Connolly wins appeal

kildare73

The hilarious part of the whole thing is the lads that let Connolly off are the exact same lads who would be looking to do him if he did the same thing outside the gates of Croke Park. They have given themselves two weeks to put out the written judgement...... They are going to need every second of it to come up with a justification for what they did!! I hope the Gaa introduce a new rule next year that you can't punch anyone. They clearly don't have one!!

WRONG
THE FACT THEY CLEARED HIM HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH FOOTBALL
THEY CLEARED HIM ON THE BASIS
THE GAA DELIBERATLY HINDERED HIS RIGHT TO APPEAL AND DEFEND HIMSELF IN THE PROCESS
THE GAA WILL FIND THEMSELVES IN MASSIVE TROUBLE HERE
AS THATS CHEATING

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2015 11:17:57    1782640

If he did it outside the gates of Croker? If someone dragged him to the ground and choked him outside the gates of Croker he would be fully entitled to defend himself like that! I've asked this a few times; what else was he supposed to do??

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 05/09/2015 11:18:16    1782641

While no fan of either Dublin or Diarmuid Connolly, I do believe justice has been done. I am fed up all week listening to Mayo people whinging about the treatment of O'Shea, what he got was no better or no worst than Connolly. If anyone should have gone in that match it was O'Connor for his cynical elbow early on. Thank God common sense prevailed.

AwbegRover (Cork) - Posts: 136 - 05/09/2015 11:20:45    1782643

One of the biggest weekends of the year in our great games. A blockbuster football semi-final and the biggest game in the hurling calendar tomorrow. Yet the sport we all love is in the headlines for all the wrong reasons. The GAA are a complete laughing stock of an organization currently. Sort it out ffs.

kerry74 (Kerry) - Posts: 1354 - 05/09/2015 11:25:42    1782647

Keegan pushed Connellys chest to stop him making a run which is allowed any half decent back would do that.
Keegan then grabbed Connelly in a head lock and threw him to the ground which he should have got a black card for.
Connelly then shoved Keegans face into the ground which is a yellow at most.
Finally Connelly strikes Keegan at least 3 times with a closed fist which is a straight red card offence.

ROC is holding on to O Conner like any good back should do.
O Conner throws an elbow back that is high and connects with ROC in the face which should also be a straight red.

Cooper follows through in an attempted block with his studs raised which could have caused serious damage another straight red card.

I believe that the GAA has let themselves down by not following through with suspending Connelly, O Conner and Cooper and if any Mayo or Dublin person on here disagrees that they shouldn't be suspended needs to take off their tinted glasses because all 3 offences deserved suspensions.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 05/09/2015 11:32:36    1782654

The GAA truly is an amateur organisation.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 05/09/2015 11:35:18    1782656

Yay :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/09/2015 11:35:37    1782657

Jackos_Wacko

1782654 Keegan pushed Connellys chest to stop him making a run which is allowed any half decent back would do that.
Keegan then grabbed Connelly in a head lock and threw him to the ground which he should have got a black card for.
Connelly then shoved Keegans face into the ground which is a yellow at most.
Finally Connelly strikes Keegan at least 3 times with a closed fist which is a straight red card offence.

ROC is holding on to O Conner like any good back should do.
O Conner throws an elbow back that is high and connects with ROC in the face which should also be a straight red.

Cooper follows through in an attempted block with his studs raised which could have caused serious damage another straight red card.

I believe that the GAA has let themselves down by not following through with suspending Connelly, O Conner and Cooper and if any Mayo or Dublin person on here disagrees that they shouldn't be suspended needs to take off their tinted glasses because all 3 offences deserved suspensions.

yep agree with most of that,would like to add that coc gave Connolly a sly dig which was clearly caught on video

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/09/2015 11:41:30    1782663

The job of the referee is becoming more and more impossible. Even when they're right (even as a Dub I can admit Connolly deserved the suspension) they're wrong these days with every suspension being overturned ~PHS

Pope_has_spoken (Dublin) - Posts: 138 - 05/09/2015 11:43:38    1782665

Mancirish
County: UK

1782536 Okay so OJ has got off... The Association that runs our great games should hold its head in shame this morning. But not only them the Dublin board to even question the decision... A lot of blood on people's hands today I'm afraid. The game is now open to every thug in the land 2 do as he pleases I hope you guys are proud...; (

But on the positive side it stops all the dubs using OJ as an excuse when Mayo teach your boys a footballing lesson this evening!! Lee Keegan had OJ in his pocket all day last Sunday & will relish the chance again.. Dublin be Afraid Mayo will show you who is boss and football will win the day!!!

