GAA under attack

Extensive damage has been caused to a gaelic football club in an overnight arson attack.

A window at the Tír Na nÓg GFC premises, on the Benburb Road, was broken and a flammable liquid poured inside before being set alight.

It happened sometime between 10.30pm and 8.30am this morning (Sunday).

Inspector John McKenna is appealing to anyone with information to contact the police in Mid-Ulster using the non-emergency number 101.

At this moment in time it is not being treated as a hate crime.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/09/2015 14:23:27    1786607

I hope this isn't a sectarian hate crime but given the location it more than likely is. Kids just don't go about in the middle of the night with petrol. Disgusting attack but not the first OR last; it's just another statistic in the North's murky present and past.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 13/09/2015 15:10:43    1786618

Disgusting attack on a very good Tyrone club, how can the psni say it wasn't treating it as a hate or sectarian crime at this stage { utv news page }but as soon as an orange order hall or premises is burnt { which is also wrong and disgusting and only leads to more of the same in retaliation, edendork/ cookstown to name but 2 }it's automatically classed as sectarian / hate crime. As well as this gaa clubs are heavily rated by government/councils where as orange halls are rates free, and also if orange order properties are attacked, the nio {gov} pay out automatically and usually these premises grow bigger and better than before the attack, where as gaa clubs have to depend on receiving a chief constables certificate to say the attack was sec/hate crime which can take years to receive which leaves clubs having to claim from insurance with having to pay out the first £5k premium causing strain on resources. Hope this isn't the start of this shite again with augher also suffering with uvf burnt into their pitch during the week. A word to all northern clubs especially rural ones keep a good eye on your premises and make sure every effort is made to thwart these people's efforts. If the past is anything to go by these bigots will never be caught or punished. Hope both clubs can get over this and come out better soon.

ubahdaur (Tyrone) - Posts: 6 - 13/09/2015 15:40:34    1786626

The rest of humanity is grappling will all sorts of issues and problems and some people seem to have great difficulty in letting the past remain there.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4903 - 13/09/2015 17:31:49    1786665

Arock, without turning this into a political debate you will find that most of the world's problems are legacies of the past; historical injustices, colonialism, religious/sectarian conflicts etc. Here in the North we are finding that unless you deal with the past it very much becomes your present and future. It is a juxtaposition and not easy to deal with.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 13/09/2015 17:57:54    1786673

arock, in case you haven't noticed, we are Irish, our past defines us, never mind global events, its what happens in your town, parish, street that matters, it won't change a thing.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/09/2015 18:11:39    1786678

Well there was a window broke in our clubhouse recently, should i start a thread about vandalism?
That's what this is vandalism ( yes wrong) but still vandalism. But to some it would suit their cave man politics to make it something else.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/09/2015 18:52:00    1786698

What an ignorant statement royaldunne.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 13/09/2015 19:22:34    1786714

You know what RD, I was just about to respond to you but then I kinda realised the sort of poster you are and decided that today, I'll give you a free pass cos I can't be arsed educating you.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/09/2015 19:24:16    1786715

Unfortunately its what has happened in the last 7 days at Stormont and a lesser extend the Dail which has had an immediate effect across the whole of the north, with the unionst back in their pre 1690 mindsets it is up to those in charge or in power to behave..... Arleen Foster's comments during the week were disgraceful , bigoted and bordered on being a hate crime....
But it was OK to say what she said because it was directed towards both SDLP and SinnFein which means it is directed against the entire 'catholic ' community, therefore we as GAA folk in the north are fair game again....

To say that the petrol bombing of a GAA club isn't sectarian is a joke...... What do they think??? That a rival GAA club did it???
The vast majority ofGAA clubs in the north which has being targarred this way was secretarian....Ballycran, St. John's in Down etc burnt to the ground....

We can all thank God that no one was injured!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 13/09/2015 19:24:48    1786717

Are you trolling royaldunne? Or are you just completely ignorant of the long history of attacks against GAA clubs in the north and its members. The broken window at your club is very different to sectarian arson and UVF being burnt onto your club pitch.

