Connolly has to get off

I say let them all play the next day out then no team can complain about being hard done by. I wonder if the phones are ringing at croke park with journalists asking for bans on certain players cos in this one it's a case of take yer pick lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 31/08/2015 21:38:09    1779501

I say let them all play the next day out then no team can complain about being hard done by. I wonder if the phones are ringing at croke park with journalists asking for bans on certain players cos in this one it's a case of take yer pick lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 31/08/2015 21:39:17    1779503

I wouldn't bother arguing the case for Connolly only Keane got off for a punch, why are posters ignoring this? How can one punch be a suspension and the other not????? Plus our player was in a headlock what do you want him to do?

This hits the nail on the head. Totally wrong that players get away with correct red card action during playing time but it would be totally incorrect if Connolly didnt receive the same treatment as Keane.

IMO - the GAA is a mess, allot of rules are not clear and when the referee's take the correct action and implement the one's which are clear, then the GAA go against them.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 31/08/2015 21:39:55    1779504

pareidolia". definitely a lot of that going on here and on other thread over the last 24 hours.

O Connor didn't punch Connolly when trying to drag him off Keegan and he didn't intentional go out and do O Carroll either, he swung back when being tugged I've done it and a thousand footballers do it every day they go out. There was nothing intentional in it.

Coopers tackle was bad but has been dealt with so move on while mc Mahon won't be charged either. It's ironic the uproar over the mc Cann incident yet had O Se reacted similarly I'm sure Mc Mahon would be in trouble, talk about double standards and between this and the black card fiasco people wonder why diving and cynicism is more prevalent. For what it's worth both black cards should be rescinded also and the black card consigned to the dust bin once and for all.

I think Connolly will probably get off but shouldn't in my opinion, leave aside what he actually got sent off for there were other incidents such as pinning a mayo player to the ground by the throat and he was basically a powder keg waiting to go off all day and was a hinderance to the dubs. At least 2 if not 3 frees ended up being brought forward because of him. As great a footballer as he is there may be something to be said for Gavin not starting him anyway the next day and trying a different approach.

All this talk of retrospective banning and bringing the game into disrepute is gone too far but it's a case of the GAA reaping what they sow. They were the ones bowing a knee to the outrage of brolly etc over things like Cavanagh which is why we ended up with the fiasco that is the b,ack card which has made the sport actually worse and also bowing to faux outrage from the holier than thou brigade when it came to the mc Cann incident. I said at the time it would open up a can of worms well here we are.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 01/09/2015 08:57:34    1779539

tinrylandman made a great few points. For all the hype this game got, it turned out to be as poor as every ulster championship match the last 5 years apart from down derry a few years back. My future kids will defo be playing hurling

beansycpn (Down) - Posts: 128 - 01/09/2015 09:14:54    1779548

Frees brought forward is a joke of a rule, absolutely no consistency from referees with that rule.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2015 10:08:58    1779596

Dublin appealing Connolly red,now thats a joke..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 01/09/2015 10:46:07    1779642

ziggy32001

Dublin appealing Connolly red,now thats a joke..

Mayo appealed Keane's punch on Murphy so why wouldn't we?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2015 10:56:24    1779656

Frees brought forward is a joke of a rule, absolutely no consistency from referees with that rule.

Between referees no, but the ref Sunday was consistent in his use of the rule. But you are right, it is frustrating when one ref uses this rule and the other doesn't.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 01/09/2015 10:58:33    1779659

I think Dublin are dead right to appeal it, why shouldnt they?

The whole set up is a farce of the GAA's own making, others have taken advantage of the mess thats there so why shouldnt Dublin.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 01/09/2015 11:03:22    1779670

Frees brought forward is a joke of a rule, absolutely no consistency from referees with that rule

I disagree. Surrounding the ref, mouthing at him, not only shows a lack of respect but slows up the play. Brining the ball forward is well justified in those instances.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 01/09/2015 11:03:51    1779671

Appeal away. He shouldn't get off though. He threw a full punch at a guy who he was grappling with on the ground. Keane's fist came forward with minimal force and touched lightly on murphy's face as he was walking away from him. Common sense will tell you that they actually have little in common as regards intent and seriousness.

Also, Im curious as to what exactly got keane off. I seriously doubt they just let him off. There had to be some admin error or something. The fact that it hasn't come out means that it was probably something embarrassing for the gaa. So now we get all this furore because people assume he was just let off, and are understandably annoyed. If the gaa was a bit more transparent we would all be better off.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/09/2015 11:08:23    1779676

Yew tree I agree but does every ref consistently move the ball forward in every game when that is happening? I think we both know they don't.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2015 11:22:40    1779692

I see COC got off and no action on Philly either. Naturally I agree with the latter and disagree with the former as I believe it was a reckless strike that put the welfare of another player in danger. But anyway I am biased for the boys in blue so I would think that anyway.