#ComeOnMayo

Careful there Manc that's quite a nasty message you've posted there. Surrpised this ahas been allowed. Horrible stuff.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 05/09/2015 11:43:53    1782666

Naturally a lot of Dublin people are delighted one of our best players is now available to us for the replay.However you have to look at the bigger picture which is that authority has been totally undermined and a terrible message has been sent out.He deserved to be sent off. He deserved the ban.END OF.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 05/09/2015 11:44:48    1782668

Agreed your Holiness, they can't possibly keep up with the ball AND have eyes in the back of their heads. There should be a TMO available at least from Provincial Finals onward. Rugby League can afford it, so can we.

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 05/09/2015 11:46:54    1782673

Just to get this right then for a poor old blow in...;)
From what I can deduce from this if Mayo miraculously beat Dublin I know don't laugh! Even if they had St Pat down from his mountain & Our Lady came back from Knock I doubt the GAA would let it happen... But back to my point the Dubs can appeal and get the result over turned anyway??? Am I right?

Shouldn't we just give Sam to the Dubs now then....

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 05/09/2015 11:46:57    1782674

So Hill no denying he punched the guy?! Ya never know lads, if you do happen to lose this evening if you are quick you can run up to the three lads in the DRA (Dublin Revived Authority), they might not be gone home and you can get the result overturned too:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/09/2015 11:47:42    1782676

Wow I know he's a bit of a magician but that's some trick to pull :)

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 05/09/2015 11:49:25    1782677

Totally agree Pope! I don't know how the refs are letting themselves be made muck of.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/09/2015 11:50:03    1782679

Have to agree with Jackos Wacko, Connolly, O'Connor & Cooper should definitely be missing today's game, and serving lengthy suspensions. That's the only way to clean up this sh1te. Black card had to go too. An absolute silly farce, wondering what card is going to come out these days. Like a bad gameshow.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3425 - 05/09/2015 11:55:33    1782681

Whem you think about it, the outcome was never in any doubt. It was so obvious that DC was the victim in all this.
I just hope he gets protection today, this targeting of players lark has gone too far.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 05/09/2015 11:57:51    1782683

Fair play Condorman, Pope-has-spoken and superBlueDub..

your appraisals are fair and honest. Saying that this is justice is crass. Its rubbish.

The whole GAA disciplinary system and appeals system is a joke. Diarmuid Connolly is a victim of that nonsense is as Kevin Keane and the countless others from the top counties (including plenty from Cork).

Our association has no rules at this time of the year. None what so ever.

Adrian Flynn (Wexford) made a comment that he got two matches for striking against Louth and had he appealed he would got off. Sorry Adrian but you are wrong. You are from Wexford and you were playing Louth in a game that was meaningless so we (the GAA) make examples of teams that we do not care about. You need to be from Dublin, Cork, Mayo, Kerry etc to get away with ever you feel like doing....

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 05/09/2015 12:03:51    1782687

1782510 He shouldn't have failed any of them

Should have been cleared from the start

Dragged to the ground and chocked...

Yeah you should lie there getting clocked, face down in the ground...

Common sense has won

Some of yiz really are clueless

Yes Jim - according to the rules you are supposed to take it and not strike out. I would have punched the head off him too but took my suspension. Those are the rules - or obviously not as its transpired.

Joxer - I've nothing against the dubs, great team, great craic with fans etc - but its unreal how some counties have more power on matters such as this. I was ragin McCann's ban was overturned but it wasn't in the rules to suspend him. Connolly was given a red for a strike - simple - case closed.. but rules bent once again.

Look - heres to a cracking game but the GAA really need to get themselves in order as chaos will ensue next year - the year of appeals!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/09/2015 12:07:38    1782690