Eamon Fitz to surpass Micko and Heffo?

That's my point,superglue.
Easy to call someone average because the team loose a match or a genius for winning one.
But I think EF made a few bad calls yesterday.Donaghy was needed earlier and taking O Donoghue was a mistake.Gooch wasn't at the races at all and Paddy Andrews was all over his marker.
Doesn't make him a poor manager but not a genius either.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/09/2015 11:17:01    1789977

I think Fitzmaurice wasn't help by poor displays from his forward line. Cooper was very poor,but should have been taking off,Geaney and O'Donaghue were not much better.Buckley and Walsh very poor,Darren O'Sullivan was the best of them and he only had one good half..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/09/2015 11:35:46    1789991

Dubh linn

All the great managers have made mistakes,you think I have not seen Sean Boylan makes mistakes? Do you think Mick O'Dwyer or Jim McGuinness have not made mistakes??

As I said enough not one of the six forwards who started for Kerry had a good game yesterday,infact they were poor for the most part,how can any manager see that coming??

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/09/2015 11:41:04    1789997

21/09/2015 11:41:04
ziggy32001

Dubh linn

All the great managers have made mistakes,you think I have not seen Sean Boylan makes mistakes? Do you think Mick O'Dwyer or Jim McGuinness have not made mistakes??

As I said enough not one of the six forwards who started for Kerry had a good game yesterday,infact they were poor for the most part,how can any manager see that coming??

Again,that's my point,whether I'm making it well on not.
Of course managers make mistakes just as players do but let's not go on about them being geniuses which is what we hear all too often.Last year Gavin hadn't a clue we were told.Not suggesting he's a genius just a very astute guy as is EF.
By the way you forgot Heffo;)

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/09/2015 11:49:55    1790008

I thought Heffo made no mistakes? :P

No I agree with you the word genius can be overstated..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 21/09/2015 11:59:35    1790016

When a team win the manager is a genius and every decision he makes was correct. When a team lose the manager is an idiot. Last year everyone was saying that Jim Gavin didn't have a clue. No doubt EF had a bad day at the office yesterday but this can happen to any manager. Thhe Kerry management team did seem to panic yesterday, you could see some very heated conversations on the TV. It was bizarre to take JOD off and leave Gooch on.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 21/09/2015 12:05:45    1790026

He is an absolute gentleman. How he didn't tell Joanne Cantwell where to go asking him stupid questions after a defeat i don't know. There did however seem to be a bit of discontent on the line between him and his team. I think kerry would be mad to get rid of him.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 21/09/2015 12:27:29    1790042

Dubh_linn

That's my point,superglue.
Easy to call someone average because the team loose a match or a genius for winning one.
But I think EF made a few bad calls yesterday.Donaghy was needed earlier and taking O Donoghue was a mistake.Gooch wasn't at the races at all and Paddy Andrews was all over his marker.
Doesn't make him a poor manager but not a genius either.

I agree but was too lazy and hungover to make that point.
The word genius for any manager is very OTT.
Surprised at some of our calls yesterday but transition is a b!tch ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 21/09/2015 12:52:56    1790067

Dubh_linn County: Dublin Posts: 419 1789977 That's my point,superglue. Easy to call someone average because the team loose a match or a genius for winning one. But I think EF made a few bad calls yesterday.Donaghy was needed earlier and taking O Donoghue was a mistake.Gooch wasn't at the races at all and Paddy Andrews was all over his marker. Doesn't make him a poor manager but not a genius either. I agree but was too lazy and hungover to make that point. The word genius for any manager is very OTT. Surprised at some of our calls yesterday but transition is a b!tch ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - 21/09/2015 12:52:56

The aul hangover is a bugger alright and all the worse when you after loosing.
We'll party for a few days and winter well then look forward to next year.I'm sure ye will be there or thereabouts against .

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/09/2015 13:00:52    1790074

Yup. He was rooster on Sunday morning but come Sunday evening he was a feather duster. Seriously though, I was worried about them in the spring. They're still not close to being 'the real deal'. They are inching closer though, thanks to Fitz.

Let's hope Dublin keep setting the standard, and let's see the pack close the gap. Kerry are closest. Mayo, Tyrone, Donegal and Monaghan aren't far off. If teams like Galway, Cork and Roscommon can raise their game then it will be a vintage year next year.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 21/09/2015 13:19:21    1790095

Eamon Fitz I had a mare yesterday imo; Galvin coming on when he was finished two years ago what did Fitzmaurice expect Galvin to do???? O Donoghue taken off even doh he's scored 3 points and is Kerry's best player crazy call and what makes it worst was they left Gooch on when he didn't get a kick all day I couldn't understand that one and why wasn't Darren O Sullivan starting? Surely they've enough impact subs so they could start him? He scored two crackers and had Jack in big trouble and should of started imo. Honestly doh the O Donoghue call was crazy every Dub around me were delighted to see him go off we couldn't believe it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/09/2015 13:43:52    1790114

