Connolly has to get off

Well that's it, game on boys and girls. It was the right decision in the end. I just hope the ref will keep an eye on the persistent fouling from O'Shea and o'connor during the game. No doubt they'll be going out of their way to get players sent off again.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 05/09/2015 08:04:12    1782434

Diarmuid Connolly suspension lifted. Cleared to play. Proper order.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7347 - 05/09/2015 08:06:10    1782438

Justice.

Disgraceful the way Dublin were treated.

O'Connor no ban!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 05/09/2015 08:12:53    1782439

Connolly cleared to play. Correct decision. Hope he runs riot today

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/09/2015 08:18:15    1782441

MaigheoAbu
County: Mayo

I'm sick of this negative vibe towards Cillian O'Connor. One of the finest footballers in the country and very clean to boot. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is this the same clean boot he used at the end of the Kerry v Mayo match last year? Or did I misread why he got a red?

So Connolly is off. As I think alot expected. Once Keane was let off this is the mess it has created. Neither should of had their suspensions lifted. And I still don't know why either has. People may say the severity of DCs strike was more than that of Keanes but to me it makes no odds. The rules are clear:

Category iii (i) Striking or attempting to strike with arm, elbow, hand or knee. (ii) Striking or attempting to strike with a hurley, with minimal force. (iii) Kicking or attempting to kick, with minimal force.

All red card infractions.

So it doesn't matter whether the two lads swung and missed or broke bones with their strike. Under the rules both deserved red. Both should have been suspended.

Hopefully after this championship has concluded the hierarchy of the gaa will come out with a strong statement (at congress or otherwise) and get its house in order. Diving and sledging may be harder to police as one is hard to prove (sledging) and one needs added stronger punishment and the ability to punish retrospectively (diving). But striking offences should not have grey areas.

Best of luck to both teams hopefully after all is said and done this evening it will be football we are talking about.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 05/09/2015 08:19:11    1782442

So Connolly is cleared to play. No problem with that but there will be absolute uproar when the next player red carded anywhere fails in an appeal. Not sure where the GAA go now with their disciplinary procedures. Whole system is a total mess but in this case you have to feel happy for DC, just hope he has an off day!!

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 05/09/2015 08:24:21    1782443

Joxer the only thing that was Tiernan Mc Cann territory was Philly Mc Mahons shameful dive. Although I do agree with you that what's been done to Connolly is simply unfair.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/09/2015 08:35:09    1782446

The correct decision was arrived at last night, where the blunder was was during the week. Had a few players been suspended ( maybe around four) during the week then there might have been no outcry. But to single out one and make an example of him is wrong.
D C done wrong, most people on here knows that but what about three or four others who done similar?
Technology must be introduced, it has to be to aid refs and the GAA must have in place an option to review all incidents that happened in any game, even if the ref has already dealt with it.
But the GAA have made a circus of the whole issue of cards and discipline
The other thing I have to say is the uproar over the S Cavanagh foul two years ago on C McManus but where is the uproar over last Sunday , one of the Most cynical games with so many dangerous tackles that I saw in a long time. I can't see it much better this afternoon with so much bad blood and I don't envy E Kinsella
As regards C o Connor and the Mayo poster I can't see how you can say he is a very clean player, what about all the incidents he was involved Sunday.
I know he was being held on to by ROC but didn't L Keegan do the same to D C plus COC seemed to throw a punch on DC and I'm not the only one saying that. Did he not get red carded against Kerry last year and if you go back to the 2012 All Ireland final he punched E McGee but was lucky and got no card( should have been red)

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 05/09/2015 08:52:34    1782449

Well, it seems Connolly got off. All these appeals are giving players a licence to act like thugs without fear of consequence!

Keegan has 'previous' as well and got away with this after an appeal last year,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzOSCSupvzE

MaigheoAbu, Cillian O Connor is an angel alright.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvbv8vDiBuk

top_corner (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 05/09/2015 08:54:24    1782450

a disgrace hes playing today.the gaa is a shambles

7...stars (Meath) - Posts: 12 - 05/09/2015 09:05:04    1782451

The fact is on precedent alone he deserved to get off. Not because he somehow done nothing as some bizarrely claim but because we can't have one rule for one and one for another.

Best of luck to him, it makes today's game even more intriguing and I'm glad that there can be no excuses after this one.

I'll say one thing though, the whole diciplinary procedure is some farce at this stage in fact coupled with the farcical black card which certain top GAA people still bizarrely think is a good idea is it any wonder referees and good ones are hard to come by. Who would be bothered with it, it's an impossible job to begin with made harder by the farce of a black card and ultimately whatever decisions they make get overturned anyway.

Why again did the ,ad have to be kept there till 2.30 am to make this decision. Beggars belief, The GAA need to do some serious should searching once this championship ends because it's been a disaster and one of the GAAs own making.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 05/09/2015 09:14:38    1782457

Proper order restored.Should never have been banned in the first place when Keegan and Cillain O' Connor weren't banned for their part in the very same incident.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 05/09/2015 09:20:28    1782460

I can't believe this, the GAA have showered themselves in glory again this week, between tickets fiasco and this we're a laughing stock

An_Oifigeach (Meath) - Posts: 220 - 05/09/2015 09:20:48    1782461

Connolly may have been unfortunate to be the only player suspended but that's no excuse to let him off, it's a complete fcukin joke to be honest, the Gaa are a shambles. This isn't exactly going to do much to incentivize good behaviour either, both Dublin and Mayo will take to the pitch today knowing that they can more or less do whatever they want and so what if they get a straight red, they'll still be available for the final if they win.

Ps, there should now be no bans for straight reds what so ever, how the hell can you credibly ban anyone after continuously letting players off!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2015 09:21:26    1782462

Pathetic and weak - the gaa right now.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/09/2015 09:24:47    1782465

Not as many 'just get on with' posts :)

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 05/09/2015 09:25:34    1782467

Lee Keegan got his red rescinded last year as well as Kevin Keane this year. Both ridiculous decisions also. Mayo can't complain.

fielder (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 05/09/2015 09:30:03    1782469

Statement below on GAA website:

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/daily-news/2/0509150928-dra-statement-regarding-connolly-v-chc-and-cac/

Kind regards,

High_Road (Dublin) - Posts: 2 - 05/09/2015 09:39:52    1782484

SamandLiamsoon

"Category iii (i) Striking or attempting to strike with arm, elbow, hand or knee. (ii) Striking or attempting to strike with a hurley, with minimal force. (iii) Kicking or attempting to kick, with minimal force."

You forgot to mention the "exceptions" part of the rule, whereby the rule doesn't actually apply;

Exception 1: "Arra shur twas only a little tap."

Exception 2: "It was out of character, he's not usually that type of player."

Exception 3: "We're after letting one of their lads off, we'll have to let this lad off now aswell".

Exception 4: "Lads, we can't have (insert high profile player's name) suspended for an All-Ireland semi-final, are ye mad?"

Exception 5: "If we let him play, they'll stop pestering us with these fecking appeals".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 05/09/2015 09:44:43    1782492

Gaa needs to get in lawyers after Allireland final and make changes to rule book or every big game will have red card decisions overturned as we have already seen with Keane and Keegan . Although this hearing is more a court case and they will have to give a written explanation as to their decision, the other two processes didnt.
Connolly and Keegan to embrace again I'm sure after the long week they can't wait to catch up and talk about what has gone on.
Has to be good for the neutral to watch ;

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/09/2015 09:54:50    1782509