Connolly has to get off

kildare73

you clearly have selective vision if you cannot see cillian o connor punching connolly
nobody in ireland is saying connolly didnt strike keegan
but I have yet to hear one person from outside dublin admit that o connor struck connolly
that to me is selective vision

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2015 17:22:39    1780817

Still going with that line Liam? Apart from my reply in the other thread to it, can you at least explain why you're trying to say COC 'threw a dig' causing DC to panic, when the footage clearly shows DC throwing a punch before COC arrived on the scene? Just getting the retaliation in first, was he?

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 02/09/2015 17:26:53    1780820

Jason - Liam said "DC was held down around the neck in a vice like grip". Why would a third man Cillian O' Connor get involved and throw a punch. I think it would be very selective justice if Diarmuid Connolly is the only one having to miss out on Saturdays game. I think the best outcome at this point is to allow all players to play.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 02/09/2015 17:48:00    1780830

Sure a Mayo player got off recently for blatantly punching Michael Murphy in the face with a closed fist

There is NO video evidence of Connolly making contact in the same way the Mayo man was captured against Donegal...

I think the Lines man was greatly influenced from the rather persistent efforts of COC to get Dublin players sent off

I just don't think the evidence is there that proves Connolly 100% guilty

Again using the Mayo v Donegal example - where it was clear as day

That is simply not the case here

And the Mayo lad still got his over turned and used the fact that he was provoked in the first place

Well Connolly didn't block his own run, twice, and then pull himself on the ground, put himself in a head lock and then give himself a couple of sly strikes

I hope Connolly gets off, the other case was far more blatant and has set a strong precedent for Connolly to appeal

It would be hugely unjust for Connolly to miss a game on so little evidence compared to the other recent incident

I think that's fair enough.

I mean COC made striking gestures on Connolly too.. surely if you are looking at one, you have to look at the other

Dublin have a very strong case to appeal.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/09/2015 17:49:48    1780832

Sure a Mayo player got off recently for blatantly punching Michael Murphy in the face with a closed fist

There is NO video evidence of Connolly making contact in the same way the Mayo man was captured against Donegal...

I think the Lines man was greatly influenced from the rather persistent efforts of COC to get Dublin players sent off

I just don't think the evidence is there that proves Connolly 100% guilty

Again using the Mayo v Donegal example - where it was clear as day

That is simply not the case here

And the Mayo lad still got his over turned and used the fact that he was provoked in the first place

Well Connolly didn't block his own run, twice, and then pull himself on the ground, put himself in a head lock and then give himself a couple of sly strikes

I hope Connolly gets off, the other case was far more blatant and has set a strong precedent for Connolly to appeal

It would be hugely unjust for Connolly to miss a game on so little evidence compared to the other recent incident

I think that's fair enough.

I mean COC made striking gestures on Connolly too.. surely if you are looking at one, you have to look at the other

Dublin have a very strong case to appeal.

Yeah I agree.

If this was a month ago, I would say that Connolly deserves to be banned but not now.

It is now officially ok to strike a player now because Keane got away with it.

It doesnt matter it Murphy was the aggressor : Keane punched him.

Keane deliberately struck Michael Murphy in the face and the powers that be said it was ok.

I hope DC plays.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 02/09/2015 18:00:19    1780839

Haha & I thought I was on Hoganstand not the Edinburgh festival some cracking comedians on here...;) That pic cracked me up brilliant what exactly was it?

But anyway it would seem that some Dubs are trying to kid themselves into thinking D will be fine, lads he's as guilty as sin just accepted it & get over yourselves #Embarrassing It's going to be a harder fall when this silly appeal fails. In fact it's taking precious time out of your prep to come up with a plan without him for Saturday....

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 02/09/2015 18:34:37    1780848

Jimbo there is no need for evidence of contact. Attempting to strike ( which is clearly shown) carries the same penalty as striking. However attempting to head butt also carries the same punishment as head butting and Philly MCMahon walked on that one so maybe the dubs have a guardian angel in Croke Park

disillusiondfan (Limerick) - Posts: 4279 - 02/09/2015 18:36:49    1780849

Connolly prob won't get off unless the chc are influenced by evidence COC punched connolly.. It is clear to see and people saying it is not are silly.. In actual fact there is more evidence of o'Connor with a closed fist than diarmo ... ironic COC pointing out diarmo had the fist closed

No respect for COC, the whole game in the ref and linesmen ears..

