Dubs Behaviour.

20/09/2015 21:52:09
ponga

Jeez lads, can't we all just let the Dubs enjoy their win without trying to turn it into a slanging match. All over the field they won the individual battles and as a team they overran Kerry so let's not try to take the gloss off it by one unsavoury incident that had zero impact on the outcome. Let the authorities do their job and let Dublin and their fans enjoy the win which no one can argue they deserved. Congrats Dublin

Fair play ponga,good to see not all begrudge us our victory.The same sorry lot at it again.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 21/09/2015 10:01:08    1789898

Hats off to Dublin - awesome.

The eye gouging incident was unsavoury, but look practically all the top teams have had 'incidents' in the last couple of years. What is needed is a proper punishment system, it is just not there at the moment. But that incident didn't really affect the result and Donaghy went around and shook the hands of every Dublin player he met after the final whistle.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/09/2015 10:02:09    1789901

What is even worse is that the Dublin based media are glossing over the eye gouge. Ah sure he's not that kind of player tripe from pundits who were literally jumping up and down to have a go at Tyrone players a few weeks ago

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 21/09/2015 10:17:41    1789910

There needs to be appropriate sanction against reckless tackling. Even in MMA your not allowed to eye gouge. No player should loose an eye or their sight in a GAA game. Philly is an excellent footballer but some of the things he does on the pitch , don't bring honour to the blue shirt. Hes not the only one tackling dangerously, but doing it in an AI final means that it gets highlighted. Hes had an excellent year by his own high standards. GAA is a physical game but we need to remember that these players have lives outside the game and the injuries that dangerous tackling have repercussions long after the fans have gone home. This goes for all players. We all want competitive , exciting games, not seeing players pick up horrible , avoidable injuries. I think a TMO would help the refs spot this kind of incident early, its very hard to see everything everywhere in real time. Also something needs to be done about the Croke park pitch every time it rains its like an ice rink. The ball shouldn't be aquaplaning when its hits the surface.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 21/09/2015 10:28:54    1789924

have to agree, if this was a Tyrone guy who eye gouged the media will would be all over this.

This takes nothing away from the better hungrier team winning on the day

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 21/09/2015 10:30:23    1789926

Dublin were by far the better team yesterday, McMahon had another stormer. I'd pick on my team every day of the week.

He will I would say pick up a 3 match ban and miss the start of the league next spring. (or maybe just get off? who knows these days)

In any event, the disciplinary system will be reviewed over the Winter and this along with Connolly getting off because he didn't have time to prepare his case will leave HQ with a few things to address.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 21/09/2015 11:59:57    1790018

There needs to be appropriate sanction against reckless tackling. Even in MMA your not allowed to eye gouge. No player should loose an eye or their sight in a GAA game. Philly is an excellent footballer but some of the things he does on the pitch , don't bring honour to the blue shirt. Hes not the only one tackling dangerously, but doing it in an AI final means that it gets highlighted. Hes had an excellent year by his own high standards. GAA is a physical game but we need to remember that these players have lives outside the game and the injuries that dangerous tackling have repercussions long after the fans have gone home. This goes for all players. We all want competitive , exciting games, not seeing players pick up horrible , avoidable injuries. I think a TMO would help the refs spot this kind of incident early, its very hard to see everything everywhere in real time.

Superb post.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/09/2015 14:14:35    1790132

If he's suspended he has to miss championship matches as that new rule was brought in rule last year. Of course, he'll hardly be missed much in a Leinster campaign.

Tomas O'Se is right - nobody likes talking about this after an ALl-Ireland Final but trying to be impartial here, you can't brush this one away because other people got off or because all the top teams do it. A serious infraction was committed and it should be punished accordingly.

Also not saying this is the case but my own personal viewpoint is that Dublin try to dictate to the GAA. The whole Davy Byrne thing and the lack of co-operation, the Diarmuid Connolly thing and this morning McMahon himself trying to brush it off with a what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch comment. First of all who is he trying to convince by playing down the incident? None of us are blind. Secondly the what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch mentality is a dangerous one, sure how far can you go if you allow that?

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 21/09/2015 17:30:36    1790277

Philly McMahon's dad is from west Belfast, so the northerners are probably to blame for this as well.

Hurling2013 (USA) - Posts: 8 - 21/09/2015 18:47:19    1790332

@Dublin supporters. The best team won hands down but don't defend the indefensible.

stanley (None) - Posts: 434 - 21/09/2015 19:05:29    1790341

Dublin were by far the better team yesterday and really should have won by at least 6 points.We have a fantastic team lads and we should have a lot more glory days following this team in the future.
I won't defend the indefensible, if Philly is found guilty off eye gouging he should face an exemplary ban.If it were up to me he would get at least 6 months.
There is no excuse for eye gouging.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 21/09/2015 19:44:45    1790358

I wonder what his teammates think of it all. On a day when people should be talking about the outstanding panel of footballers they have, many are instead talking about McMahons behaviour. And what he seems to have done really is a despicable act that has no place on a football field, if he was my teammate Id be embarrassed by him.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 21/09/2015 20:00:37    1790367

Hopefully the dust has settled and we can view things in a reasonable way.
I first played as a gossoon in late 60s early 70s and was afforded a lift to league and championship games in Connacht by a football mad uncle who was one of the few to own a car.
Early memories of my hero Joe Corcoran and the Galway corner back digging, pulling and punching off the ball from start to finish and then throwing their arms round each other at the final whistle. This went on all over the pitch and in my underage days we gave and took it as well.
I was never at a club game be it junior, intermediate or senior when there wasn't a plethora of on and off the ball incidents, but players accepted it and got on with the game.
What has brought our great game to it's knees is the coverage from every angle by the cameras and social media making minor incidents into full-blown dramas.
To sum up, in my opinion over the semi- finals and final the only incident that warranted discussion was the Cooper ninja lunge on Diarmuid O Connor.
Keegan and Connolly rolling about and a couple of girly digs........forget it.
Cillian O Connor on Connolly....likewise
Philly McMahon's indiscretions.......poor excuse for a headbutt and an eye gouge......hardly.
Since the advent of cameras from every feckin' angle and wall to wall games on tv it's allowed the armchair fans to have too much of an influence on a game that most of them have probably never played.
Gaelic Football was always a man's game and should continue to be so. Cut out the diving and feigning injury and give and take without resorting to trial by a bunch of gobsh*tes in the RTE studios.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 21/09/2015 21:02:53    1790418