2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 13/09/2015 19:34:03    1786718

If events of the last week in Belfast have taught us anything it's that the past hasn't gone away. People of a certain generation still hold the same grudges and prejudices, others perhaps still have dirt on their hands yet continue to deny it. There are those in the long grass waiting to pounce upon signs of any destabilisation unfortunately. A GAA club is a symbol on one side as an orange hall is of another. Both easy targets and are regularly attacked by both sides. This activity will not cease until leaders wash their hands of the past and take responsibility for their actions. Continuing to be associated, even loosely, with any kind of terrorist body/activity is as destabilising as resigning from government. Acts like this just give the snakes in the long grass the chance to pounce. It will take at least a generation before we see the back of this tit for tat stuff. Luckily nobody was injured in this incident.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 13/09/2015 19:58:41    1786729

Some southern ignoramuses post on these forums, haven't a clue about what it takes to continue and prosper gaa clubs in the occupied 6 which it still is. Sectarianism is alive and well in 2015 as much as it was 100yrs ago and the way things look up here it won't change in our life times. A_OCK fill in the 2nd letter to suit, stupid post to type to a serious issue, and rd was that the rugger club window was broke with the strimmer kicking up a stone, or was it kids throwing stones. Are youse saying clubs do this themselves just so people can keep claimimg oh poor us. Bit of a difference a window getting broken and a window being broken and 3 petrol bombs being chucked in after the windows broke, kids don't run around in the dark of night with petrol bombs in their pockets for fun, or uvf being burnt onto the main pitch with either weed killer or petrol. For the clubs involved it's completely disheartening and an added expense which wasn't planned for and either of you probably wouldn't know how much effort or expense running a club takes. As for both your posts, just to dismiss such serious attacks shows you are just as backward and out of touch as the cowards / bigots that set out with destruction in mind.

ubahdaur (Tyrone) - Posts: 6 - 13/09/2015 20:02:13    1786730

'Well there was a window broke in our clubhouse recently, should i start a thread about vandalism? That's what this is vandalism ( yes wrong) but still vandalism. But to some it would suit their cave man politics to make it something else.

royaldunne (Meath) - 13/09/2015 18:52:00'......... Think there's a bit of a difference between a broken window and petrol being poured through the window and set on fire. For all you know, the broken window could well have been down to a stray sliotar. Ridiculous comparison.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2015 20:04:07    1786733

I think it's time for a bit of realism at the same time lads - yes, these incidents aren't great nor are they helpful to any of the teams or clubs or communities but the GAA is not 'under attack'. Your talking 1 or 2 people and we have them on our 'side' too. It would be better if they were caught but the nature of these incidents means the chances are virtually minimal.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 13/09/2015 20:14:50    1786742

Joxer

If events of the last week in Belfast have taught us anything it's that the past hasn't gone away. People of a certain generation still hold the same grudges and prejudices, others perhaps still have dirt on their hands yet continue to deny it. There are those in the long grass waiting to pounce upon signs of any destabilisation unfortunately. A GAA club is a symbol on one side as an orange hall is of another. Both easy targets and are regularly attacked by both sides. This activity will not cease until leaders wash their hands of the past and take responsibility for their actions. Continuing to be associated, even loosely, with any kind of terrorist body/activity is as destabilising as resigning from government. Acts like this just give the snakes in the long grass the chance to pounce. It will take at least a generation before we see the back of this tit for tat stuff. Luckily nobody was injured in this incident.

Hahahaha. good man, how many generations has it been since we have been at each others throats, and now you expect one more and we'll all be holding hands and singing Kumbaya, nice!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/09/2015 20:26:44    1786749

This is the sh..t Gaa clubs in the 6 counties have had to put up with for decades from sectarian bigots, so when it happens again it's understandable people are outraged and have every right to post about it.
Unfortunetly a thread like this, while it should bring Gaa counties together will probably just again allow a few posters have a North south arguement again.
Sad really .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/09/2015 20:45:21    1786758

Royaldunne, if you are trolling shame on you; it's pathetic to do so on such a sensitive, raw, emotional subject. Clubhouses have been burnt down in the past; players, fans and buses attacked; glass put on pitches; pipebombs attached to gates, doors, windows and sadly members murdered by Loyalists/British Army/RUC elements BECAUSE they were Gaels. If you are genuinely ignorant of all of the above I suggest you educate yourself on the history of the GAA in Ulster; there are a few good books in circulation about this.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 13/09/2015 20:47:11    1786759

CroiGorm

'Well there was a window broke in our clubhouse recently, should i start a thread about vandalism? That's what this is vandalism ( yes wrong) but still vandalism. But to some it would suit their cave man politics to make it something else.

royaldunne (Meath) - 13/09/2015 18:52:00'......... Think there's a bit of a difference between a broken window and petrol being poured through the window and set on fire. For all you know, the broken window could well have been down to a stray sliotar. Ridiculous comparison.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/09/2015 20:48:52    1786761

For anyone who is interested here's a good book. 'HOW THE GAA SURVIVED THE TROUBLES' by DES FAHY. It's available online and in book stores and well worth a read.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 13/09/2015 20:53:49    1786771