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 02/09/2015 18:45:11    1780855

Connolly deserves to get off because there is precedent of players in similar situations getting off but to try and claim he is some sort of innocent party who done nothing is laughable really.

He has previous even in this game which isnt going to help his cause.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 02/09/2015 19:14:52    1780863

There's a fair bit of evidence to show that COC punched Connolly with a closed fist when he was on the ground. In fact lots of footage has appeared online that magnifies the incident and clearly shows a closed fist punch. McMahon has been proved NOT to have heat butted O'Shea with the reverse angle footage. O'Shea clearly pulls him forward in an attempt to get him sent off.

I've looked at the contact from O'Shea on McMahon numerous time. My conclusions are that a) O'Shea was really late b) His left arm looks to hit McMahons face.

He ran in at pace too and there's only one camera angle available, so whilst it may look like there's not lots of contact, his arms were sloppy and McMahon might have taken a knock. I actually think he did get caught even looking at that footage. Camera angles are deceiving at times. Sunday McMahon was accused of head butting by RTE and AOS. By Monday footage emerged that exonerates McMahon fully on the head butt case and makes AOS look foolish and a cheat. So I think accusations of feigning injury are out of order. AOS left arm appears to make contact and he's not running into that contact slow. Having had wounds from glancing blows in the past, didn't look much, I can assure you that a lad of O'Sheas height and bulk at pace could easily glance and hurt an opponent.

I think the ironic thing is the one telling blow in the game was from COC. He clearly done ROC. How he wasn't pulled in for a hearing is amazing!

For all you non Dubs, Charlie Redmond gave an interview with fm104, in which he clearly and coherently talks about bias in which rte presented the game. I felt during the game Dublin were on the wrong end of a lot of cynical stuff. But the way rte portrayed it was Mayo were victims, I couldn't believe the rubbish out of Dolan, O'Rourke, Brolly and Spillane when I watched it back Monday. They crucified Connolly, said nothing about O'Connor when it was clear he was involved in two incidents where he should have walked. The interview is very good. Listen if you get a chance.

Free Diarmuid Connolly! Justice for the wronged ;-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 02/09/2015 19:29:39    1780870

Hill16no1man, i'm not being selective at all. The forum relates to Connolly and that's who i talked about. If O'Connor was in the dock i would be saying ban him too but the fact he isn't the one facing a charge shouldn't, and doesn't exonerate Connolly. He threw a punch, he was seen, it's a red card offence all day long. And to hear someone else talk about 'the level of the strike' is absolutely laughable.............it's still a strike!! Now we have armchair barristers trying to come up with any excuse of an argument just to see him get off. If Connolly was from a smaller county feck all of you would be tripping over yourselves to find an excuse to get him out of trouble. I'll have no sympathy for O'Connor if he too gets brought up, and i'll apply the same mindset to him. But players striking other players on the pitch has to be dealt with properly and when a ref applies a red card for striking or attempted striking, he should be backed by the powers that be and not be made a fool of by seeing his correct decision being blatantly disregarded. Their job is hard enough God knows.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 02/09/2015 19:41:33    1780878

Connolly should have his card lifted------- he deserves a ban but so do others who done similar all through the championship. They all got off so why make an example of one man

But next year all this nonsense has to be sorted out. Some kind of effort has to be taken to clean up the game

