Rory O Carroll

Its funny how a Galway lad thinks it was an elbow and then goes on to say how O'Connor has a dirty streak in him cause he's first on the scene when there's a few lads tussling - thats called backing up your team mates

Fair play to the Dubs on this site - as posters they're probably the most balanced of any county.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 31/08/2015 10:01:05    1778590

I don't think it was an accident, certainly didn't look like it. He swung back hard with his fist closed, that is not a shrugging off it is a striking offence. No two ways about it if you strike, or attempt to strike an opponent then it is a red card offence. Ref didn't spot it fair enough but linesmen / umpire should have, it was right in front of the umpire.

For those saying ROC shouldn't have been hanging on to him, fair enough, but neither should the Mayo lad (Keegan?) have been dragging Connolly to the ground and holding him down. If Diarmuid saw a red for striking out trying to get free to take part in a Dublin attack then O'Connor should have seen red in the first half. No man of the match then from him and no 1-8 scoreline either.

I sincerely hope the CCCC take the same view. ROC's game was over because of this incident don't forget, he didn't deserve that and it was inexcusable. He will probably miss the replay as well. As soon as he was taken out of the game O'Shea switched into FF.

Accidental? … yeah right, I'm not buying it.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 31/08/2015 10:09:57    1778604

It wasn't an accident. O'Connor will receive a lengthy ban over the next few days.

bangbang (Dublin) - Posts: 113 - 31/08/2015 10:13:48    1778614

Ban
County: Westmeath

1778590 Its funny how a Galway lad thinks it was an elbow and then goes on to say how O'Connor has a dirty streak in him cause he's first on the scene when there's a few lads tussling - thats called backing up your team mates

Fair play to the Dubs on this site - as posters they're probably the most balanced of any county.

An elbow or swinging arm.. isnt your elbow part of your arm? whatever it was it was far from an accident, he knew what he was at!
Im not totally picking out O Connor the Dubs were just as bad, but he was involved or around a lot of incidents and he was hardly backing them up he was there when Keegan and Connolly were at it roaring at the ref/linesman anyone , he was at all game.. While im at it Keegan is a some operator.. another man who is constantly geting involved with skirmishes, red cards last year and this year, he knew what he was at with Connolly, have to say Connolly was a disgrace for his reaction, but Keegan looked for it!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 31/08/2015 10:17:44    1778625

His reaction in drawing the back of the hand is quite a normal reaction - sometimes it helps to stop this sly practice of pulling a player around the place off the ball. bangbang what would you have done in a similar situation?-start complaining to ref or write a letter of complaint!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 31/08/2015 10:20:56    1778633

Belclare, he threw both arms back as he was trying to swing loose from a guy preventing him from making a run. You see it all the time - players from both sides done it several more times in this game alone. It was just unfortunate he caught O'Carroll in the face on this occasion. The guy himself never protested and neither did anyone around him. You could say COC was careless with his arm, maybe a yellow - fair enough.

That is very different to a deliberate elbow in the face.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/08/2015 10:34:54    1778662

An elbow or swinging arm.. isnt your elbow part of your arm?

Its whatever way you want to see it Belclare1

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 31/08/2015 10:39:19    1778674

It was just unfortunate he caught O'Carroll in the face on this occasion. The guy himself never protested and neither did anyone around him. You could say COC was careless with his arm, maybe a yellow - fair enough.

+1

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/08/2015 10:50:32    1778699

No use of the elbow from CO'C. Have watched it several times now. He swung back his arm (no elbow or closed fist involved) to shake of a Dublin defender who was pulling him from behind. The standard of comment appearing on this forum regarding yesterday's game is a new low. I must of been at a different game yesterday. Dublin overall lacked discipline in the tackle all over the pitch. Apart from one free in the first half where Keegan went over too easy the rest of the frees were fairly awarded by the ref as a result of undisciplined rash and technically poor tackling from the Dublin players. This was followed up on more than 1 occasion by more poor form from Dublin players resulting in The ball being brought forward, resulting in a tap over frees. Connolly's red for a striking offence deserved, bastick knew what he was doing and was part of the obvious systematic fouling Dublin engaged in all day, MDMA was unlucky, not a black or even a yellow. Just a foul. Cian o Sullivan was alucky man yesterday. Don't know how he lasted as long on the field as he did. Philly McMahon is another lucky man so far anyway. Even the mayo penalty was a result of a silly rash and technically poor tackle from pmcmahon. I know mayo are no angels but yesterday I'm afraid Dublin let themselves down with a performance that unfortunately involved systematic fouling especially when mayo broke through their defense in first half.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 31/08/2015 10:54:24    1778704

fair play to alot of dublin posters here.
COC elbow was an accident and alot of the dubs here are calling it as such fair play to you . For those that arent !! what footage are you looking at ???