I'm not sure if Connolly will get off but having reviewed the video footage it is clear that he was wrestled by the neck to the ground and was trying to free himself. Dublin were in the attack mode at the time, so there was a clear black card infringement by Keegan … it is the inconsistency of the black card that is driving everyone mad, well its driving me mad anyway. No black card for the fella that pulled Flynn down (was it Boyle?), none for AOS who pulled Cluxton down as he was trying to launch a quick counter attack. Instead we had a black (correct imo for Bastick) and incorrectly applied to MDM who just fouled a player while trying to dispossess him, absolutely no intention to haul him down. The black card thing is a mess, on Sunday Dublin definitely came out the worst of those decisions - we lost 3 players to none from Mayo. That is simply not fair in a game where there was a lot of unsavoury stuff going on by both teams.

Anyway, I hope Connolly gets his red rescinded, he shouldn't have lashed out like that - according to the rules it is a clear striking offence however he was being head locked and had been fouled and was obviously trying to get free quickly to take part in the Dublin attack. And COC was mouthing off to the ref and linesman trying to get Connolly sent off and I find that a disgusting act of unsporting behaviour so while you are moaning about the Dubs giving out you might want to reflect on that. I don't remember any of our lads trying to get anyone of the Mayo lads sent off like that, nor were they moaning to reporters about phantom head butts and the like.

COC is going to have an "interesting" day next Sat evening I suspect.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 01/09/2015 11:30:34    1779701

Dublin have every right to appeal the decision and personally i hope he can play as would prefer to win or lose against a full team.

Kevin Keane got off his red and Connolly's isn't that different (maybe the force of the blow) why keane got off has never been published has anyone any insight to this?

the problem is the CCC are not consistent and in that respect Connolly has a case. if it was to the letter of the law then both Keane and Connolly should serve a ban.

It's annoying that these incidents take up so much attention due to the shambles that is the CCC

2winjustonce (Mayo) - Posts: 65 - 01/09/2015 11:40:10    1779717

Yew tree I agree but does every ref consistently move the ball forward in every game when that is happening? I think we both know they don't.

Yes, but it is down to the ref then - the rule is there and you are breaking it. It is like speeding in the same area every day and then giving out when you are caught. If you weren't speeding you wouldn't have a problem. Stop mouthing to the ref and there is no issue. I've never seen a ref change his mind yet so really and truly what is the point?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 01/09/2015 11:47:43    1779727

No top team should get more than one free brought on. Once the ref brought on one free the players should keep their mouths shut. Its good rule IMO.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 01/09/2015 11:51:44    1779734

Beacaire Gorm - your interpretation is incredible. How can you allow yourself be so biased?

Firstly, Cillian O'Connor is more than entitled to draw linesman's attention to what Connolly did. But you call it disgusting!! Cooper's lunge on Diarmuid O'Connor is disgusting. McMahon throwing 3 digs into Boyle and he on the ground is disgusting and his dive a disgrace. Addressing the linesman and saying, "He hit him with a closed fist" (or similar) is not disgusting. Who are you trying to cod here?

You are aware you cannot strike a player? Because that's what Cluxton did when he on the ground. It was a strike with the foot - simple as. He didn't push AOS off him with his foot, which I wouldn't even cite, he drew back and kicked him. Not every free is a black card - the AOS tackle on Cluxton certainly isn't.
And it's also very clear that Flynn was tripped on his way to goal in an attempt to get the near hand in. The foot that trips him is a running foot. It's not a black card offence where there was a deliberate or cynical attempt to take him down.

Finally, Connolly wasn't involved in the play so again Keegan's was not a black card offence. He annoyed Connolly and wrestled with him (this is at most a yellow card offence) and Connolly punched him (this is a red card offence). Again some of the justification on here is crazy

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 01/09/2015 12:42:20    1779802

I wonder will Connoly and whoever represent him at his appeal be exposed to the same type of treatment as McCann and Tyrone when they were kept to all hours of the morning. No merit in the appeal anyway!!

mmdtc2011 (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 01/09/2015 12:43:22    1779803

Yes, but it is down to the ref then - the rule is there and you are breaking it. It is like speeding in the same area every day and then giving out when you are caught. If you weren't speeding you wouldn't have a problem. Stop mouthing to the ref and there is no issue. I've never seen a ref change his mind yet so really and truly what is the point?

speeding if your caught huh ??? If your caught speeding your caught end of, but if you mouth to the ref somedays he moves it forward most days he doesn't. Consistency is all were looking for and the peno at the end how he gave that I'll never know Boyle runs into 4 Dublin players and he gives a peno terrible call that would only ever be given against Dublin.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/09/2015 12:58:22    1779825