Connolly has to get off

I like the idea cited above that it is acceptable to throw one punch to defend yourself. It's hard to keep up with the rule changes.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/08/2015 15:34:36    1779103

mickcunningham
The Gaa may or may not be driven by money but one thing is for sure that irrespective of who wins the replay there will be a full house for the final. Mayo v Kerry or Dublin v Kerry the "Full House" signs will up on September 19th.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 31/08/2015 15:38:14    1779106

Hill 16, Jaden and Croi Gorm - if ye call what O'Connor did when dragging Connolly off Keegan a punch then ye're clutching at straws. Connolly draws back and punches, I saw O'Connor grab twice - the second time he touches him is the closest to a punch. And don't forget that the new angle is excellent but it shows that Keegan was even more innocent than what we first saw by the TV cameras.

And just so ye're clear - Cluxton kicked O'Shea in the first half. Completely unprovoked. A good hard bit of pressure from O'Shea, both go to ground and Cluxton kicks him. Nope, Dublin should not getting away with 'both teams at it malarkey'. From the TV angles - the indiscipline was firmly in your court

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 31/08/2015 15:59:35    1779129

Lads come on there is trying to justify Connoly punching keegan as defence, as mentioned earlier this link clears it up
http://www.livegaelic.com/features/the-clearest-angle-of-the-connolly-red-card-incident-yet/?utm_content=buffer74c0c&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Connoly started it just as much if probably not more than keegan, A punch in self defense is one thing but the definition of self defence is being stretched abit to far when Connoly was on top and clearly holds on longer than Keegan. The only possible way he will get off is on a technicality.

Mayofc (Mayo) - Posts: 95 - 31/08/2015 16:10:09    1779140

@wicklu:

Specsavers Opticians Bray
72 Main St
Bray
Open until 6:00 p.m - Off you go.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 31/08/2015 16:13:20    1779146

Lads come on there is trying to justify Connoly punching keegan as defence, as mentioned earlier this link clears it up
http://www.livegaelic.com/features/the-clearest-angle-of-the-connolly-red-card-incident-yet/?utm_content=buffer74c0c&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer

Connoly started it just as much if probably not more than keegan, A punch in self defense is one thing but the definition of self defence is being stretched abit to far when Connoly was on top and clearly holds on longer than Keegan. The only possible way he will get off is on a technicality.

Mayofc (Mayo) - Posts: 95 - 31/08/2015 16:16:20    1779151

I wouldn't be surprised if Conolly got off, I don't think he should by the way but it wouldn't surprise me as the GAA discipline system is now akin to an episode of Fawlty Towers. One thing for sure though both Johnny Cooper and Philly McMahon need sanction, two players I both admire and appreciate from a skill and ability point of view but what they were at yesterday is beyond me, players of such ability do not need to go down that road

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 16:16:32    1779152

The video on livegaelic is pretty conclusive. Keegan first obstructs Connolly, then he grabs him around the neck and pulls him down ob top of him, all with the sole intention if getting DC sent off, i don't think Connolly even punched him at all. I'd love Keegan to get an 8 week ban, even if they recind it. It's the only way to cut this cr@p out

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 31/08/2015 16:19:11    1779154

Two points:

1. All acknowledge that "both teams were at it", yet we only have mayo men working overtime with the media telling tales to point out 'what happened to them'! Smacks of unmanliness! The game is over.....!!!!

2. If half the Dublin team get suspended, I could not give a damn! We will win the replay with some to spare and it will make it all the more sweeter to remind those from mayo who worked overtime telling kiddies tales to the media!

3. Suspensions for Dublin will get the rest of the lads backs and there will be a price for mayo to pay! And 'PAY' they will, in good order.....AGAIN!!!!.....and we'll put our arm around them leaving the pitch....'AGAIN'!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 31/08/2015 16:19:33    1779155

Wicklu thats the problem. You had to have been there to see all the off the ball stuff.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/08/2015 16:21:48    1779158

That video didn't clear it up. If anything it makes me more sympathetic to DC. I seriously doubt LK was not getting stuck in. DC was prevented from getting up.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 31/08/2015 16:23:01    1779161

COCs dig was intentional too, the angle on livegaelic shows it clearly, the force he puts into the actual dig cab be seen, I've given and been given enough of those digs to know it was meant, although I wouldn't think he meant to do quite that amount of damage

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 31/08/2015 16:25:10    1779164

I wouldn't be surprised if Conolly got off, I don't think he should by the way but it wouldn't surprise me as the GAA discipline system is now akin to an episode of Fawlty Towers. One thing for sure though both Johnny Cooper and Philly McMahon need sanction, two players I both admire and appreciate from a skill and ability point of view but what they were at yesterday is beyond me, players of such ability do not need to go down that road

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 16:25:33    1779166

Good lad - good job defending your point of view. I can see perfectly what the camera allows us to see. With all the angles I interpret that what Connolly did is in a different league to what O'Connor did. Simple as. You do know he was looking at and signalling to the linesman when he acted? You also know that the linesman suggested Connolly get sent off and that O'Connor remain unmentioned based on what he saw?
Pity Connolly won't be allowed play because it's a lesser game without him there but I can't believe some posters are defending and then suggesting that what O'Connor did was the same. Dublin got the benefit of the doubt too many times yesterday - not that they're a dirty team but fans are gonna have to accept the consequences if the players make certain choices on the pitch

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 31/08/2015 16:26:51    1779168

Why do posters keep saying that Dublin are not a dirty team if so many of their players are involved in such unsavoury incidents?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/08/2015 16:45:53    1779191

Ah Snuff, I couldn't have put it better myself !!!!! well said !!!

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 31/08/2015 16:51:55    1779198

I genuinely hope he gets off . we were in the same situation only a few weeks ago with Kevin Keane.

Connolly punch however did have more in it that Keanes never the less there was a battle all day with himself and keegan.

McMahon on the other hand deserves everything he gets and johnny cooper tackle on DOC was a DISGRACE

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 31/08/2015 16:52:17    1779199

neverright
County: Roscommon

1779191 Why do posters keep saying that Dublin are not a dirty team if so many of their players are involved in such unsavoury incidents?

In all fairness yesterdays match was the exception rather than the norm for Dublin.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 31/08/2015 16:52:48    1779200

Snufalufagus

Two points:

1. All acknowledge that "both teams were at it", yet we only have mayo men working overtime with the media telling tales to point out 'what happened to them'! Smacks of unmanliness! The game is over.....!!!!

2. If half the Dublin team get suspended, I could not give a damn! We will win the replay with some to spare and it will make it all the more sweeter to remind those from mayo who worked overtime telling kiddies tales to the media!

3. Suspensions for Dublin will get the rest of the lads backs and there will be a price for mayo to pay! And 'PAY' they will, in good order.....AGAIN!!!!.....and we'll put our arm around them leaving the pitch....'AGAIN'!!!

Im saving this !!!!!!!

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 31/08/2015 16:56:59    1779206

McMahon on the other hand deserves everything he gets

Even though footage is out there that shows O'Shea pull him in to the headbutt?

http://www.livegaelic.com/features/new-angle-of-mcmahon-oshea-headbutt-casts-different-light/

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 17:01:16    1779213