Dubs Behaviour.

Some of the comments from the dubs are laughable and completely miss the point. Just defending their county regardless of what actually happened....

There was a lot of shite going on today off the ball as well as on the ball. From BOTH SIDES. Wasn't all the dubs but dubs were certainly not guiltless like some posters here are implying...

Referee was good and could have penalised the dubs a lot more in my view though Mayo could also have got a few more cards.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/08/2015 21:52:05    1778450

Heat of the moment stuff! If he were banned for this it would be a disgrace!! Harmless stuff

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 31/08/2015 08:09:27    1778455

Brolly
County: Monaghan

So Dublin fans - getting a wee flavor of what us Ulstermen have to put up with every year. How do you like those apples??

-----
Nobody complaining here buddy. You won't see us complaining about the Sunday Game or southern media. The only thing I would say is that if the Mayo forward gets away with giving ROC 10 stitches then something is seriously wrong. That was by far the worst incident in that game yesterday. Again, what purpose do umpires serve? Oh yeah and speaking of fruit, how are those grapes?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 08:25:25    1778458

Ah here lads, its a bit much to be criticising a fella because he didnt want a camera stuck in his face after a match, i mean come on.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1338 - 31/08/2015 08:30:29    1778462

Brolly
County: Monaghan

So Dublin fans - getting a wee flavor of what us Ulstermen have to put up with every year. How do you like those apples??

We know the taste of these apples well Brolly.

Where have you been?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 31/08/2015 08:34:40    1778465

The carry-on off the ball was just mad stuff - No doubt this will keep the media busy until the replay, another big pay day for the GAA their accountants just love the Dubs.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 31/08/2015 08:45:36    1778473

I don't agree with witch hunts against individual players especially retrospective ones and this is no exception. People need to calm down a bit here folks, a little bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss at this point.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 31/08/2015 09:10:27    1778502

There were so many talking points after that game, good and bad. I wouldn't have blamed Flynn for that reaction, its about time some reporters and cameramen were put in their place.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 31/08/2015 09:13:02    1778505

I think Connolly will be suspended for the replay. He was wound up yesterday. 2 frees in the first half were moved in because of him. MDMA black card was harsh. Bastick black card was deserved. Dublin penalty on 2nd look seemed to be outside the box. If Johnny Cooper is to be reprimanded with video evidence then Cillian O'Connor may face the same over his incident with Ross O'Carroll. How did the umpire miss Brogans "point" in the 1st half? It was clearly wide. The Mayo keeper didnt even protest. Mayo's shooting at crucial stages in the 2nd half proved costly. One last point to make. Has Cluxton's reign as Ireland best keeper come to an end? I dont think he is the same player he was.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 31/08/2015 09:19:34    1778512

yellabelly
County: Wexford

There were so many talking points after that game, good and bad. I wouldn't have blamed Flynn for that reaction, its about time some reporters and cameramen were put in their place.

The camera was probably about five feet away from him, rather than being in his face. Flynn doesn't seem like a bad guy, so I'd put it down to some frustration at having lost a big lead at the end of the game.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 31/08/2015 09:35:46    1778538

@aidan64. You know why the Mayo keeper didn't protest? Because it was a clear point! It looks deceiving from the view behind the goals because it literally just dropped over the bar. Watch the angle from the front of the goals.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 31/08/2015 09:38:22    1778545

I don't blame him. Why do these cameramen get to run onto the pitch after the game and stick cameras in guys faces? The whole motivation is to get some heat of the moment scoop from one player or another. You would want the patience of a saint for it not to annoy you after a while. Fair play to him I say, cameras shouldn't be stuck in players faces like that. Show them a bit of respect.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/08/2015 09:38:59    1778546

Cluxtons is the No1 keeper in the country bar none . had an off day yesterday , very unusual to see him kick 3 wides

Quality always sticks and have no doubt Cluxton will pick himself back up

(Look at Cillain O Connor people said he was having a bad year then kick 1-9 in all Ireland semi final)

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 31/08/2015 09:44:07    1778557

@aidan64. You know why the Mayo keeper didn't protest? Because it was a clear point! It looks deceiving from the view behind the goals because it literally just dropped over the bar. Watch the angle from the front of the goals.

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 31/08/2015 09:48:03    1778567

aiden64-what would you expect O'Connor or indeed any player who was being pulled around the place to do? only draw the back of his hand. A lot of 'off the ball incidents' which went on from beginning to end- and makes one laugh when compared to the 10 mins of silly stuff in the Monaghan/Tyrone match. I do agree with the poster that this retrospective analysis is over the top and does not effect the result. It is clear that you need:
(a) a ref with eyes in the back of his head or,
(b) two refs to cover these important matches
(c) you need TMO to decide on whether the incident is a penalty - first penalty was outside what is supposed to be penalty area

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/08/2015 10:09:15    1778602

(Look at Cillain O Connor people said he was having a bad year then kick 1-9 in all Ireland semi final)

But nothing from play? Would you not consider it a bad year when a marquee forward isn't scoring from play in an All Ireland Semi Final?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 31/08/2015 10:15:05    1778620

Ah look a few Dubs would have been very frustrated with both the team performance and their own individual performance, I don't blame the man for not wanting a camera in his mush. More worrying for the dubs would be the overall lack of discipline and focus, some very un-Dublin like attributes on display yesterday and I'm in full agreement with Tomas O'Se last night that the elder Brogan should start the next day, experience guile and just an excellent footballer

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 10:28:01    1778642

Thought Cillian O'Connor let himself down by consistently trying to get Dublin players carded. He was in the referee's face after every incident, often running a good distance just for that purpose. In as much as there's been justifiable criticism of Philly McMahon for his unsporting behaviour, I think it's only fair to criticise O'Connor for his petulance. Hopefully both teams concentrate on playing open expansive football next day rather than trying to get opponents sent off.

As regards the Flynn "incident" with the cameraman - nothing to see here only the embittered delusions of the Meath man who started this thread.

LeopoldBloom (UK) - Posts: 90 - 31/08/2015 10:36:08    1778666

Paul Flynn is a great ambassador great sports man and a great role model.

If i was part of a team that squandered a 7 point lead with 10 mins to go im sure id have been pissed off and wouldnt want a camera in my face either.
Post must have been put up by someone who never played a heated championship game in his life.

As for his poor season .. If this is paul having a bad season we will take him here in cork in a heart beat im a huge admirer of O flynn and saying he was a bad sportsman because of this incident is just idiotic being honest

Just cause you have a computer doesnt mean you HAVE to type something

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 31/08/2015 11:19:20    1778764

Joxer - come on man , be fair will ya ? Coopers challenge was shocking . He looked away and tried to do him : could have broke his legs .

Joxer - people from certain counties are frustrated because with Tyrone etc , they have a sniffer dogs out .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 31/08/2015 11:27:40    1778780