McMahon free to play in replay

Mccann got off for god sake and played in the semi final it was a complete mess everyone agrees on that point .. but diving feigning injury is rife n the game as with the tiernan Mccann incident mcmahon wasn't right but until there is a means for dealing with ithese types of incidents properly there's no point in demonising an amateur sportsman over it !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 01/09/2015 19:28:23    1780201

You have no sense of fairness Joxer. You are trying to mitigate for what Philly did while still trying to hammer oul Tiernan Mc Cann. Every Tyrone poster on here condemned what Tiernan did. Philly did the same thing,I'm not splitting hairs about what they were thinking,you obviously haven spoken to Mc Mahon ,sees you having some inside info that the rest of us are not privy to. Philly fell to the ground holding his face pretending that Aidan O' Shea hit him in the face. Why are you trying to suggest that this is any less devious or unsporting? It's not Joxer and you should just say so.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 19:32:05    1780205

Aah come on Seanie, get of Joxers case. Joxer has always said he would never defend diving, feigning injury or cynical play no matter where it came from. Therefore his explainations for all of this have to be 100% correct......well either that or Joxer is full of sh!te

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 01/09/2015 19:45:55    1780212

McMahon deserved a black for third man tackle, a yellow for feigning injury and a good kick up the backside

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 01/09/2015 19:49:25    1780216

After all the incidents this year the GAA will have to clear a few things up. What do use think of the below small changes-

1) make it clear to all counties that diving, feigning injury etc wont be tolerated. Automatic bans for anyone involved in such activities.

2) stick to bans handed out. At the minute it seems everyone who appeals their bans are getting off. This has to stop.

3) Bkack cards to include dragging players back e.g pulling jerseys. At the minute i have seen the likes of Dublin and Kerry constantly pulling jerseys in order to slow play down as they know its not a black or yellow card.

4) TMO to be used for big calls and for time keeping. Much like hawk eye is used for and it hasnt slowed the game down.

What are your thoughts? ?

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 01/09/2015 19:59:48    1780222

Could they not have charged P McMahon with an attempted head butt? As regards diving we have discussed all this a few weeks ago. I would not agree with taking him in on a diving charge.
Look at the other semi final and what happened McNulty of Tyrone. I thought he was fouled, should have been a penalty yet he gets booked for diving.
I don't think I ever saw a player booked for diving before. The thing is was it a dive or indeed was it a penalty. My main take on it is ---- there have been so many cock ups all year with refs, starting with the Down player getting sent off against Derry( did not get the card overturned, another injustice) The Derry player sent off against Galway, the in consistency in what's black , yellow or indeed red so to me it's hard to throw the book at any player
What with different colour of cards being overturned lately, they might as well overturn D Connolly's.
If right was right a few players should be banned for at least one game, there was no excuse for what went on and a Mayo man today told me it was the dirtiest game he ever saw and I would well believe him.
Connolly deserves a ban , let's face it he was provoked( same as a lot of players this year, last year every year) his card should be lifted as seemingly no one else will be charged.
Why make an example of him while others done worse and got off scot free That was my stand on the T McCann affair.
As regards making an apology C Whelan is the one who should make one, He was the man who first suggested Tyrone should do so. He has every chance now to set an example and practice what he preaches
The longer this championship goes on its easier to see Tyrone were being singled out. There could have been serious injuries on Sunday-- I don't think the same applied to any of Tyrones matches this year, senior, minor or u21
And the final point --- lets hope this is the last straw, new rules, cards , suspensions, technology introduced, look at an assistant ref, be able to go back on a game , if a wrong card is issued, lift it and give the proper one with a suspension if maybe , stop all pulling , dragging and refs to be aided by camera to make a session

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 01/09/2015 20:06:03    1780226

Ah Jayzus Tyrone boys. I thought yis were hard. McCann had his hair ruffled, RUFFLED and hit the ground rolling around like he'd taken a slug from a 38. He also got a man sent off. Open yer eyes men. It's chalk and cheese boys. Ye know it. Ye just can't admit it. Philly's was a yellow and I will not defend that, as some bizarrely suggest. I'm just pointing out the diffefences in the two incidents. McCann had fingers run through his hair, an act of affection you might say.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2015 20:06:37    1780228

Joxer is correct, let me be very clear what McMahon did was undub like, and ill be honest i think he should have been banned for replay.
That all been said to compare what McMahon did with the carry on of McCann is laughable tbh, McCann disgraced himself, and more importantly his county in a way i don't think any football player ever has. And he will have to man up and over the next few years put that right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/09/2015 20:09:22    1780230

Co boards of offending counties should be fined significantly for each misdemeanour... might go some way to stopping the rot !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 01/09/2015 20:13:52    1780234

McMahon. How he gets away with it time after time is shocking.

