McMahon free to play in replay

Clondalkin - why not answer my query on another thread ?

You claimed both sides would go man to man ? In fact , you guaranteed it . Your analysis was outdated and it's hard to take you serious in all honesty .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 01/09/2015 14:23:47    1779917

I'm glad that Mc Mahon is allowed to play in the replay as there was nothing in the "headbutt" incident and the diving and feigning injury is at present a yellow card offense as we have all discussed in recent weeks.Now that the admin has set up a thread on this individual player I do have a question for some people on this forum.How come so few of you are calling for Philly to be charged with bringing the game into disrepute, like you were for Tiernan Mc Cann, and to face an 8 week ban?How come so few of you are demanding that Philly apologize for falling to the ground and pretending to have been struck in the face by Aidan O' Shea in an attempt to get him sent off?
In fairness we know the answer but if any poster on here wants to answer with honesty and call it like it is that would be fine by me.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 14:24:30    1779919

sxckev

1779913 Mcmahon should be dropped.. he had a poor game.. gave the peno away and was lucky not to give another

Mcmahon had a great game,no way he will be dropped,but tks for the advice.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 01/09/2015 14:29:43    1779922

"Mcmahon should be dropped.. he had a poor game.. gave the peno away and was lucky not to give another "

Is that you Aidan - Don't want to be kept scoreless again? :)

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 01/09/2015 14:34:56    1779927

Considering Aidan's marker had to go off due to an accidental head injury,Philly done well on a player who was hyped to be fairly unstoppable.If the incident hadn't happened, we'd have little to comment about AOS's performance. His marker would have to be pleased with that.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 01/09/2015 14:49:27    1779941

connolly gets charged with a one week suspension for punching...no action taken against mcmahon for striking with the head...tiernan mccann gets a proposed 8 week ban for diving...o'shea and keegan assaulted in forst two incidents..no-one hurt in the latter case...
go figure!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/09/2015 15:04:29    1779956

sxckev

Mcmahon should be dropped.. he had a poor game.. gave the peno away and was lucky not to give another

Ha ha, nice one, and while we are giving away free advice perhaps Mayo should consider dropping Cillian O Connor because his return from play was so poor.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 01/09/2015 15:20:50    1779965

Clondalkin roaring in a lads face isn't being a hard man.
Tough physical player he is but carrying on like that is not hard man in my book.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/09/2015 15:21:56    1779970

01/09/2015 13:36:52
Ulsterman

Absolutely Wayno. The GAA has already set the precedent. If Connelly's appeal fails then Dublin will have every right to say "Hang on, what about the guy who got off a few weeks back". This is what many of us have been warning about for quite a while. The entire GAA disciplinary process is inconsistent and the GAA seem to be capitulating to outside pressures, they have lost their independence. When Tiernan McCann was hung out to dry and disgracefully vilified again many of us earned that EVERY game would be scrutinised to the Ntg degree by disgruntled Tyrone fans and others until people were blue in the face. On the subject of Philly McMahon I have said that you can't find a fella guilty if there is ANY doubt. However why was it not even referred to the CCCC for them to make a decision? Tiernan McCann had already been dealt with by the referee........

-----
Wow, wow, wow. Was he dealt with by the referee for that dive? I'm being serious I didn't think he was but if he was then I would agree that he was hung out to dry. Did he actually get a yellow for the dive? I must have missed that and if he did then he should not have received any further punishment. Cooper receved a yellow for his dangerous tackle on Sunday so that was dealt with. I feel both Connolly and Keegan should have walked for their clash.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2015 15:28:44    1779980

West, Philly is a tough nut, trust me. Physically fit (own gyms) and a Ballymun lad to boot.

But what makes him hard is he will never moan about getting a few belts because he knows he throws a few. And he can take his belts.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 01/09/2015 15:54:46    1780011

Are people here turning soft or what??

We dont want to go down the road of trying to get attempted strikes eligible for bans. If we do so the sport will be turned into the premier style of attempted strike or any contact with face will result in a straight red.

I seen the Stoke/WBA highlights the last night and a stoke player tipped the opposition player with his palm on the side of the cheek and you could see the ref didnt want to send him off but had no choice given how soft the rules have gotten in that sport. Any tip at all on the face is a straight red.

Even if McMahon did slightly brush his eyebrow hair on O Sheas forehead then so what. its not nice to see players trying to influence refs in such incidents where minimal contact is made which wouldnt hurt a mouse.

