Time to Move On

Alright folks, there were two teams at it yesterday.. Keegans behaviour was disgraceful all game.. Mc Mahon and Cooper were far too hyped up.. Joe McQuillans refereeing was very poor. He was very biased to the Dubs in the first half, abd very biased to Mayo in the second.
Diarmuid Connolly should not get off. Keegan obstructed him and the two went to grounf wrestling in a 50/50 exchange. But you can't throw punches and everybody knows that.
The rest of the stuff happened during the game, was dealt with during the game, so let's just let the referees at it and let them referee the game. It's not like the hard challenges and off the ball stuff started today or yesterday, it has always been going on and always will. In a mans game full of testosterone, huge amounts of adrenaline and pressure, the serious conteneders always play on the edge.
But to be looking for retrospective bans for every little incident and starting these threads about behaviour etc is nearly turning our beloved game into a soap opera.
Cooper got a yellow card for the tackle on O'Connor - dealt with.
ROC got hit with a stray hand while two fellas were running - happens every game.
Keegan got a yellow and DC got a red - was the right punishment, two yellows had Connolly not struck out. - dealt with.
Kick out from Cluxton - happens all the time.

It is time to move on and look forward to what is going to be another thrill a minute heart stopping day out Saturday and stop with all this pantomime villain BS.

For what it's worth, I think we will be slightly happier going into a replay as I thought we broke Dublin mentally when they turned and played for the draw when they had that last free instead of going on to try and win it. 2011/13 Dubs would have gone for the jugular.
Long story short lads, it's time to move on.

goinwellintrain (Mayo) - Posts: 96 - 31/08/2015 19:14:13    1779338

yet you fail to mention cillian o connor
running into the connolly keegan incident as a third man in
and clearly punching connolly on the ground
seems to have visibly escaped almost every non dub from mcstay to posters on here

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 19:19:26    1779347

Everything that happened during the game was not dealt with. No mention of O'Shea trying to get someone sent off by pretending to be headbutted? What's your opinion on that having seen the footage?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 19:31:01    1779357

Agree with everything except COC swing back of the arm. You dont get that many stitches and vomit from flailing arms I'm sorry.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2015 19:32:21    1779359

Hill16no1man, it's posters like you that are the exact problem I'm talking about. You have gone to every single thread today with that same pount over abd over abd it is nonsense. In no way does he punch him. If you went down that road, there are two or three other incidents Connolly could have been sent off for. When he went down on top of Diarmuid O'Connor and put his forearm and open hand accross his face and put his full weight on it etc. i also didn't mention the attempted headbutt, because these things happen in Every game from underage all the way through to the top table. This carry on of looking for people to be cited for every little thing and striking incidents to be resconded will ruin the game. There is no justifying what Connolly done, Keegan was at him, he bit, he, of all people should have more sense considering he got out of jail against Donegal and also in the public court!! By the way, I also believe that Kevin Keane should not have had his red card rescinded, again Murphy pulled his tail and he bit.
These thing happen all the time, always have, always will, just get on with it, and look forward..

goinwellintrain (Mayo) - Posts: 96 - 31/08/2015 19:34:19    1779362

Jackeen

Agree with everything except COC swing back of the arm. You dont get that many stitches and vomit from flailing arms I'm sorry.

-------
Straight red all day long. The rules have it covered in two sections, both of which O'Connor was guilty of. A player ended up with concussion and 10 stitches. It's a clear suspension but I don't expect the CCCC to act. They've bottled every other decision this year. Time to move on to Saturday

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 31/08/2015 19:41:11    1779366

well you clearly posted all incidents in original post from a mayo point of view
one example that you say keegan yellow card was right and dealt with it
how????
pulling a player to the ground deliberatly is a black card so if your gona post a list of things that happen
at least do it fairly
and if you cannot see o connor striking connolly as a third man in
you clearly are being one sided
he had some cheek gesturing to the linesman after it to get connolly sent off
along with o shea going to the media saying he got headbutted
when he has been shown to have pulled connolly by the collar into him
you cannot run with the hare and hunt with the hound

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 19:46:52    1779374

Jasus Hill16 you need to get checked out if you still think COC punched Connolly He dragged him off of Keegan and Connolly pushed Keegan twice before the ruckus started So quit with the crap we have all seen the smart phone video What's in the video is fact not what you think you seen

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 31/08/2015 19:53:49    1779379

The greatest mystery from the game yesterday is not even why the officials didn't call for Halkeye for B Brogan's "point". But even a greater mystery is how it was not even raised in RTE'S Sunday Game last night. It was a huge mystery how nobody (not even Mayo players) questioned it at the time. But not being raised on TV last night needs to be explained before we can "move on"

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 31/08/2015 20:10:28    1779403