Main question now is can we get him to stay on for another couple of years - I could see him walking as there's going to be a number of retirements and a lot of gaps to fill next year. Still think he's the best man to keep Kerry competitive for the next couple of years until we start to get the next wave of players through from the new under age set up - by all accounts there's two more serious minor teams on the way. That should bring Jack back to the top table!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 21/09/2015 17:37:44    1790285

Fantastic news this evening in Tralee by our county chairman Patrick O'sullivan that Eamon fitzmaurice and his management team are staying on for 2016 and I hope beyond , that's exactly what we needed to hear on this gloomy dark evening, Eamon is a young man of 38 years of age and for him to give up his time for his county and his players is a brilliant sign of the man and Cian Mikey and diarmuid as well, thank ye lads roll on the league.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/09/2015 20:26:46    1790386

As I said in an earlier post EF needs more time I don't blame him one bit , all managers make mistakes including our own in last year's All Ireland final I thought J mcG started the wrong team last year plus we got done in the first minute by the Kerry goal-- exactly what happened Mayo in 2012. We should have been better prepared for such an event bur we weren't.
A lot of people on here talk up teams / players / managers big time E F should not have been called a genius as he only delivered one All Ireland so if he stays on for a few more years then judge him.
To be honest I thought the writing was on the wall for Kerry this last two seasons as they could have been beaten by Mayo last year and indeed by Donegal
Again this year Cork should have beaten them and look at what Tytone missed in the semi final. So all in all to win one All Ireland over the two years was not a bad achievement
Wonder why T Walsh did not start or come in at some stage. Would he not have been a better option than Galvin??
Remember all the posts on here this time last year about the team Kerry would have--- T Walsh back , the Gooch back etc. I'd say EF will be a shreweder manager next year as I'd say he learned plenty yesterday.
On a lesser note I rember last year how some of the Kerry posts ( was it Kingdomboy)who were on about wintering well with Sam back in the county-- how will he winter this year with no Sam and indeed it is forecast to be a severe winter. I WORRY FOR YOUS

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 21/09/2015 21:32:05    1790439

The decision to bring on Paul Galvin was a disgrace. The game was crying out for Tommy Walsh.
Galvin had his day but his day is long gone.
Eamon had a very poor day all round and we wil lsee if he will learn from this next year

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/09/2015 09:51:10    1790492

22/09/2015 09:51:10
woops

The decision to bring on Paul Galvin was a disgrace. The game was crying out for Tommy Walsh.
Galvin had his day but his day is long gone.
Eamon had a very poor day all round and we wil lsee if he will learn from this next year

woops,
We had a few of your county men on here last year when it was announced Galvin was returning to the panel saying it was great news and he should be getting game time and it seemed crazy to me as to why this was.While he has been a good servant to Kerry football as you say his time was up a couple of years ago.it probably just blind devotion but I was surprised when EF took him onboard.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/09/2015 10:57:00    1790541

He's good for the game , glad he is staying on. If the Dubs win their games next year we could be locking horns again in the semifinal.
In defeat every managers decisions are scrutinised. Personally when I seen Moran go off and JOD , I knew the game was up.
I really couldn't see what Galvin could offer against us.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/09/2015 11:03:52    1790551

Samonerigal
Well done kid it didn't take you long to put the boot in , in fairness I was expecting it from you as I think you backed every team we played against this year to beat us so like the hermit says even a broken clock is right twice a day, we're hurt and we're wounded but we're not dead, and Eamon Cian Mikey and diarmuid will have learned a lot from this defeat. The dubs were the better team on the day and deserve they're victory and all the best to them. As for wintering well! Then we hadn't a bad year in fairness, our hurlers got promoted to division 1B and won the christy ring cup which means we'll be playing in the Leinster championship next year, also pobalscoil Chorca duibhne won 2 in a row hogan cups, also our minors have just won 2 in a row tommy markham cups and 12 of that starting minor team are underage again next year , our senior team have div1 football again next year and we won 3 in a row munster championships so all in all we have plenty to keep us goin till next year and to winter well enough ;-) oh did I mention we'll be opening our centre of excellence in the new year that can only be a help to the lads as well.
An Ríocht Abu .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/09/2015 11:10:37    1790558

Jim Gavin slaughtered last year , EF turn this year , Micko or Heffo didn't have social media to deal with lucky fec7ers . I thought serious class and honesty shown as the post match interview , Kerry need him and he has some big calls to make , just a mention for J O Commor worth his weight in gold to Kerry .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/09/2015 11:20:24    1790572

Every manager gets criticism when the team is beaten - can only imagine the grief Jim Gavin would have got if Kerry had sneaked a late goal..Good to hear EM is ready to dust himself down and go again next year - he's going to need to rejuvenate the squad with some new blood.
Damo - you're spot on re JoC - went back to scratch setting up a proper underage development structure and now has two AI's on the back of it and by all accounts the next two minor teams are shaping up to be top class also. Hopefully he can give some direction to the minors as well as working with the U21's next year...exciting times ahead.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 22/09/2015 11:57:31    1790607