Connolly has to get off

Well he's gone for Sunday - Think we're in trouble now

Dublinlass (Dublin) - Posts: 11 - 03/09/2015 08:11:37    1780962

Diarmuid will miss the game:

[url=]http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2015/0902/725295-dublin/

Can't argue with the decision. Still stings though. Again, a lack of deal direction and consistency is creating unnecessary fallout.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 03/09/2015 08:35:38    1780966

DC sacrificed so that the appeals committee can save face in light of all of the other fiascos this year. In fairness he was guilty but how COC has not been brought to task for any of...

- the ROC elbow
- the Connolly punch (now proven with that photo doing the rounds)
- the constant talking to officials

I can only guess that because he got MOTM that the powers that be don't want to show the analysts up for voting for him.

Still DC deserved to walk for reacting to Keegan and Mayo are now the victors here. It's another psychological win for them.

I can perhaps see Alan B or Kevin Mc starting now but DC is the most talented footballer in the country and a huge loss.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2015 08:39:55    1780967

What basis have they to appeal it though? He punched someone,its a red card offense..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/09/2015 08:53:42    1780970

SamOnErrigal - Your logic around AOS being mentioned in the same breath as the Tiernan McCann incident is outrageous. Massive difference between the reaction of AOS who was clearly headbutted by Philly but didnt go down holding his head or try and pester the referee and Tiernan McCann who threw himself to the ground to engineer a red card despite only getting his hair ruffled. Massive difference between what actually happened in the incident and the reaction of the players.
Connolly is out now after the CHC rejected the appeal and could probably have seen him getting off with it. I think there was too many incidents on Sunday for the GAA not to punish someone and unfortunately for Dublin Connollys was the most clear cut of those

Gilly89 (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 03/09/2015 08:56:02    1780973

The hearings committee were never going to overturn it , it's the CCCC that overturned Keane's red card so nothing changes.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/09/2015 09:05:15    1780977

The GAA have made a mess of all the big issues this year .

Keane got off for striking but Connolly doesn't . I cannot figure it out .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/09/2015 09:07:17    1780978

first appeal rejected and rightly so
do dublin fans think every time he does something he should get off? after all its not the first time?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 03/09/2015 09:18:40    1780981

Justice done

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 03/09/2015 09:30:53    1780984

He did'nt get off.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 03/09/2015 09:32:43    1780987

I would have thought Connolly had a good chance of getting off after the precedent had been set by Kevin Keane getting his red card rescinded. I am not saying he should get off but again we have no consistency with the rules which drives everybody mad. Have the GAA explained the decisions?

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 03/09/2015 09:38:15    1780992

So Connolly's ban stands for now, it could and only go that way really.
I half get why the Dubs would appeal but it was so black and white just get on with it take your medicine and teach MR C to cope himself on…

So all this time Jackeen I had you down as Jim Gavin just goes to show how you can get things wrong doesn't it……lol The time wasted I was indicating to was how the team will set up and play without Connolly…. He is your best player and such an important part of your team. 6 days to the replay and your not sure what selections are available to you will affect your planning and training. He is a crucial cog in the Dublin wheel and a tough 1 to replace, if it I was Jim… I'd want as much time as possible to try and come up with a fix but hey what would I know…;)

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 03/09/2015 09:42:56    1780996

Gilly89 you just said mcmahon clearly headbutted AOS?? The mind boggles.. go look at some footage.

Let's move on from the Diarmo charge lads, he is gone end of.. The system is hugely flawed and needs sorting for next year

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 03/09/2015 09:46:50    1780999

Keane should never have got off..
Darren Hughes should have..
Connolly didn't deserve to get off

1 from 3 in the last 3 weeks for the CCCC/CHC.. its a lottery

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 03/09/2015 09:55:33    1781004

Only one team came to play football last Sunday and they end up with a banned player. Dublin will just have to do what they do best on Saturday and not let Mayo drag the game into a fist fight again. COYBIB!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 03/09/2015 09:55:37    1781005

The successful appeals by Connolly (2011) and Keane (2015) were both ruled on by the Central Hearings Committee. The same Central Hearings Committee upheld Connolly's one match ban last night. Although he can still appeal to Central Appeals Committee and the Disputes Resolution Committee, it's unlikely Connolly will get off.

I wonder who pays for all these Committee's?

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 03/09/2015 10:01:21    1781010

pdempsey maybe the GAA could ask the Dub ticket touts for a cut of their profits...

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 03/09/2015 10:09:09    1781020

Only one team came to play football last Sunday and they end up with a banned player. Dublin will just have to do what they do best on Saturday and not let Mayo drag the game into a fist fight again. COYBIB!

That's funny if one team did not come to play football I would have said it was Dublin and it was them who dragged the game down but there you go. While I didn't think he deserved to get off, it again shows serious inconsistency after Keane getting off. Nothing is going to be changed this year, but the GAA needs to have a serious look at the rule book as there has been nothing but talk about refereeing decisions this year.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 03/09/2015 10:22:35    1781039

Bullshit yesmen decision. A lot of overblown bad publicity for the GAA after the game, they want to be seen to be doing something. A lot worse went on in the game unpunished. Sunday Game reckon the game was so fast that McQuillan couldn't keep up with everything. He should have been in better communication with umpires and linesmen. I thought he favoured Dublin in 1st half and Mayo in 2nd half. His calling back the play when either teams wanted to play their advantage was woeful. Refereeing is a thankless job but it's up to him to organise the other 6 in-game officials and the 8th (4th?) official for maximum eyes on any incident.

Am assuming, but don't know, that it's partly based on his previous disciplinary record, even though he's being doing a good job of keeping out the silly stuff lately. Keane hadn't enough games played to have a poor disciplinary record.Could be why his redcard in Q/F was overturned.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7347 - 03/09/2015 10:52:22    1781065

31 v 1

Proven!

Pixie heads the lot of them

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/09/2015 10:53:39    1781067