Connolly wins appeal

I can't say I am shocked as the precendent had been set when Kevin Keane got off. But the DRA have now overruled the ref and two other committees, it is bizarreto say the least. Who actually sits on these committees and do they expalin their decisions? You couldn't make it up.

To be fair to Connolly he has had a clean record in the past few years. I think it is better to draw a line under last weekend and concentrate on the game today. I really can't call this game but Connolly is some plus for Dublin as he is a great player. Best of luck to both sides today, looking forward to it.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 05/09/2015 09:43:17    1782491

Thanks Admin for posting that. Was beginning to think you were RTE.

GUYS....Connolly deserved a ban.

But O'Connor deserved two bans (deliberate elbow and he punched Connolly on the ground)

He wasnt even cited. O'Connor, Cooper and Connolly deserved bans. Mayo fans have not acknowledged O'Connor DESERVED a ban 12 stitches to a lad plus punching a guy in a clinch.

Connolly deserves to get off purely on the basis of "the systems a joke"

O'Connor was the worst offender last weekend....... wasnt even up for a hearing

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 09:44:45    1782493

I'll just be lazy repost from the other thread:

Connolly may have been unfortunate to be the only player suspended but that's no excuse to let him off, it's a complete fcukin joke to be honest, the Gaa are a shambles. This isn't exactly going to do much to incentivize good behaviour either, both Dublin and Mayo will take to the pitch today knowing that they can more or less do whatever they want and so what if they get a straight red, they'll still be available for the final if they win.

Ps, there should now be no bans for straight reds what so ever, how the hell can you credibly ban anyone after continuously letting players off!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2015 09:45:56    1782495

Very happy with this outcome. Now, let the best team/squad win.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 05/09/2015 09:46:14    1782497

JayP - wise up - we're not talking about other incidences. Each is separate. Connolly was deliberately dragged down - the player who pulled him down received a yellow. Connolly struck a punch, received a red - typical, normal decision, we see it all the time. Yet, Connolly gets off with breaking a clear rule. What a JOKE!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/09/2015 09:46:50    1782498

Tearintom is right. The GAA have effectively dismantled their disciplinary structure when they let the Mayo player get away with striking Michael Murphy. Cards now of any colour apply only to the actual game they are issued in. Referees should withdraw their services.

BlueHeaven (Cavan) - Posts: 75 - 05/09/2015 09:47:33    1782499

Thanks Admin for posting that. Was beginning to think you were RTE.

GUYS....Connolly deserved a ban.

But O'Connor deserved two bans (deliberate elbow and he punched Connolly on the ground)

He wasnt even cited. O'Connor, Cooper and Connolly deserved bans. Mayo fans have not acknowledged O'Connor DESERVED a ban 12 stitches to a lad plus punching a guy in a clinch.

Connolly deserves to get off purely on the basis of "the systems a joke"

O'Connor was the worst offender last weekend....... wasnt even up for a hearing

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 09:47:35    1782500

No problem with DC but with this so called disciplinary system. When you appeal to 3 different committees and lose 2 from 3 but still win your case it surely means that the first 2 are a waste of time and cases should go straight to the final station who obviously hold the reins. The fact that these committees are led by solicitors and barristers doesn't come as a surprise because the "legal profession" in this country is the only organisation more corrupt than the GAA.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 05/09/2015 09:49:45    1782502

Not looking good for Dublin - Tiernan McCann appealed his ban and everyone could see his head wasn't in it vs Kerry. I suspect Connolly's head will be all over the place. I see him coming on as an impact sub in the last 10 mins! Anything else could be a major risk!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 05/09/2015 09:51:20    1782504

This has to be a joke, right? If not - how pathetic is the gaa. A strike is a strike, referee undermined, pointless having any rules at this stage. C'mon Mayo!!
---------------------------------------------------------------
The gaa certainly have to get to grips with these issues next year.Jarlath Burns and co have a lot of work to do for sure.I disagree about refs being undermined,infact they make such poor calls sometimes that they should be undermined! They are half the problem,it might not be of their making but thats how it is right now.If a strike was a strike then O'Connor should have saw the line also.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/09/2015 09:53:52    1782507

He shouldn't have failed any of them

Should have been cleared from the start

Dragged to the ground and chocked...

Yeah you should lie there getting clocked, face down in the ground...

Common sense has won

Some of yiz really are clueless

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/09/2015 09:57:01    1782510

Refs will clamp down on dirty play. Connolly will kick scores to hoorah chants from the hill. A football game, without fouling. Best of luck Mayo. Connolly wont start

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 09:58:56    1782513

He shouldn't have failed any of them

Should have been cleared from the start

Dragged to the ground and chocked...

Yeah you should lie there getting clocked, face down in the ground...

Common sense has won

Some of yiz really are clueless

are you for real?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 05/09/2015 10:01:15    1782516

He deserved to get off and in other words he got away with it. But so did a few more last Sunday also and indeed all year , last year etc.
but we are in total mess now as regards cards, especially red ones. Looking back on it the black card was a very unwise move. Could have left it at a yellow and any team getting three yellows in one game then the next a red one. Plus one game suspension.
There are a few hypocrites on here I must say------imagine if their own counties were involved and if one of their own received a suspension similar to DC from a game like last Sunday's with any amount of players guilty of black card/ Yellow card and indeed red card offences what would their tune be. ?
The bottom line is there can't be one rule for one one for another--- one man throws a punch and he gets banned , another does the same and walks scot free Plus at least 2/3 other offences that should carry a ban and no inquiry into any of them

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 05/09/2015 10:02:05    1782517

Sam2008

You could well be right

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/09/2015 10:02:11    1782518

Jimbo, a lot of these keyboard warriors dont know who their local club is.

I had 4 weeks out as a lad lay on me full weight with an elbow in my eye. Eye was swolen for two weeks. How did I get out.....punched and kicked him.

Lads Connolly defended himself. No more, no less.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 10:03:59    1782521

A decision that is typical of the Irish justice system.

As a Dub I'm glad that Connolly can line out this evening. I just hope that Gavin, Deegan etc. are able to drill into his head that he needs to react to nothing untoward, and 100% focus on scoring and helping his team. He needs to make sure his contribution outweighs any fillip of indignation at his inclusion that Mayo may feel.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 05/09/2015 10:04:12    1782522

Forget the player & forget the county the GAA looks so ridiculous this morning.
3 appeals in one week.
2 upheld 1 overturned.
I like Connolly but he is only human and it must have been a horrible week and it must take its toll.
I remember the effects Galvins hearings had on the team & I'll add neither he , Tomas or Darragh ever got rescinded.
No excuses now lads looking forward to this battle.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/09/2015 10:04:19    1782523

Last night the DRA, would have seen Keegan blocking Connolly run when there was no football near them , they would of seen Keegan pushing his hand in Connolly chest so he couldn't get by, they would of seen two players tangle and hit the ground, they would have seen Keegan choking Connolly , then they would of seen Connolly punching so Keegan would let go of his grip, basically defending himself by any means posible.If this was on the street Keegan would deemed to be the agreessor targeting an innocent bystander, This was premeditated and the other two committees couldn't see this , but the DRA did.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/09/2015 10:07:33    1782526

Brolly
County: Monaghan

Pathetic and a disgrace - complete undermining of referees and the diciplinary system. Up Mayo!!

----
Ah now Brolly no need to be like that. It's not Dermo's fault that he got off. Were you as outraged when McCann got off having had one of your own sent off? C'mon the Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/09/2015 10:07:34    1782527