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 31/08/2015 11:04:14    1778720

No malice in what COC done here, ROC was clearly hanging out of him,tactics that were clearly deployed by Dublin management in their full back line. Philly McMahon and Johnny Cooper love playing the hard man and at least one should of seen red, Tyrone rightly get slated for using these horrible tactics that have no part in the game,Dublin should too... If Dublin had to go and play football like they had been playing all year they were by far the better team but instead they retreated and started playing a defence game using rough house tactics /Sledging, for that alone if Mayo had any forwards they would of beaten Dublin. Next week maybe Dublin should go back to the free running brand of football that have won them All Irelands and they should prevail..No more of this nonsense please.

Tox73 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 31/08/2015 11:08:34    1778731

Was at the game but missed the incident in live action. Saw it on The Sunday game last night. Not that I have much respect for some of the pundits on the Sunday Game, given the garbage they talk sometimes but they showed the incident and made nothing of it. Even Ciaran Whelan didn't say anything. Also don't remember any protests from ROC or other Dublin players at the time- but I stand corrected on this??

I'll have to watch it again this evening but on that basis I would be confident that COC won't be disciplined for this. If I was a Dublin supporter I wouldn't be as confident about Philly McMahon being reprimanded though. Given he was faking injury as well they make take a hard line with him.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 308 - 31/08/2015 11:09:13    1778734

Maybe if more players swung back when their jersey is pulled it might reduce this cheating practice. Absolutely no skill involved in this tsctic and it ruins the game. Keegan was lucky to get yellow rather than red also as he started the whole incident.
Why have 2 experienced referees on the sideline and not use them more? One man cannot referee the modern game on his own. The worst incident was undoubtedly Coopers cowardly kick and he should not get away it.

murof (Kildare) - Posts: 480 - 31/08/2015 11:11:31    1778745

Think back a year and what RO C was at against Neil Gallagher , facing him with his hands up and his back to the kick out When Neil threw him to the ground , the Donegal player was booked, off ROC goes to the full back line , job done
Have no sympathy for him yesterday , has been looking for that for a long time.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/08/2015 12:30:33    1778868

Only 1 poster from Dublin saying it was accidental, not lots. The same fella asking for concessions for the Mayo lads to make it easy for them to attend the replay.

No excuse for that striking motion from COC, Dublin had possession of the ball and the play was down the other end of the pitch. There was no need for COC to be swinging his arm back like that at all. Just cynical play and the second time in two meetings with Mayo that ROC has been "targeted". He was concussed in the 2013 AI final so I'm not buying this accidental BS that's floating around and hope the authorities deal with Mayo for it. What's it going to take for ROC to get even a modicum of protection?

COC also landed a punch on Connolly before complaining about Connolly's punch to the ref - not much sportsmanship on show from him at any stage really.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 31/08/2015 12:34:03    1778876

whatever about the incident where he struck o carroll
if connolly red card is upheld
then o connor has to be suspended for not only being the third man into that incident
but then punching connolly on the ground
he didnt get any card so video evidence clearly shows him punching him which means he has to be suspended
if connolly is in that incident.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 12:35:09    1778877

@hill16 : But O'Connor didn't punch Connolly. He pulled him off Keegan. You must have your own special blue tinted video footage becuase it's showing totally different things to what actually happened on the pitch.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 31/08/2015 12:46:01    1778889

pdempsey

@hill16 : But O'Connor didn't punch Connolly. He pulled him off Keegan. You must have your own special blue tinted video footage becuase it's showing totally different things to what actually happened on the pitch.

come off it
you can clearly see him come in pull a bit then pull back and punch him on the deck
then he turns and trys to get connolly sent off by gesturing about a punch
take a look again at it
i seen it in real time and the mayo man and woman on the hill standing in front of me even agreed
then its cear as day in the video footgae the sunday game showed last night he punches him

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 31/08/2015 13:05:47    1778918

SamOnErrigal

Think back a year and what RO C was at against Neil Gallagher , facing him with his hands up and his back to the kick out When Neil threw him to the ground , the Donegal player was booked, off ROC goes to the full back line , job done
Have no sympathy for him yesterday , has been looking for that for a long time.

----
You really have to have a long look at yourself bud. Saying a player deserved 10 stitches, could have been a lot worse (fractured eye socket) I have to say is disgraceful.

MODS you have to really have to look at posts like this. That says a lot about you Sam. It really does.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 13:12:31    1778928

ROC was hanging out of him and O' Connor was trying to get rid of him .

Nobody wants to see anyone getting stitches but seriously this was not premeditated unlike Johnny Coopers challenge .

Joxer - I doubt Sam wants anyone to have stitches so leave the self righteous attitude out of it .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 31/08/2015 13:28:11    1778941