Connolly has to get off

Connolly shouldn't get off it was a deserved red. However he was being provoked all game linesmen need to step up and protect players from off the ball abuse. The ref can't and shouldn't be expected to see everything.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 31/08/2015 20:00:58    1779390

Connolly get off? ha :)

McMahon,Cooper and Connolly should be suspended..

unbelievable

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/08/2015 20:02:56    1779391

45 Seconds into the following clip.....

Closed fist from Cillian O'Connor. Its a punch.

https://youtu.be/R75mq5ZcYGA

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/08/2015 20:09:41    1779401

ziggy32001

Connolly get off? ha :)
McMahon,Cooper and Connolly should be suspended..
unbelievable

unbeliably blinkered more like it
what about cillian o connor ziggy?
and o shea pulling mcmahon into him?
or keegan stopping connolly run by pulling him to ground?
oh yeah I forgot we close our eyes to that side of it dont we

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 20:21:48    1779412

exactly jayp
a clear strike how anybody cannot see that is totally blinkered
he pulls his arm back and throws his fist into him
i fail to see how that is any different to what connolly did

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 20:24:51    1779415

hillman

pulling a player to the ground,or going into somebody is hardly the same thing!

McMahon - headbutt
Cooper - very dangeroud and sneaky thing to do
Connolly - throwing a punch

Cillian O'Connor? Not known as a dirty player,saw no footage of that incident.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/08/2015 20:29:41    1779420

hillman

are you saying those players should NOT be suspended???

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 31/08/2015 20:30:32    1779421

A couple of the Dub defenders on here have to be wind up merchants. What O'Connor does to Connolly is as much a grab as anything. Ye know yerselves Connolly punches with intent to hurt/ connect or however else you want to term it - it was a blatant punch and deserves a red and subsequent suspension. O'Connor paws at him with the very clear intention of getting him off Keegan. I mean ClondalkinDub, Hill16 etc they're two very different incidents and ye may give it up. Hate to see Connnolly gone but yer defence on here is laughable

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 31/08/2015 20:37:35    1779428

No shouldn't get off, also all the others mentioned from both teams should be looked at by ccc

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/08/2015 20:41:26    1779433

McMahon wasn't a headbutt. Theres footage from the other angle that shows O'Shea dragged him by the collar in an attempt to get him sent off.

O'Connor could be sent off twice. First one is vicious, he knew exactly what he was at. And then had a punch at Connolly on the ground. Fairly conclusive.

Connolly will get a suspension purely because they will want to be seen to be doing something about discipline. Yet Lee Keegan who dragged him to the ground in a headlock will get off lightly. Was Connolly supposed to tickle Lee Keegan to ask him to let him go.

But O'Connor could easily be suspended too on review.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/08/2015 20:42:56    1779434

I think Connolly will get a suspension.

But O'Connor does punch him on the ground. Its a sly devious cowardly hit from the side. But he did punch him

Connolly punched Keegan.....I don't know what else he was supposed to do as the guy had him in a headlock. But he did punch him so will get a ban.

O'Connor should get a ban for leaving Rory O'Carroll with 10 stitches in his eye. And there was nothing accidental about it.

Ban Connolly, but ban O'Connor too.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 31/08/2015 20:46:50    1779439

The funny bit here on this thread is the fear the Dubs are showing.. I couldn't give a toss if all your lads get away with no suspensions the smell of fear from your team in the last 10 & the Dub supporters on here is enough for me...;)

Mayo will win the replay no matter what team the Dubs put out. The fear is there boys you can feeeel it!!!!

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 31/08/2015 20:51:19    1779443

Why is Connolly allowing himself to be put in this position? Fair enough he was targeted but he's been in this situation before and clearly hasn't learned. Teams know they can get a reaction out of him.

The only thing Connolly can do in that situation is try to avoid any altercation. If he gets involved he has to keep his hands to himself.

If it was any other Dublin forward, Brogan, Kilkenny, Andrews, I could sort of defend them by saying it's out of character, first time offender. But Connolly could nearly be suspended for silliness alone. The guy will not learn and yesterday only reminded every other team in the country of this.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 31/08/2015 21:10:13    1779464

You can smell fear through your television and computer screen all the way over in the UK???
Have you checked your bathroom??

Neither team covered themselves in glory but O'Connor must be banned for what he did. You don't inflict that much damage by 'rea ching out' as one poster put it.
The way I read it, Dublin players were infuriated that COC in flicts that much damage right in front of the umpires and was seen to get away with it.THey should not have allowed themselves to get sucked into that nonsense. AO'Shea has questions to answer for trying to get a man sent off for allegedly head butting him when all that video clip clearl;y shows that MacMahon was pulled towards O'Se. If that is the case that is despicable.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 31/08/2015 21:13:27    1779467

I wouldn't bother arguing the case for Connolly only leave got off for a punch, why are posters ignoring this? How can one punch be a suspension and the other not????? Plus our player was in a headlock what do you want him to do?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 21:14:18    1779472

Shpuld get off when you consider that keane got off his one which was far more clear cut..

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 31/08/2015 21:18:19    1779477

no offence but some of this tripe that the Dublin posters are putting up here is embarrassing, look people cannot have it both ways like any argument take yourself out of the bubble and look in from the oppositions perspective.. if this was Paul Galvin or Tomás O'Se like in 2010 tough luck.. do the crime be man enough to pay the penalty, what example are Dublin or any county giving to openly appeal acts of thuggery looking for loop holes or some administrative error in the report to get the ruling overturned... Cork were at it for years with Frank Murphy and lots of Dublin supporters were up in arms whats the difference here, look if you are stupid enough and yes I do mean stupid enough to throw a slap with a million cameras on you will then you deserve it.. being honest Connolly deserves it, McMahon will be lucky not to be cited as will Cian O'Çonner.. but of all of them the worse act of the lot was Johnny Cooper, his stud rake on Cian O'Neill deserved red... McMahon shouldn't get anything but Johnny is luck he got a yellow as otherwise he would be cited agin

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 31/08/2015 21:20:25    1779478

Apparently neither McMahon or O'Connor will face amy punishment. Right decision on both counts in my opinion.

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/there-is-very-good-news-for-both-dublin-and-mayo-tonight/307016?utm_campaign=twitter&utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitter

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 21:29:15    1779492

I wouldn't bother arguing the case for Connolly only Keane got off for a punch, why are posters ignoring this? How can one punch be a suspension and the other not????? Plus our player was in a headlock what do you want him to do?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 21:32:23    1779495

Horsebox77

no offence but some of this tripe that the Dublin posters are putting up here is embarrassing, look people cannot have it both ways like any argument take yourself out of the bubble and look in from the oppositions perspective.. if this was Paul Galvin or Tomás O'Se like in 2010 tough luck.. do the crime be man enough to pay the penalty, what example are Dublin or any county giving to openly appeal acts of thuggery looking for loop holes or some administrative error in the report to get the ruling overturned... Cork were at it for years with Frank Murphy and lots of Dublin supporters were up in arms whats the difference here, look if you are stupid enough and yes I do mean stupid enough to throw a slap with a million cameras on you will then you deserve it.. being honest Connolly deserves it, McMahon will be lucky not to be cited as will Cian O'Çonner.. but of all of them the worse act of the lot was Johnny Cooper, his stud rake on Cian O'Neill deserved red... McMahon shouldn't get anything but Johnny is luck he got a yellow as otherwise he would be cited agin

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 31/08/2015 21:33:11    1779496