Connolly has to get off

Lads some of ye are clutching some serious straws here, I'd like to see Connolly playing next week but you cannot compare his strike to COC's. He had a man pinned on the ground and took a clear swing, it was a move you would see in MMA. COC could be interpreted as striking but he looks like he just threw out his arms to let Rory O Carroll release him.

McMahon should hope he is banned because he should be embarrassed to go out and play next week with the way he carried on all game. Diving, headbutting, sledging (along with Paul Flynn) all through.

The most man who should be suspended is Johnny Cooper for his horrible Alf Inge Haaland style tackle on Diarmuid O Connor, an inch or two lower and he leg could have been broke.

tyrooney (Tyrone) - Posts: 18 - 31/08/2015 18:14:23    1779291

Both teams are in the wrong here, suspensions will just cause mayhem, and endless debate regardless of who wins the replay....
Next Saturday's replay should and will go ahead without any suspensions imposed,
both teams battle it out again with the same players and the best team wins,
This is the fairest conclusion

ulleJ1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 18 - 31/08/2015 18:15:00    1779293

If there's ANY doubt with the McMahon incident then you cannot find him guilty. Connelly's I think looks more clear cut.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 31/08/2015 18:18:51    1779294

Hi Lads,

Having looked over the footage of to COC/ROC incident again ( and again), while you could make a case for it being unintentional, this I think has no bearing on whether he should have got the line or not.

Red card offences as follows:
1. Striking or attempting to strike with arm, elbow, hand, knee or head.
2. Kicking or attempting to kick with minimal force or with force or causing injury.
3. Behaving in any way which is dangerous to an opponent.
4. Spitting at an opponent.
5. Contributing to a melee.
6. Stamping.
7. Inflicting injury recklessly.
8. Abusive language towards a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Official.
These are unchanged.

By my reckoning COC could have easily got the line for 1 or 3 above. If a player recieving 10 stitches isnt dangerous, then what is? If his jersey is being pulled, then surely its the linesmans job to pick up on this? Free in to Mayo?

I'm sure the dubs seeing their full back get a dig and having to be subbed, with no sanction of any kind, well, worked them up. Ref should have taken control of the match early. Failure to stamp his authority on the game, resulted in no small part it decending into farce.....

Hard to see all the off the ball incidents in this match on the telly, there was so many. But I saw nothing I liked here, was watching it with my 5-yr old, hard to explain to him what was going on. If next match is the same, I think we might skip it, hes better off not seeing that.

Think I'll stick to the small ball game, at least the replay will take the media spotlight of the galway lads for the main event next weekend!

bxc (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 31/08/2015 18:46:05    1779318

Muck I can't stand 15 players in there own half hand passing the ball around all day boring us to death, physical defenders I've no problem with , I was Keane's biggest backer after his punch on Murphy and I'm backing Connolly as well what's he suppose to do when he's in a headlock like that for all we know he could of being choked and had no option.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 18:55:21    1779324

tyrooney

what about o connors strike on conolly in the same incident
very biased opinions on here from people
saying it was ok for o connor to lash out as he was being held
but not ok for connolly to lash out when he was being held too
you cannot run with the hare and hunt with the hound
connolly had one incident
o connor had two clear incidents
yet mcstay didnt even mention o connor in the connolly incident

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 18:57:53    1779326

Agree with Clondalkin Dub.Connolly should be allowed play but he wont. He'll be suspended for the sake of politics because if he was cleared it would be perceived as a case of the GAA favouring Dublin again. Btw I was cheering for Mayo yesterday and will do so again nxt Saturday.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 31/08/2015 19:10:47    1779334

what about o connors strike on conolly in the same incident
very biased opinions on here from people
saying it was ok for o connor to lash out as he was being held
but not ok for connolly to lash out when he was being held too
you cannot run with the hare and hunt with the hound
connolly had one incident
o connor had two clear incidents
yet mcstay didnt even mention o connor in the connolly incident

I'm not Kevin McStay! I clearly mentioned COC's incident in my original comment, I said it could be interpreted as a strike but could not be compared to Connolly. Connolly had Keegan pinned to the floor when he intentionally swung and struck (what happened in lead up to them wrestling is a separate matter and Keegan should have probably got black card, Connolly deservedly got send off for his strike). I honestly don't know how you can see anything different?! Also Cooper should have got red.

tyrooney (Tyrone) - Posts: 18 - 31/08/2015 19:19:21    1779346

Personally, I do not want any suspensions. I am looking forward to the replay, each team having a full complement. I know this is wrong and sends the wrong message but.........

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 31/08/2015 19:20:30    1779349

Connolly was the 1 that inishated contact Pushed Keegan twice and then they both came to gather and went to ground Grasping at straws saying maybe he was been chocked

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 31/08/2015 19:23:34    1779350

Agree that neither team was guilt free yesterday but anyone saying they were both as culpable seriously needs to seek professional help. Yes, Mayo were not sin free but some of the stuff Dublin perpetrated was of a far more sinister variety and there were far more instances of that kind from Dublin.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 31/08/2015 19:25:45    1779353

tyrooney

im not talking about o connors strike on o carroll
im talking about o connors punch on connolly
he clearly runs in as a third man into the connolly keegan incident
and punches connolly and then signals to the linesman trying to get connolly sent off

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 19:28:13    1779355

O Connnor doesn't strike Connolly but does try to drag him off.

http://www.joe.ie/sport/video-fan-captures-the-clearest-footage-yet-of-diarmuid-connollys-bust-up-with-lee-keegan/510234

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 31/08/2015 19:33:12    1779360

Nobody wants suspensions,but rules are rules and any blackgarding on the pitch deserves to be dealt with in the appropriate manner.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/08/2015 19:33:18    1779361

Lads who are trying to explain the wrongs of the Dublin panel to the Dublin soccer sorry gaa followers don't bother.
The rest of Ireland just has to accept there's 1 rule for the Dubs & another for the rest of us poor souls... #ComeOnLads

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 31/08/2015 19:46:42    1779373

The player that deserves to miss out the next day is cooper, the player that probably will is Connolly. The rest of the incidents can be argued either way re intention.
Unfortunate as it will just act further encouragement to cynically target the best players by fair means or foul

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 31/08/2015 19:48:27    1779375

Ah here, if you are calling that a strike I give up. Take off your Dud tinted glasses, if you are calling COC's a strike then you could at least condemn some of the Dubs actions first.

tyrooney (Tyrone) - Posts: 18 - 31/08/2015 19:51:23    1779376

tearintom
County: Wexford

O Connnor doesn't strike Connolly but does try to drag him off.

a blind man can see that
his right hand goes back then hits him
he then signals to the linesman to try get connolly sent off

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 19:52:33    1779377

Bored to death with all this now.

Going off line till Sat evening when I have no doubt a whole new array of pantomime villians, unsporting behaviour & hopefully some thrills will be on display.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/08/2015 19:53:20    1779378

AGAIN ???

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 31/08/2015 19:54:38    1779380