I would love to see him up against the Aussies.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/09/2015 20:51:03    1780258

Joxer and Royaldunne. Philly fell down holding his face pretending Aidan O shea struck him in the face. It's that simple lads. It really is. We in Tyrone condemned the actions of our lad when he did it. Our only complaint was the reaction from certain quarters to what he had done. We have been proven right by this subsequent lack of reaction and vilification.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 21:02:17    1780271

Well said Royal. It's good to see a view from a genuine neutral. The two incidents are light years apart but Sshhh don't ruin the anti-Tyrone conspiracy theory.

As for Sam's suggestion that Philly might be charged for an attempted headbutt, I nearly choked on my tea soaked digestive biscuit with laughter. Sam - what can you not see in the video footage that everyone else can see? O'Shea has two hands on Philly and drags him towards him. How can that be an attempted headbutt? There was no contact at all either. The matter of O'Shea running to the media and lying about the incident surely must be looked at. Surely that is a disrepute matter.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2015 21:12:50    1780282

Yes fining county boards would be a good idea, but i also think that a rule has to be introduced where a player found to be diving and/or feigning injury is suspended for 3 games and this to carry over til next year, excluding pre season competitions. Stamp it out now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/09/2015 21:13:47    1780283

West, Philly is a tough nut, trust me. Physically fit (own gyms) and a Ballymun lad to boot.

But what makes him hard is he will never moan about getting a few belts because he knows he throws a few. And he can take his belts.

But he took a dive and pretended he needed treatment when he didn't even get hit so that negates just about everything you just said.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 01/09/2015 21:16:37    1780284

Took a dive pretending another player hit him in the face. Simple as that really.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 21:28:24    1780294

royaldunne

Joxer is correct, let me be very clear what McMahon did was undub like, and ill be honest i think he should have been banned for replay.
That all been said to compare what McMahon did with the carry on of McCann is laughable tbh, McCann disgraced himself, and more importantly his county in a way i don't think any football player ever has. And he will have to man up and over the next few years put that right.
-----------------------------------------
What a complete joke of a post.Philly lay prostrate on the ground pretending he had been struck in the face and pretending he needed treatment.How has he not disgraced himself but Tiernan Mc Cann has? There is absolutely no difference in the players reactions,there might be in the lead up,but the reactions are equally wrong and shameful.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 21:38:55    1780299

Jox and RD answer one very simple question

DID PHILLY MCMAHON FEIGN INJURY?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/09/2015 21:44:21    1780302

I think we all hope to see legislation brought in to adequately deal with those who dive and feign injury, but going by Joxers thinking we are going to have a rolling scale of punishments, decided upon by a set of diving judges (does anyone know do Olympic diving judges be busy during summer months?) These judges will mark on how dramatic the dive was, how outraged the SG pundits were and naturally was the ref foolish enough to fall for it or not, suspensions will then be handed out according to total points awarded.All sounds very complicated and could leave it open to appeals, all of which appear to be successful at this time of year so it could get messy. Alternatively we could go more for a Joxer style of justice and just go by the colour of the jersey!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 01/09/2015 21:45:13    1780303

In truth, there wasn't much difference in what Philly and McCann did, and I'm normally a fan of Philly, who gives us the right amount of needle that had been missing up to then

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 01/09/2015 21:49:04    1780308

Any poster who thinks that this collision on 27 seconds between McMahon and OShea is the same as the force applied to a player when having his hair ruffled cannot be taken seriously. Like I said Philly is body checking O'Shea so that Connolly, I think, can get away. He expected to get a card for it so stayed down I would guess. Philly deserved a yellow here. As for this being 'the same' as the McCann dive, ha.

The body clash....

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X0LgRzbvKe0

The hair flick....

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=DqdgqnsKn9I

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2015 21:54:59    1780313