Congrats Dublin

Fair play to Dublin, you really can't argue with national league, provincial and All-Ireland titles in one year. There only looked like one winner yesterday, and honestly, 6-7 points would have been a far more appropriate winning margin.

The fact that Mayo were the only side to get even a draw against them gives me a slight inkling of hope, but then again, I'm an incorrigible optimist ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 21/09/2015 11:26:55    1789987

Dublin GAA is on a high and long may it continue - when I lived in Dublin, I met plenty of non-GAA Dubliners with a chip on their shoulder about the GAA. So it's important to have a healthy GAA in Dublin. I had thought Tyrone were reasonably close on the basis that we were close enough to Kerry in the semi final, but looking at yesterday you'd have to say that it follows we're not at the races either.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/09/2015 11:30:36    1789988

Congrats to the Dubs on their win. They were better on the day and deserved the win. Well done Dublin.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 21/09/2015 12:38:10    1790054

Terrible match but no question best team won congrats dublin.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 21/09/2015 12:46:42    1790059

Congrats to the Dubs . Given how some of their fans behave on here it probably hard for some people to acknowledge .

It was an awful match but Dublin were streets ahead .

I think a 7-10 winning margin would have been more apt .

Dubs are no doubt the team of the decade unless our own Jimmy returns to the north west .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 21/09/2015 12:47:22    1790060

Congratulations to Dublin. Certainly the better team won and there's no doubting Dublin are the best team in ireland in 2015. Best of luck to all teams in 2016 - another year, another story.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 21/09/2015 13:07:26    1790084

essmac

1789988 Dublin GAA is on a high and long may it continue - when I lived in Dublin, I met plenty of non-GAA Dubliners with a chip on their shoulder about the GAA. So it's important to have a healthy GAA in Dublin. I had thought Tyrone were reasonably close on the basis that we were close enough to Kerry in the semi final, but looking at yesterday you'd have to say that it follows we're not at the races either.

On the above , in an office this morning with a very sore head , you couldn't believe the lack of class shown by my rugby following collegues , through gritted teeth am saying nothing , Oh and they are Dubs .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/09/2015 13:25:00    1790101

On the above , in an office this morning with a very sore head , you couldn't believe the lack of class shown by my rugby following collegues , through gritted teeth am saying nothing , Oh and they are Dubs .

_______

Tell them to look at the viewing figures of the Irish rugby game up against Dublin v Kerry

Dublin v Kerry was over double the audience of Ireland v Canada

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/09/2015 13:40:18    1790110

Posters are very gracious on here particularly the Kerry folk. The Dubs are on a high at the moment, and we'll take every minute of it, because you never know how long it will last.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 21/09/2015 13:49:23    1790117

Well done to Dublin.
Deservedly won the match and how were Kerry still in the game with 5 mins left beggars belief.
Poorest performance by Kerrry in a long time.

Have to say fair dues to the likes of Brogan, Connolly .Flynn they did not have the best of games attacking wise but they worked their socks off harassing players and turning ball over. Great work ethic.

Brian Fenton deservedly won MOTM, great find.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/09/2015 09:55:29    1790498

Cheers, men. All appreciated.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 22/09/2015 12:09:56    1790620

Congratulations to the Dublin team and supporters.
Best team won on the day.
It was one of the worst games I've been to in many years.
From a Kerry perspective we completely malfunctioned from midfield up.
Enright & Keally did ok but that was it.
Mistakes on the field & on the line.
Not since 01 against meath were we so poor.
If you told me we'd keep Dublin to 12 points and no goals I'd have put the house on a Kerry win.
We've had plenty of good days and we will again.
Well done again... See ye next year.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/09/2015 12:41:37    1790648