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/09/2015 19:49:47    1780887

disillusiondfan
County: Limerick

1780849 Jimbo there is no need for evidence of contact. Attempting to strike ( which is clearly shown) carries the same penalty as striking. However attempting to head butt also carries the same punishment as head butting and Philly MCMahon walked on that one so maybe the dubs have a guardian angel in Croke Park

jasus did you not see the video evidence?,guardian angel my ar-e.For once and for all there was no headbutt or attempted headbutt,oshea is a spoofer.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2015 20:08:34    1780892

kildare73

Hill16no1man, i'm not being selective at all. The forum relates to Connolly and that's who i talked about. If O'Connor was in the dock i would be saying ban him too but the fact he isn't the one facing a charge shouldn't, and doesn't exonerate Connolly. He threw a punch, he was seen, it's a red card offence all day long. And to hear someone else talk about 'the level of the strike' is absolutely laughable.............it's still a strike!! Now we have armchair barristers trying to come up with any excuse of an argument just to see him get off. If Connolly was from a smaller county feck all of you would be tripping over yourselves to find an excuse to get him out of trouble. I'll have no sympathy for O'Connor if he too gets brought up, and i'll apply the same mindset to him. But players striking other players on the pitch has to be dealt with properly and when a ref applies a red card for striking or attempted striking, he should be backed by the powers that be and not be made a fool of by seeing his correct decision being blatantly disregarded. Their job is hard enough God knows.

the fact I say people are being selective is that yes connolly stuck we all know that
but the sunday game panel, hoganstand posters from outside dublin, the newspapers and the CCCC
are all being clearly selective on the incident by completly ignoring o connors involvement
he clearly comes in as the third man in
and clearly with a closed fist punches connolly
you cannot punish one player for doing one thing
and ignore the other player who does the exact same thing
that is what you are doing by suggesting connolly should be suspended
if connolly is suspended the linesman, the CCCC and the CHC are clearly biased
as none of them view a strike by o connor to merit any punishment
therefore connolly cannot be punished for doing the same thing
you dont need to be a barrister to understand a rule

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2015 20:13:18    1780895

SamOnErrigal

1780887 Connolly should have his card lifted------- he deserves a ban but so do others who done similar all through the championship. They all got off so why make an example of one man

But next year all this nonsense has to be sorted out. Some kind of effort has to be taken to clean up the game

Agreed Sam good post

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/09/2015 20:14:10    1780897

Connolly should get off after keane getting his red overturned in the donegal game, both should stand but cccc have made a joke of the appeal system..but connolly has previous incidents and reds and that will not help him..coc supposed punch on connolly is nothin a slap in the ribs, p mcmahons punch on boyle when he won the penalty was far worse..the headbutt wasnt muchin that either..in all the majority of stuff that happened sunday happens in every game but the fact it wasnt a great game football wise these incidents are really the only things people can talk about

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 02/09/2015 20:39:50    1780916

Eh you do know that us dub posters aren't the actual dublin team Mancirish dont ya? How is it taking time away from the preparation? Weird statement.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/09/2015 20:41:36    1780920

All I'm suggesting is that Connolly struck someone, got a red card for it and should have to serve his ban. As I said if O'Connor is cited I'll say the same but is a kids in the school yard argument to say just because one guy wasn't seen at the time then everyone gets off. Sure just tell them it's a free for all then and save everyone the hassle. For what it's worth I can see him getting off, because that seems to be the way things work now.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 02/09/2015 21:08:13    1780927

jayp
I agree that DC should get off
In normal circumstances he should and would be banned But what the GAA have done this year with lifting bans, and indeed last year also how can they now ban DC.
Can anyone on here say that , of all that went on Sunday. DC is the only guilty one. I think it would be a great injustice if the red card is not lifted.
As regards COC I did not see the incident as I watched the game here in London in a pub and also I did not se the SG. To be truthful I did not know what DC got the card for and I was surprised when the ref gave one red and one yellow. Usually in a incident like that both players get the same card.
What I do know about CO C is that in the 2012 all Ireland I thought he was very lucky not to get a red card as he struck Eamonn McGee and indeed it was highlighted on TV
The other big thing is , and there is very little talk about it----- A o Shea saying he was head butted
Seemingly that was not the case. If so is he not in a similar position to T McCann .. Is that not trying to cheat or trying to get a player suspended??
I said about the McCann incident----- nobody should be made an example of , everybody gets the same justice/ penalties suspension or whatever. But no one player should be singled out for different treatment.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 02/09/2015 21:14:58    1780930

We should the outcome of the hearing late tonight or early tomorrow? Is that right?

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 02/09/2015 21:37:21    1780936