Dubs Behaviour.

Jesus wept. The man waves the camera away and it's an issue. What is it with these camera men and the need to stick a camera in a lads face when he's clearly knackered and not in any mood for it. Funny how they are allowed on the pitch when they have no place there.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 31/08/2015 11:28:41    1778782

Obviously some Dubs missed the game yesterday with their comments. McQuillan's performance was ridiculous, and although he gave terrible calls against both teams, but at least 80% of them were favouring Dublin. Cooper should have had a straight red, Cluxton kicked out and was lucky to stay on the pitch, I'm sure McMahon will be cited for the headbutt, Connolly threw a punch and was deservedly sent off (just like our own Keane against Donegal), and Cian O'Sullivan should have had a yellow and a black, equalling a red. So 5 possible red cards could/should have been shown. I thought McAuley's was a clear black in real time from where I was sitting, but having seen the highlights it looked harsh. Basticks black also contentious, only he knows if it was deliberate, don't think McQuillan had a choice though. Cillian O'Connor could have seen red for the O'Carroll incident without a doubt. But then both penalties incidents in the first half were wrongly called, Doherty clearly fouled Flynn outside the square, so should have been a free, and O'Shea was pulled down by the neck by McMahon, a terrible call to give a free out. Wasn't sure about the penalty we actually got, but the replays show McMahons leg come across and trip Boyle, so McQuillan got that one right. And if you watch closely, it looks like Philly drops a sly little elbow onto Boyle's head in the aftermath, hard to call though. Add in the Brogan point early on that was wide, and McManamons two hops for his point, and I can't understand any saying the calls favoured Mayo or even cancelled each other out. There was so much niggly stuff happening off the ball yesterday that McQuillan and his officials couldn't be expected to keep up with, but we expect better from the major decisions, and in that regard, his performance was simply not good enough.

mayoboy1 (Mayo) - Posts: 1654 - 31/08/2015 11:43:20    1778802

A lot of very blinkered Dublin fans around.

Some calling for O connor to be suspended for next week and all other such nonsense.

Blame the ref all ye like, but the facts are the Dublin defenders are unable to defend. They can't tackle and have no idea what to do when a teams runs at them. Everyone of their defenders were fouling on and off the ball, most got some sort of card and they were luckly to have 14 at the finish.

No point whinging about the ref. I don't think Dublin were cynical. Only a fool would plan to give away frees against the best free taker in the country. They just don't know how to tackle and they won't learn it in a week.

THey are also afraid to kick the ball out to midfield. 1,000,000 people and no fielder in the whole county.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 31/08/2015 12:10:44    1778837

They just don't know how to tackle and they won't learn it in a week.

How about the Mayo forwards learning to score from play? Will they learn that in a week?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 12:15:33    1778846

Again, the camera was hardly in Flynn's face, it was several feet away. And without the media, all of these fellas would be completely unknown to the public at large; they're just doing their jobs by entering the pitch after the game.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/08/2015 12:20:50    1778851

A lot of our defending was awful yesterday.Is it that hard to play the ball without pulling,dragging and tripping your opponent.Where was the discipline.It proves there is nothing to be gained in hammering teams in Leinster because,just like last year v Donegal,when the pressure came on,our defending was below par.Fair enough,we didnt cough up many goal chances,but handing free after free to C O Connor was worrying.And being penalised for dissent on a couple of occassions,making difficult frees into certainties smacks of ill discipline.Big improvements needed in thi area,but i wouldnt be too sure we will.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/08/2015 12:24:01    1778858

The HEADBUTT what headbutt? was there contact? NO, watch again. Did Cluxton lash out with his foot? was that when he was rugby tackled to the ground and unable to get up as he was being held and prevented from doing so? There was enough crap out on that pitch to last a lifetime, it is amazing we have two linesmen, four umpires and a massive cop out. People see what they want to see even O'Shea believes he was headbutt'ed no doubt a retropective injury.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 31/08/2015 12:29:30    1778865

Well I disagree gleebo. These guys are interested in playing football, they didn't ask for media to follow them. They should be given more respect after a game. Flynn was dead right.

