Connolly wins appeal

Joxer,
I also agree.
No matter who strikes or where they're from they should not get off.
Both should have been out.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/09/2015 10:38:48    1782574

Joxer,
I also agree.
No matter who strikes or where they're from they should not get off.
Both should have been out.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/09/2015 10:39:03    1782575

the bigger issue is here that supreme court judge
found the GAA clearly trying to purposely hinder a players right to defend his case
if anything that needs to be seriously looked at
and the DRA went on to say they will be publishing a full document on the case
in two weeks time
presumably after the all ireland final
so the GAA could find themselves in hot water

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2015 10:39:39    1782577

Mancirish
County: UK

1782536 Okay so OJ has got off... The Association that runs our great games should hold its head in shame this morning. But not only them the Dublin board to even question the decision... A lot of blood on people's hands today I'm afraid. The game is now open to every thug in the land 2 do as he pleases I hope you guys are proud...; (

But on the positive side it stops all the dubs using OJ as an excuse when Mayo teach your boys a footballing lesson this evening!! Lee Keegan had OJ in his pocket all day last Sunday & will relish the chance again.. Dublin be Afraid Mayo will show you who is boss and football will win the day!!!

#ComeOnMayo

Cant believe mods put this up
bitter and twisted is what you are
coybib

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/09/2015 10:43:03    1782580

Juuuustiiuiice!! Clearly, from the outsiders view, self defence is justified, thank God common sense prevails over rule-book-nazis

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 05/09/2015 10:44:51    1782584

Absolutely delighted he got off, now we can hammer Dublin and they will have no excuses!

Mayoabroad (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 05/09/2015 10:45:29    1782586

What a mess!!!

I tell ye what though, if DC starts I would love to be there to watch him and Keegan go at it again.

Glad for DC, he would have shouldered a lot of blame if he didn't play and Dubs were beat.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 05/09/2015 10:46:56    1782589

redonion
County: Down

If you get caught striking like that in the street the court would find you guilty, but then again its a Dublin player so he got off but i believe what goes around comes around

-----
Ah I see and by your logic McCann got off because he was a Tyrone player and so on. Or does your detective work and conclusion only apply to cases involving Dublin players?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/09/2015 10:47:27    1782590

Loving the ABD brigade coming out with the same old yap about how Dublin get everything
Bet they all listen to Joe Duffy too

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 05/09/2015 10:48:40    1782592

He deserved to get off as it was a pretty minor incident and he isn't that type of player to strike opponents. Best of luck to the Dubs and Mayo hoping for an exciting game.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 05/09/2015 10:58:05    1782604

Guys....with all these "Connolly is the Devil".....GAA LOVES DUBLIN comments.....etc.

Why is O'Connor not in the dock?

It took a supreme court judge to exonerate Connolly. O'Connor, didnt get charged.

Please explain

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 11:00:29    1782609

I agree the suspension should have been upheld, bit of a joke there, however, I must say I hate the way players like Connolly, O'Shea, our own Murphy etc... are targeted in these matches. Its not just a shoulder here and there, its pulling, dragging, insulting, basically doing anything they can to antagonize that player into a reaction. Yes the top players need to exercise restraint and keep their head but the afore mentioning treatment is unsporting, basically not for me.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 05/09/2015 11:03:06    1782612

As I've said before, as far as I could see he was just defending himself. Keegan was the one who deserved a ban. What was Connolly supposed to do once Keenan had dragged him to the ground like that?

But for people saying Diarmuid Connolly isn't the type of player to hit an opponent, I can only assume you're talking about a different Diarmuid Connolly
http://youtu.be/AqcEq1hsT6s

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 05/09/2015 11:03:45    1782613

Delighted he got the ban lifted,hope it's a better game this time.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 05/09/2015 11:04:22    1782615

serious questions must be asked about the head of the GAA after a supreme court judge
found them deliberatly trying to hinder a players right to defend himself in a hearing

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2015 11:09:46    1782627

The hilarious part of the whole thing is the lads that let Connolly off are the exact same lads who would be looking to do him if he did the same thing outside the gates of Croke Park. They have given themselves two weeks to put out the written judgement...... They are going to need every second of it to come up with a justification for what they did!! I hope the Gaa introduce a new rule next year that you can't punch anyone. They clearly don't have one!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/09/2015 11:12:27    1782630

A supreme court judge looked at the evidence.

He was cleared.

Defending himself apparently.

Now about Cillian 'O'CONNOR?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 11:13:10    1782635

From now on a player that gets a straight red should only miss the rest of that game I said Keane suspension should stand it didn't I said Connolly's suspension should stand it didn't The GAA rules and regulations aren't worth spit Players that get sent off and are suspended without video proof must be feeling very hard done by At least now it's over but have a horrible feeling some player will pay the price by been severely injured because of these stupid decisions

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 05/09/2015 11:15:53    1782636

If you do the crime you do the time......Connolly hit Keegan a dunt on the ground. A clear strike fully captured on TV footage and clearly seen by the observing linesman. He got the correct punishment by way of a red card which also carries an automatic minimum one match ban. Yet because he is a Dub the weight of their endless resources are thrown behind him and no doubt top lawyers were employed and just as in everyday life if you have the money to appeal decisions from one court to another you will get a result at some stage. Totally biased and corrupt system this which favours those with the power and the money......no ordinary Sean citizen of a club player would have access to this system. Also shouldnt Joe McQuillan now have a right to appeal the appeal that eventually overturned his original correct decision.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 05/09/2015 11:16:23    1782637

Hill16.....I said the exact same thing.

If Connolly was investigated, why not O'Connor?

If O'Connor, Cooper and Connolly got bans....Id have said. Fair play. Before someone says McMahon.....AOS aimed headbutt. The reverse angle proved AOS was trying to get McMahon sent off

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 11:17:32    1782638