Big thank you to the sound lads on here , offering congratulations , for the the rest they must be thanking the heavens for Philly as they have something to go on about , have a suspicion if Phiily didn't fill there bowl wed have one of the following
funding
play all your games at home
split Dublin
take your pick , I refuse to let the likes of Ulsterman sour my week , weve won an all Ireland by and large playing decent football displaying good football skills and some amount of courage , if others cannot applaud that well then maybe they are following the wrong sport ,
it was not a vintage year , but then what does that matter as its not exactly something you have control over .
Yes there are matters for HQ to take a look at , disciplinary process although followed is a joke , black card serious review required , individual Provinces need to make some tough decisions
should Dublin travel ?
should Ulster seed ?
Does anyone want to see a final Munster without one of the big two ?
that's all for another day , I don't know what more Jim Gavin n boys could have done this year , by n large .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/09/2015 13:20:12    1790676

westkerry

Congratulations to the Dublin team and supporters.
Best team won on the day.
It was one of the worst games I've been to in many years.
From a Kerry perspective we completely malfunctioned from midfield up.
Enright & Keally did ok but that was it.
Mistakes on the field & on the line.
Not since 01 against meath were we so poor.
If you told me we'd keep Dublin to 12 points and no goals I'd have put the house on a Kerry win.
We've had plenty of good days and we will again.
Well done again... See ye next year.

---

Fair play Westkerry. Did you get a ticket in the end? The conditions had a lot to do with the quality. It was still a high tempo game though and I think that was the best defensive performance I have seen from Dublin in many years. The so called weak full back line was superb.

I thought EF made some very strange calls. Taking off JOD who had scored three. Taking off Moran was also very strange. What did he hope that Galvin would contribute in those conditions and against a very fit Dublin team? Leaving Gooch on when Philly didn't give him a sniff. I thought DOS should have been introduced a lot earlier. Anyway, I'm sure that Kerry will be back in the mix next year. Had some great craic with Kerry supporters in the Flowing Tide after the game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2015 13:31:49    1790685

Well a month to the day

This time last month we were getting wet but also realising.. hmmm... we have the better of Kerry here

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/10/2015 15:59:09    1800659

Ah give it up.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 20/10/2015 16:28:51    1800663

I wonder how the 'wintering well' is going in the Kingdom!!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 20/10/2015 16:32:58    1800665

What's this "best team on the day" lark? We are the best team on any day we would beat you's every single time we are a way better team than this Kerry team , I'm sorry but this Dublin team is up there with the great teams of any era that Kerry team isn't.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/10/2015 17:05:24    1800683

They are 'wintering well' down in Kerry now that they have plenty to talk about:
- Finally dawns on them that 2014 was a fluke
- Finally dawns on them that in 2011 they did not "throw the game away" but that day was the point when 'the tables turned' and would not be turning back
- Finally dawns on them that a game is more than 63 minutes long
- Finally dawns on them that when it comes to their management.....'The Emperor has no clothes'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 20/10/2015 19:54:15    1800741

I was wondering why this topic was still on the first page and then I clicked into it:

They are 'wintering well' down in Kerry now that they have plenty to talk about:
- Finally dawns on them that 2014 was a fluke
- Finally dawns on them that in 2011 they did not "throw the game away" but that day was the point when 'the tables turned' and would not be turning back
- Finally dawns on them that a game is more than 63 minutes long
- Finally dawns on them that when it comes to their management.....'The Emperor has no clothes'!!!

Classless as always Snuf, I guess that's the difference between Kerry and the odd Dublin 'fan' like yourself.

We win an All Ireland and move on, no need to gloat over it or try and degrade the opposition.

People like you however, enjoying a relatively successfully period (by Kerry standards) for the Dublin team, seem to think that gives you the right to spout bile on the achievements of our footballers over the past two years.

The thing is, none of the Kerry posters on here went hiding after the All Ireland, we all came on and acknowledged the best team on the day won.

If Kerry had won however, a fella like you wouldn't have been seen on here till next May.

Stay classy Snuff....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/10/2015 11:05:01    1801470