannot be tolerated in ANY sport.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 23/09/2015 21:12:31    1791615

I thought Dublin got off lightly on Sunday night. Ciaran Whelan was there to wipe anything under the carpet. he did a great sweeping up job. that's all I am saying. congratulations to Dublin. worthy champions.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 23/09/2015 21:33:54    1791624

benched

You know fine well why Mickey Harte and the Tyrone team don't talk to RTE to try and make out that this is paranoia leads me to think you are the one who needs to look up the meaning there......bud.
By the way it was you who were accusing Tyrone supporters of being paranoid, not the other way round. I see you repiled to another poster by using Sean C as an example.... What part of Tyrone or even Ulster as you seem to think it's all the same going by your previous reasons for always deflecting to Tyrone is Mayo in?

-------
Sorry buddy I've no idea what you're going on about there. Are you ok?

Wee yo, yeah I wouldn't dispute what you're saying there. Definitely intent to hurt Donaghy in some form no doubt and I have absolutely no doubt that had this not been a final it would have got more attention. For those claiming that Whelan 'swept it under the carpet', was Whelan the only analyst there? Seemed to me that Whelan highlighted it, McStay agreed and O'Se was the one doing the sweeping. Anyway, if the shambles that is the CCCC want to deal with it then they will.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 23/09/2015 21:54:23    1791630

if eye gouging is a serious offence in rugby why not in the GAA
http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/rugby-world-cup/2015/0923/729851-puma-lock/

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 24/09/2015 09:48:21    1791667

Dublin are best team in the land. You should have won the match by 4-12 to 9 points, but how can proud supportors of Dublin even think of defending PMcM's actions. How can we show kids the game we love without punishing such vicious dangerous acts on the pitch as eye gouging. If this was another match than the AAFF or if it was everyone's favourite villian Tyrone then there would be no debate. Dublin supporters make it 31 against 1 as they love to harp on about when they stand up and defend the indefensible. You are a great team, but there was a great wrong done by one of your defenders and he needs to be sanctioned for it end of.

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 24/09/2015 16:17:52    1791921

Dublin are best team in the land. You should have won the match by 4-12 to 9 points, but how can proud supportors of Dublin even think of defending PMcM's actions. How can we show kids the game we love without punishing such vicious dangerous acts on the pitch as eye gouging. If this was another match than the AAFF or if it was everyone's favourite villian Tyrone then there would be no debate. Dublin supporters make it 31 against 1 as they love to harp on about when they stand up and defend the indefensible. You are a great team, but there was a great wrong done by one of your defenders and he needs to be sanctioned for it end of.

----
Show me anyone who was defending it. If he was eye gouging then punish him, no complaints from anyone here on that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/09/2015 17:46:45    1791993

Been nearly a week and no announcement of a suspension. Hey, GAA, what's the craic???

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 24/09/2015 18:55:15    1792024

Its been 4 days!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/09/2015 19:13:18    1792030

Looks like something may or may not be happening

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/theres-been-some-movement-on-philly-mcmahons-alleged-gouging-incident/310115

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 25/09/2015 10:15:34    1792198

icehonesty
County: Wexford

Been nearly a week and no announcement of a suspension. Hey, GAA, what's the craic???
24/09/2015 19:13:18
Jackeen

Its been 4 days!!

The mob wants justice NOW Jackeen!!

Hang em high I say!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 25/09/2015 10:26:47    1792201

tyronemanc

It states that if he gets a suspension it will be for the league game against Kerry. I thought that under the new rules that you were suspended in the same competition, Senior Championship, and not the next game, League. Anyone know if this is true.

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 310 - 25/09/2015 10:30:55    1792205

Suspended for one league game? Are they taking the absolute p*ss??? Significant time ban needed.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 25/09/2015 12:42:36    1792296