Philly Mc Mahon

The Master ... What about AOS stating he got a headbutt and it was proven he didn't in my mind that is the same as trying to get someone a redcard as he was building a case to get Philly Mcmahon suspended. He was clearly rattled after been well beaten by his man. It happens both sides master, I think Mayo are just a bit more cute or dare I say expert.

Sean867 (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 03/09/2015 12:58:06    1781206

I agree with Master 100%.

McMahon was guilty of so much that to isolate one incident would be difficult.

He was borderline out of control & how he survived the 70 mins was pure luck.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/09/2015 12:58:45    1781207

Muck at least he didn't stamp on the back of a defenceless Mayo player , sure who'd do that?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2015 13:06:56    1781219

So much whataboutery!

Ps when is somebody not 'defenceless'? Surely everyone is defenceless when they are not expecting to be hurt. Was DOC not defenceless when Cooper studded him?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 03/09/2015 13:21:22    1781243

Sean867
The Master ... What about AOS stating he got a headbutt and it was proven he didn't in my mind that is the same as trying to get someone a redcard as he was building a case to get Philly Mcmahon suspended. He was clearly rattled after been well beaten by his man. It happens both sides master, I think Mayo are just a bit more cute or dare I say expert.

But he did get headbutted. The rte camera shows clearly, how McMahon pushes forward rather than o'shea pulling him in. You can see his upper body push into o'shea rather than his jersey dragging him in, which would be physically impossible if he was pulled. You lads are just hanging onto one camera angle that doesn't catch him pushing forward. But the other ones shows it very clearly. As for o'shea being beaten by his man, try 3 men. Leave McMahon on his own on him if you are that confident and see what happens.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/09/2015 13:31:58    1781263

Well said master.
3 if not 4 men marking o Shea. He would skin McMahon one on one

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 03/09/2015 13:59:23    1781290

The only one hanging on to fantasy stuff is you Master. You know O Shea lied and you cannot deny what the different side on clear as day camera showed.You have no credibility left.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 03/09/2015 14:01:30    1781294

Rory O Carroll would have done just fine on him if he hadn't been taken out of the game by another bad act which went completely unpunished.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/09/2015 14:36:21    1781330

He didn't lie. The second camera angle doesn't actually show anything. It doesn't show o'shea pulling him in, it doesn't show McMahon going forward, it is actually just a bad angle that is pretty inconclusive on all fronts.

Go to 1.15 on the above link, the camera is slowed down the incident is magnified. You can clearly see McMahon move forward on his own accord and connect with o'shea with his forehead. Even Whelan is saying it is a headbutt. Frankly this line that o'shea is a liar is quite nasty. Some people will say literally anything. You are letting yourself and your county down with that stuff.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/09/2015 14:43:10    1781342

SLLY

He did not lie, he answered a question with the truth. If some of the Dublin players held there heads the way Aidan did they wouldn`t have got so many cards. All day Aidan took both physical and verbal abuse and never reacted once. He just kept playing the game and never let the dublin players affect him. I think the dublin players need to realise that Aidan is to cute for that unlike DC who lost his head. The dublin players made themselves look very poor with there antic`s in trying to get Aidan sent off with feigning injury and sledging hoping he would hit out. They wont be as lucky the next day to go the full game unpunished by the ref!!

4evermayo (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 03/09/2015 14:46:10    1781344

Muck at least he didn't stamp on the back of a defenceless Mayo player , sure who'd do that?

Once again clondalkin I haven't the faintest idea what you're talking about. Probably some Donegal man did something in the distant past but off th top of my head I can't think who.

Last Sunday McMahon was involved in more nastiness, on his own, than the whole Ulster championship produced this year. He wasn't alone by any means, the whole affair was a disgrace, but he was the worst.

And to think that you & Roy Curtis used to hold this team up as paragons of all that was good in GAA & yet here you are defending everything, lashing out at all & sundry & generally flailing about like an octopus falling out of a tree.

How far the mighty have fallen.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/09/2015 15:06:48    1781366

Muck hes chatting about Eamon McGee on Enda Varley in the last few mins of the 2013 game

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 03/09/2015 15:28:54    1781386

How there was there not several men sent off in this match is beyond me. It was the dirtiest game this year and surprising that only one man was sent off..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 03/09/2015 15:32:24    1781388

Sunday game close up clearly shows no contact and Mc Stay said as much. God but you cant accept the facts lads. He aint no saint and he lied about the incident.
Dishonest as feigning injury for sure.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 03/09/2015 15:37:59    1781392

I'm still waiting to see conclusive video evidence that Aidan O'Shea didn't strike Philly McMahon with his left hand

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 03/09/2015 16:01:26    1781426

TheMaster hates Dublin.

He just waffles on.

What's clear from the footage is O'Shea pulled McMahon towards him in an effort to get him sent off.

In the injury feigning accusation, two things, McMahon was hit with O'Sheas left arm. Secondly O'Shea was horribly late and went in clumsily (or deliberately to cause harm).

Either way both instants O'Shea is the person in the wrong.

-------------------------

On another note Master, what was your take on COC? Should he not be banned for a clear elbow and a punch? The evidence is there.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/09/2015 16:13:06    1781444

I just watched the diving incident back and although phily doesn't cover himself in glory AOS swung a dig (mayo team tactics) half hit him and then took a dive himself. The two of them went down like Rocky V Appollo creed!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 03/09/2015 16:26:08    1781457

JayP & SLLY

Lads ye have to take the BOYS IN BLUE Glasses off, and watch the footage properly! First off on COC incident he swung his arms back to shrug off ROC who was pulling him back and the back of his arm caught him. Definetly not a deliberate elbow like you said. A yellow card offence at most and thats a Fact.
O`Shea was headbutted clearly any ye are trying to say he pulled him in to try and get Philly sent off, bulls*** if that was the case he would have hit the deck but know he didn`t. As for the diving that Philly did O`Shea was going to tackle DC when Philly BLOCKED him to prevent him getting to DC. So don`t no how you can say the O`Shea took philly out when it was as clear as day the other way around. Lads Philly was out of control the last day and ye should not be trying to defend him like it was a once off he was involved in nearly all of the bad incidents involving the dublin players.

4evermayo (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 03/09/2015 16:35:34    1781471

JayP
TheMaster hates Dublin.
He just waffles on.
What's clear from the footage is O'Shea pulled McMahon towards him in an effort to get him sent off.
In the injury feigning accusation, two things, McMahon was hit with O'Sheas left arm. Secondly O'Shea was horribly late and went in clumsily (or deliberately to cause harm).
Either way both instants O'Shea is the person in the wrong.

No. What is clear from the footage is that McMahon pushes his head forward on his own accord - confirmed unanimously by all pundits and the presenter, two of which are dubs themselves. It is 100% conclusive. Not a single neutral pundit has agreed with your version of events. Can you explain that?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/09/2015 16:37:09    1781473

McMahon moved his head toward O'shea, clear as day, that doesn't happen cause you're pulled. Also, the arms thing looked awkward but Philly was holding the front of his face, not the side of the head where any contact was made. Don't make out oshea was the one in the wrong for them. O Connor twice is the lad that should have walked for Mayo, keegan should have had a black.

Timeonmyhands (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 03/09/2015 17:14:45    1781522