Connolly has to get off

Bravo snuffy bravo!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2015 17:03:17    1779219

he pulled him in ... OK he pulled him in .... but he still threw a headbutt

that is the most pathetic excuse Ive ever heard trying to defend a head butt ... Seriously is that the defense for it

I suppose cooper was entitled to follow through because DOC had kicked the ball away quicker than expected ??!

AH man some of the excuses here are giving me a great laugh

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 31/08/2015 17:09:37    1779225

As a neutral I thought Dublin were completely focused on stopping O'Shea by any means yesterday. I felt a bit sorry for him as the Dubs were clearly goading him and getting in his face. That can't be easy, when lads are saying things to get at you and all you want to do is make a tomato of their face. AOS kept on smiling and kept on trying.

I thought there was a lot of maggott acting on both sides. Add in the way camera can get stills and it all reminds me of the 1983 Final all over again. There's a photo of Diarmuid Connolly today mashing someone's head into the ground. This lad is a class act as a footballer. He shouldn't have to be doing this type of thing. But he more than likely got plenty of hits himself & probably felt frustrated as the 4th day of constipation.

I genuinely hope both teams give it everything in the replay and focus less on the man and more on the ball. While yesterday was enthralling, both of these sides are capable of high speed football that makes the game fantastic to watch. As amateur sportsmen the work they have put in to get this far is huge and no doubt neither wants to lose especially given how they both lost the semi finals last year, but who knows, a few early scores and it could be free flowing. If not and they get even worse than yesterday it could be like a game of snap with hatchets. Keep the fingers back from the table and only put out the hand if you are sure.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 31/08/2015 17:22:00    1779235

Like a number of Mayo posters I'd have no problem with Connolly getting off. I was at the match yesterday. It was an entertaining encounter. Both teams giving it everything they have got. Very disappointed in SG negative analysis. Very difficult for ref. There was only one major incident I thought was missed i.e. Cooper. So let them at it again next Saturday I'd say the new ref will probably be more strict and both teams will respond to that.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 31/08/2015 17:22:10    1779236

he pulled him in ... OK he pulled him in .... but he still threw a headbutt

Would you go away with yourself! He wasn't going near him with the head, the only reason his head was going in the direction of O'Shea's was because O'Shea pulled him in to him!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 17:29:38    1779240

i don't what's in the water or in the air in Dublin but it has them to some what quote Christy Moore seeing things that never happened
Connolly clearly comes up behind Keegan and pushes him in the back he then does it again That's when Keegan stops grabs him and both go to ground To say that O'Connor punched Connolly you'd need to be smoking crack Dublin came out to rough up Mayo and came off second best Rory O Carroll pulling and dragging O'Connor and in his attempt to get free he hits him in the head Quit with the crap and he wouldn't get 10 stitches

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 31/08/2015 17:31:52    1779241

http://www.livegaelic.com/features/new-angle-of-mcmahon-oshea-headbutt-casts-different-light/

Wow great move by O Shea he actually pulls Philly towards him to make it look like a Headbutt honestly I'm clapping here outstanding from the big man.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 17:33:32    1779242

http://www.livegaelic.com/features/new-angle-of-mcmahon-oshea-headbutt-casts-different-light/

Wow great move by O Shea he actually pulls Philly towards him to make it look like a Headbutt honestly I'm clapping here outstanding from the big man.

I think the sheer stupidity of him actually stating in his post match interview that he was headbutted deserves more of an applause!! Talk about walking yourself into the firing line!!!!!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 17:36:11    1779245

i wonder will kevin mcstay be as quick to put the boot into o shea now that he was clearly looking to
get phily mcmahon sent off as the video shows

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 17:36:20    1779246

Connolly is a class player but a strike is a strike provocation or not.
If it is rescinded then it makes a joke of the whole system.
I do feel for him as Keegan has form for that type of antagonist behavior.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/08/2015 17:36:44    1779247

westkerry

Connolly is a class player but a strike is a strike provocation or not.
If it is rescinded then it makes a joke of the whole system.
I do feel for him as Keegan has form for that type of antagonist behavior.

I completely agree with you but Keane got off for the same thing so the CCCC can't be hypocrites

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 31/08/2015 17:40:16    1779251

Clondalkin I agree but what's the point of having a punishment if it keeps getting rescinded?
I think his previous incidents may stand against him and the red against Donegal in 2011 which was overturned.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 31/08/2015 17:45:58    1779258

Ah lads stop the rubbish with Roc pulling and dragging as if he's the only player to do this every defender on both sides was at that all game and personally I'd be disappointed if my defenders weren't at that off the ball

clondalkin, you never cease to amaze me!!

Can this be the man who berated all & sundry about "muck" football now telling us that he would be disappointed if his players, Clondalkin ladies U 14s, weren't at it? If you really believe that then you can have no complaint about O'Connor taking steps to deal with it in the way he did.

You can't run with the hare & the hound.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/08/2015 17:48:24    1779260

Mcmahon attempted to headbutt o'shea end of. You can sugar coat it all you want but that is what happened. He also fouled Boyle for penalty which was crazy because he was going nowhere. As for connolly, well it's same old story with him. Lost the head and punched a man on the ground. Just because he was provoked doesn't excuse it. He should be well able to take a bit of that stuff like all the greats have down through the years. You wouldn't see the Gooch at that rubbish and he got enough of rough treatment down through the years.

jj72 (Kildare) - Posts: 53 - 31/08/2015 17:49:22    1779262

DC has no comeback under the rules of the game and his ban should stand. But COC, should also face a ban. Intentional or not, to throw a closed fist back with enough for to cause an injury that requires 10 stiches is at worst vicious at best dangerous play. Either way a suspension should follow.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 31/08/2015 17:51:27    1779264

Mcmahon attempted to headbutt o'shea end of.

Eh, no he didn't. End of. Watch the video in slow mo if you're struggling to see the obvious.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 17:51:30    1779265

CroiGorm

I think the sheer stupidity of him actually stating in his post match interview that he was headbutted deserves more of an applause!! Talk about walking yourself into the firing line!!!!!

----
O'Shea should hang his head in shame for that comment. He clearly drags McMahon to him and then claims that he was headbutted. For him to then go to the media stating that he was headbutted is shameful. Should that not be categorised as a deliberate attempt to have a man sent off?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 17:53:46    1779268

O'Shea has let himself down big time with his allegation that he was head butted.

He wasn't & it's plain to see that he wasn't.

Yet another incident to add to the roll of shame in a truly terrible display of sportsmanship by both teams.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/08/2015 18:02:41    1779280

laughable the logic been used over what happened yesterday, this is the sort of thing that is wrong with the gaa
its only going to get a lot worse, managers, county boards and some fans are only enabling it with some twisted logic
why would players stop if they keeping getting way with it/ not getting punished/banned

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 31/08/2015 18:03:57    1779283

watch the incident in slow motion! ya, next you'll be telling us to watch the footage from the grassy knowel in slow mo, doesn't matter as McMahon done enough through the game to have walked

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 31/08/2015 18:09:00    1779288