You wish mate. There's a lot more to be got outta this.....keep er lit lads!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 31/08/2015 20:18:39    1779409

cluichethar

Jasus Hill16 you need to get checked out if you still think COC punched Connolly He dragged him off of Keegan and Connolly pushed Keegan twice before the ruckus started So quit with the crap we have all seen the smart phone video What's in the video is fact not what you think you seen

he drags and punches
surely even a mayo man can see his right arm swing back then lay into connolly
come on be honest about it
exact same thing connolly done to keegan
A STRIKE

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 20:19:02    1779410

John Finn had his jaw broken in the 85 final by a Dublin player and played on...never made it public who hit him....back when Mayo were sweetness and light.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 31/08/2015 20:49:24    1779441

Ah that's rubbish, not at all biased.. Our own lads are just as bad for the cynical stuff, specially Keegan. You are right, if he pulled him down in a cynical manner to stop him naking a run, it should be a black card, but when two lads come together and wrestle eachother to the ground, it's two yellows..call a soade a spade, neither of them had any interest in the ball there.. The strike was just stupid, he shouldn't have done it, simple as. If I was seeing them from a Mayo point of view, I'd be saying a lot more, believe me, I just mentioned a few incidents as examples, you could have both Philly and johnny C cited to if I was being bias. My point is, this carry on of wanting this person and that person cited afterward is a load of bs. Play the game, let the referees ref it and move on. If he then thinks there is something that needs to be escalated, let him put it in his report and go from there..
I see your point Joxer, I'm not saying it wasn't a hard belt, but I don't think he meant to burst him or concuss him, and it probably happened a hundred more times yesterday alone where lads are trying to break away from their man, but 99 times out of a hundred, he wouldn't have got the stitches.. CO'C wouldnt be that sort of player and to catch him there, he would nearly need to have been a boxer and have eyes in the back of his head! You may disagree, but that's what were on the forum for I suppose.. There is no way O'Connor struck connolly though, if you honestly believe that hill16, there is no talking to you.. these crazy threads about this persons behaviour and that persons, which ye will notice are all Dub players names just need to be left alone and look forward to next week..

goinwellintrain (Mayo) - Posts: 96 - 31/08/2015 20:59:18    1779450

seanie_boy

You wish mate. There's a lot more to be got outta this.....keep er lit lads!!

-----
Bravo Seanie, bravo.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 31/08/2015 21:01:41    1779456

Hard luck goinwellintrainin but judging by the reaction to your original post there doesn't seem to be too many ready to move on just yet. I think I'll come back in a couple of days and see has anyone actually started to discuss the replay.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 31/08/2015 21:07:39    1779460

Can you start a thread about moving on and then go into lengthy discussion about what happened in minute detail ? :)

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 31/08/2015 21:13:45    1779469

Ha, well Theres a few of the Dubs that even took the peace flag original post as a chance for an argument!! But I was answering the questions, yhe bein of the thread is the same!! ;)

goinwellintrain (Mayo) - Posts: 96 - 31/08/2015 21:27:59    1779488

Funny colour that peace flag.....

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 31/08/2015 21:39:59    1779505

I give it to COC he disguised his punch better ! The fact is when it comes to it dublin received a red card and 2 black cards. Their 3 most influencial players at the time and I would not say that is fair. Not even getting into the black cards that's Mayo blatantly should of conceded ! Superman dragging down Cluxton , cynical foul, the Dublin penalty another example of dragging down clear black, and you're post says the ref was all Dublin in the first half. Regarding the game mayo played all out defence with nobody upfront except o Shea . Mayo scored 1 points from play in the first half. Frees kept Mayo in it, helped by the fact , referee kept moving the ball forward . Hopefully Dublin can cut out the frees and I can't see us losing then . Much better team and it was when Fenton , McCauley and bastick were off the pitch that's when Mayo scored all their points at the end because we couldn't get the ball out ! Can't see you's doing what you did in the last 10 mins for 70 the next day. My thoughts anyway

Sean867 (Dublin) - Posts: 25 - 01/09/2015 09:18:39    1779549

Dont waste your time trying to be reasonable with the majority of these guys. I mean the latest line is that the dubs got treated badly by the ref. Id hate to see if they and 1-1 given against them that shouldn't have stood, another dodgey point that looked wide, and sending off offences for 4 different players punished with one red card in injury time, coming out with a draw. The place would go into meltdown.

Another one is that that Kinsella has it in for them too, after sending off 3 of their players and booking 5 against kerry in the league. How about this for an idea - stop fouling so much.

Frankly it is beyond laughable. Dublin were systematically fouling mayo to prevent goal chances - that is why we had so many frees near the goals. The same thing mayo were pillared for by the same dub fans in 2012.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/09/2015 09:34:33    1779559