On the topic of McMahon, I actually think what cooper did is what should be revisited more than anything. His headbutt wasn't exactly a bad strike - id consider it similar to keane's strike in the semi. Cooper went in with real force and could have seriously hurt the lad - that is the type of play we need to punish. Re Connolly, it was a full punch to a guy on the ground, hard to see that being overturned, nor should it be.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/08/2015 12:30:13    1778866

Yes if we tackled properly yesterday we'd have won very handy!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 31/08/2015 12:30:53    1778869

If a camera was pushed in my face after my goalkeeper cost my team a place in an all Ireland final I would do the same. What complete rubbish. There are plenty of sticks to beat the Dubs with after yesterday but this isn't one.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 31/08/2015 12:39:32    1778881

arock

1778865 The HEADBUTT what headbutt? was there contact? NO, watch again. Did Cluxton lash out with his foot? was that when he was rugby tackled to the ground and unable to get up as he was being held and prevented from doing so? There was enough crap out on that pitch to last a lifetime, it is amazing we have two linesmen, four umpires and a massive cop out. People see what they want to see even O'Shea believes he was headbutt'ed no doubt a retropective injury.

Category IV, Striking or attempting to strike with the head.

Regardless of how the officials officiate the players wouldn't do this kind of thind on the street, with the exemption of one, so does it make it ok on field?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 31/08/2015 12:48:34    1778896

Headbutt - just judge for yourselves:

Check 50:10 to 50:13
http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/10461504/

There is NO headbutt

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 31/08/2015 12:51:42    1778900

Brolly
County: Monaghan

1778423 So Dublin fans - getting a wee flavor of what us Ulstermen have to put up with every year. How do you like those apples??

Might have escaped your attention that some Dubs have been some of your biggest allies on here , but hey when your only interested in snide cheap digs lets just forget that .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 31/08/2015 13:05:14    1778916

TheRightStuff

Joxer - come on man , be fair will ya ? Coopers challenge was shocking . He looked away and tried to do him : could have broke his legs .

Joxer - people from certain counties are frustrated because with Tyrone etc , they have a sniffer dogs out .

------
No complaints TRS. He should have gone. A bit of balance though. Should AOS have walked for the pull down on Cluxton? If MDM walks for his then AOS walks for that. Should the Mayo man have walked for the deliberate trip on Flynn for the penalty. If Bastick walked for his trip then why not this one? Worst of all, should O'Connor have walked for the the deliberate elbow on ROC leading to 10 stitches and could have been a lot worse, fractured eye socket for example.

No complaints though, what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch but those claiming that Joe favoured Dublin, and when you look at above incidents, you have to be kidding. What do you have to say about it? Does that looked like balanced punishment to you? We won't claim to be victim TRS, we won't blame the media and we won't blame the SG, especially when one of our own was calling these incidents out. We'll move on to the replay and go again.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 13:25:55    1778938

These guys do not seek out publicity in general and as for the general public not knowing them without the media well do you honestly think that would bother them?

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 31/08/2015 13:48:04    1778960

Am reading threads on here and some very funny ones this year. This one holding Paul Flynn accountable for waving a hand at a camera is up there as one of the great ones. GAA never ceases to amaze with what can get under the skin of a rational man. Only just finished watching the recording of the match and the incident in question is so small , the UUP couldn't even get upset about it.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 31/08/2015 13:58:08    1778979

I think it's time to look forward to the replay. Some of the behaviour from a minority Dublin players was out of order but the Mayo lads weren't all angels either. It was a hard tough game with 2 or 3 unsavory incidents. I hope O'Carroll is ok for the replay and that all players are free to play the replay. I think Mayo will win the replay by 3 or 4. Dublin look tired (apart from McCafrey, Connolly and B Brogan). Dublin's subs are fairly poor. (McManamon and Alan B will have to start the next day - assuming Rock is benched and Connolly suspended)

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 31/08/2015 14:16:42    1779009

If you follow Dubmatchtracker on Twitter take a look at a video he's just posted re: Philly McMahon & Aidan O'Shea. Interesting angle on the 'supposed' headbutt.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 15:46:01    1779115

CroiGorm thanks for pointing that out. That angle should mean there will be no suspension for McMahon, though you will struggle to find a camera angle that justifies him feigning injury in the other incident.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 31/08/2015 16:04:50    1779134

That angle should mean there will be no suspension for McMahon

Do you think that angle might mean there might be trouble ahead for O'Shea though? No excuse for McMahon feigning injury but trying to get someone off by making it look like they headbutted you is bad form. He should have kept his mouth shut at the end of the game instead of putting the spotlight on himself.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 16:20:39    1779156