Connolly wins appeal

I don't agree with the outcome I believe Connolly as well as Keane should have served their suspensions But that aside I heard that by rule Connolly had to be at the hearing till the end if so that is complete stupidity How the hell is a man to play after going to bed at 3am Utter madness but it is the GAA

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 05/09/2015 15:17:34    1782798

Agree with Brend about McCann. The GAA need to decide what they regard as a serious offence because right now their procedures are funnier than the dead parrot sketch!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 05/09/2015 15:20:08    1782800

It's ridiculous having 3 appeals procedures anyway. There should be one appeals body made up of Gaa people and legal eagles if they need to be there too. Let them sit and adjudicate on the Tuesday night and let their decision be final. Then everyone has clarity for the rest of the week as to who is available and managers can pick their team. 3 appeals, the last one in the middle of night before a game is plain gombeen stuff and makes the Gaa a laughing stock.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/09/2015 15:27:44    1782803

neverright
County: Roscommon

1782797 Murof, you want more support for the ref from his assistants, which is a fair call but it is even more important that GAA disciplinary bodies support him in his decisions. Barristers and lawyers are interested in loopholes not truth, justice or the health of the Association
Correct, its a 2 step process. Support the referee on the field and support the disciplinary bodies off it. Hopefully some good can come of this.
Maybe we will be talking of the quality of football later this evening which would be nice!

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 05/09/2015 15:53:13    1782815

So the new rule is no suspension for a red card?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/09/2015 16:55:36    1782841

Connolly did nothing of note today.

The process needs to change but today is Dublin's day.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 05/09/2015 18:42:06    1782895

http://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/really-though-what-is-the-point-of-a-red-card-or-suspension-in-the-gaa/38545

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 06/09/2015 20:07:29    1783512

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=244576

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 22/09/2015 21:19:21    1791060

Slayer If you were watching the match, Connolly did things of note, he was fouled and a point resulted, he laid on some very good passes and he won quite a number of turnovers and kept Crowley on the back foot. It certainly was not one of his better games but there were very few forwards on either side had a really good game on Sunday.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 22/09/2015 21:40:31    1791081

There's a lot of talk about the problems facing the game, championship structure, club vs county, player burnout, the black card but the GAA should prioritize sorting out the disciplinary mess that currently exists. Not to be picking on the Dubs but two incidents I can't believe that have gone unpunished are Johnny Cooper's leg breaker attempt on Diarmuid O'Connor and Philly McMahon's eye gouging incident. Of course there are others but they are the ones freshest in my mind. Also the overturning of legitimate red cards makes a mockery of having a red card.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 22/09/2015 21:50:04    1791091

Indeed some very unsavoury incidents this season particularly involving Dublin which have gone unpunished by the GAA and ignored by the media. One rule for the Dubs and one for the rest of us.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 23/09/2015 21:27:54    1791620

Reading back over this thread, it is hard to fathom how biased the dub fans were on this incident.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/09/2015 10:25:03    1791691

Reading back over this thread, it is hard to fathom how biased the dub fans were on this incident.

Probably right but not exclusively Dubs.

Connolly, Keegan, O'Connor and Cooper should all have been suspended for the replay. Possibly McMahon also.

Once it became clear that only one player was to be sanctioned, especially considering that Connolly was defending himself, then he was always going to get off once it went to the DRA.

Something has to be done before next year's competitions.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 24/09/2015 10:46:24    1791706

'I can't believe that have gone unpunished are Johnny Cooper's leg breaker attempt on Diarmuid O'Connor and Philly McMahon's eye gouging incident'

It happened less than 4 days ago. It is really that surprising that a punishment hasn't been handed down yet?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 24/09/2015 10:51:08    1791708

Why is this thread reopened? It was a nothing incident, move on. Yes the structure needs to be looked at but this particular case has been talked to death.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 24/09/2015 10:57:29    1791712

Agreed however some people cant let anything go especially when used as a stick to flog the Dubs. At least Ulsterman could swallow his hatred long enough to congratulate Dublin. Ive yet to see masters congratulatory post?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/09/2015 11:32:24    1791734

Jackeen, don't confuse legitimate criticism with hatred. I DON'T hate Dublin, time and time again I am on record as stating that they are very important to the GAA as they bring much needed finance, interest, atmosphere and colour. However many other Gaels perceive that Dublin get ALL the breaks and favourable decisions ON and OFF the pitch and there is a culture of deep unfairness and indeed resentment brewing. For many Gaels the alleged eye gouging incident cannot be ignored and brushed aside, Croke Park at the very least must refer it to the CCCC. There does seem to be a perception that a dragging of heels is going on because it is Dublin. The Dubs fans must stop this self centred, in denial mindset about their side which point blank refuses to accept any negativity, cynicism or underhand tactics used by their side; that is just insulting to anyone with a modicum of intelligence and fairness.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9703 - 24/09/2015 13:54:26    1791806

Nor should it be swept under the carpet. He will be penalised of that im sure. Ive yet to see a poster say he shouldn't be. However my point is that had that incident not happened i habv NO doubt that the cribbing would be over something else. You know it too.

Hatred...resentment....same difference. All im saying is that this particular Dublin team dont get the kudos they deserve. They train just as hard as any other team. They make the sacrifices just like every other team. The hurt just like any other team when they lose. The suggestion that all of this success is down to money boils my blood. I was delighted that Cluxton addressed this point in his winners speech. Yes we have advantages. We always have had. Home advantage being the most glaring one and most unfair one. In the same way you are accusing the dubs of seeing what tbey want to see could the same not be said for you and other gaels seeing what they want to see re dublin's perceived advantages specifically during games?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/09/2015 14:59:45    1791844

MesAmis
Probably right but not exclusively Dubs.

The huge majority being dubs.

Connolly, Keegan, O'Connor and Cooper should all have been suspended for the replay. Possibly McMahon also.

No they shouldn't though. Keegan deserved a yellow card - he got that. O'Connor deserved a yellow also, that was missed, but it still isn't a ban. Connolly, Cooper and McMahon were nailed on red cards - McMahon twice, once for the headbutt, and once for the punches to boyle. O'Sullivan should have had a yellow and a black also, but then if he got the first yellow, maybe it could be argued that the second one mightn't have happened. Dub fans were blatantly just trying to play up the Keegan and O'Connor incidents with this feigned indignation to try to get their own lads off the hook. Like surely if keegan wrestling Connolly to the ground is a red card, then cooper wrestling mcloughlin to the ground in the first minute was also a red card? I mean they were saying they were hard done by, by the ref. For Christ sake, a penalty, four red card calls - what more do you want? It was a bit of an eye-opener Mes, it appears the majority of Dublin fans, on here anyway, are willing to say literally anything to get ahead. That isn't what sport is about, there was a complete lack of sportsmanship and honesty.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/09/2015 15:04:05    1791847

let it go, people.

controversy over GAA decisions didn't begin on August the 30th

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 24/09/2015 15:12:59    1791858