Connollys red card was fair and also Cooper should have walked but can we stop going down the road of calling for players to be banned for nothing incidents.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 01/09/2015 15:58:22    1780017

pdempsey

Phil Mcmahon ain't no hard man.

Are you having a laugh?

NO. He goes to ground easy and spends most of the game mouthing.
McMahon will be a weak link on Saturday.

Hard men hit hard and fair (mostly). Ciaran Whelan springs to mind.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 01/09/2015 16:15:25    1780044

Maybe time to consider forcing players to watch Stoke V WBA highlights as a form of punishment ? :)

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 01/09/2015 16:20:59    1780056

poguemahone

Maybe time to consider forcing players to watch Stoke V WBA highlights as a form of punishment ? :)

It was either that or winning streak to watch..didnt have a choice

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 01/09/2015 16:42:12    1780087

Jaden

"Mcmahon should be dropped.. he had a poor game.. gave the peno away and was lucky not to give another "

Is that you Aidan - Don't want to be kept scoreless again? :)

Are you serious? Having three to four Dublin defenders around O'Shea every time he got the ball kept him scoreless; few forwards could prosper in those circumstances. Put McMahon one on one with him and he wouldn't have a chance. Obviously Dublin knew this as they didn't risk it at any stage. As for this hard man talk, he hit the deck fairly easily on a few occasions last Sunday.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 01/09/2015 17:09:13    1780116

Aidan took some funny dives himself. His attempt to decide the game by diving for a last minute free was very poor.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 01/09/2015 17:20:29    1780127

100% agree seanie_boy

I agreed that what Tiernan McCann did was wrong and I hate seeing that kind of behaviour on the field but I also defended the lads right to fairness from the rules at present. When I argued this case it was met with the likes of 'why wait till the end of the year to change the rules, just make an example of him' etc. One or two of those posters were from Dublin and I was just wondering, after Sunday's mess in a higher profile game are you still looking to make examples of players for feigning injury? Or would it now suit to review it at the end of the year and introduce a new rule from next year that everyone is clear on?

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/09/2015 17:35:41    1780138

I'm glad that Mc Mahon is allowed to play in the replay as there was nothing in the "headbutt" incident and the diving and feigning injury is at present a yellow card offense as we have all discussed in recent weeks.Now that the admin has set up a thread on this individual player I do have a question for some people on this forum.How come so few of you are calling for Philly to be charged with bringing the game into disrepute, like you were for Tiernan Mc Cann, and to face an 8 week ban?How come so few of you are demanding that Philly apologize for falling to the ground and pretending to have been struck in the face by Aidan O' Shea in an attempt to get him sent off?
In fairness we know the answer but if any poster on here wants to answer with honesty and call it like it is that would be fine by me.

-------
Ah Seanie, Seanie, come on now. You might as well be comparing a bottle of Blue Nun to a bottle of Montrachet chardonnay, those incidents were so far apart. Philly collided full force with O'Shea, a player a foot taller and over a stone heavier than him. Watch it again will ye. He deliberately blocked O'Shea's run by throwing himself across him. He did feign injury but to avoid getting a yellow card for himself I would say, not to get O'Shea sent off as it was a clear clash of bodies. It was a clear yellow for Philly. The ref and linesman saw it as such. Now compare this to McCann. A player ruffles his hair having been mouthed at, he dives, rolls around holding his face to get the player sent off, succeeds in that and then engages with the Tyrone physio both of whom pretend to be tending to a facial injury. I can see why the second could be seen as disrepute and I can also see why an apology to Hughes, who McCann got sent off, might be appropriate. Can you see this Seanie? Take off the aul Elton John red tinted glasses and say it as it is boy and don't be pandering to the Ulsterman propaganda machine.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/09/2015 17:56:20    1780162

Well Saffrondon as you can see the silence on the issue is defeating. No dubs or anybody for that matter seem to want to address the disparity between how Tiernan was treated by the gaa,some sections of the media and certain posters on here,and how Philly was treated quite differently. Does make you wonder about how these individuals pick their villains. Seems to me that a Tyrone jersey is the number one prerequisite at the minute at least.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 01/09/2015 18:18:18    1780176

You only have to look at Joxer's post above to see what your up against Seanie. Two lads feign injury but he knows that McMahon's intentions were different apparently, we have mind readers on here now. He also fails to point out that two Dublin physio's ran on with an ice pack to tend to that 'injury', its disrepute for Tyrone staff to do that apparently so again the rules get tailored to Joxer's needs. Go ahead Jox give us another one this is hilarious, you must laugh at yourself sometimes tell the truth.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 01/09/2015 19:16:56    1780197