Will Dublin & Mayo get the Tyrone treatment?

The Sunday Game will be interesting tonight lol. There will be more tine spent analysing the ref than the game itself.

As for diving, I seem to remember Philly McMahon going down holding his face when he got knocked on the shoulder. For some strange reason Dublin were indisciplined today which is not like them. The replay is going to be interesting.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 30/08/2015 20:42:48    1778353

Well, they'll stone ya when you're trying to be so good
They'll stone ya just a-like they said they would
They'll stone ya when you're tryin' to go home
Then they'll stone ya when you're there all alone
But I would not feel so all alone
Everybody must get stoned.

Well, they'll stone ya when you're walkin' 'long the street
They'll stone ya when you're tryin' to keep your seat
They'll stone ya when you're walkin' on the floor
They'll stone ya when you're walkin' to the door

They'll stone ya when you're at the breakfast table
They'll stone ya when you are young and able
They'll stone ya when you're tryin' to make a buck
They'll stone ya and then they'll say "good luck"
Tell ya what, I would not feel so all alone

Well, They'll stone you and say that it's the end
Then they'll stone you and then they'll come back again
They'll stone you when you're riding in your car
They'll stone you when you're playing your guitar
Yes, but I would not feel so all alone

Well, they'll stone you when you walk all alone
They'll stone you when you are walking home
They'll stone you and then say you are brave
They'll stone you when you are set down in your grave

Nisus Wettus: Crucifixion?
Prisoner: Yes.
Nisus Wettus: Good. Out of the door, line on the left, one cross each.
[Next prisoner]
Nisus Wettus: Crucifixion?
Mr. Cheeky: Er, no, freedom actually.
Nisus Wettus: What?
Mr. Cheeky: Yeah, they said I hadn't done anything and I could go and live on an island somewhere.
Nisus Wettus: Oh I say, that's very nice. Well, off you go then.
Mr. Cheeky: No, I'm just pulling your leg, it's crucifixion really.
Nisus Wettus: [laughing] Oh yes, very good. Well...
Mr. Cheeky: Yes I know, out of the door, one cross each, line on the left.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 30/08/2015 20:43:47    1778355

Well redhand that is not and never had been my intention, its a bit of sledging from fans, and a term i have used many times on here and indeed to my ulster friends, may i also say i include Monaghan, Donegal and Cavan in the term nordie and i have also used it to Louth friends.
Again i don't feel its a slur in a nasty way , its very mild form of slagging off .
Banter if you like, but not condescending or offensively meant in anyway.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 20:48:46    1778367

Waiting for the Sunday Game is like waiting to hear the verdict in a court case.We've a few lads sweating in the dock at present..Lets hope for a kind judge & jury(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/08/2015 20:54:27    1778375

http://www.balls.ie/gaa/gif-be-embarrassed-aidan-oshea/93899
------------------------------
Aye yer very good with yer praise today royaldunne and perhaps rightly so.I don't believe a player should be hounded for the wrongs they might do in any one moment.Big Aidy O shea is a class act and I hope he keeps it up going forward but for you to use him as an example of what to do in the days of guys going down with hair ruffles etc was a bit funny in all fairness.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/08/2015 20:56:37    1778379

Look nobody or county deserves the Tyrone treatment. The Sunday Game is notorious for focusing on the negative in Gaelic football. The GAA president has mentioned this. Neither Mayo or Dublin are dirty teams.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 30/08/2015 21:14:38    1778405

Seannie boy, i criticised him for that, and other incidents he has been involved in, but everyone (including tiernan McCann) has a right to redemption and when they do the right thing praise them as much as id criticise when they do wrong, and i hope next year i can say same thing regarding McCann, perhaps aido and tiernan have learned their lessons?? And others wont do it seeing the reaction they got v

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 21:20:40    1778417

JimTheLegend

The Sunday Game will be interesting tonight lol. There will be more tine spent analysing the ref than the game itself.

As for diving, I seem to remember Philly McMahon going down holding his face when he got knocked on the shoulder. For some strange reason Dublin were indisciplined today which is not like them. The replay is going to be interesting.

-------
Player knocked on shoulder, dives, holds his face and makes a national disgrace of himself. Sound familiar? I'm thinking Donegal 2011 AI quarter final. If Phily did that today and he wasn't genuinely hurt then I will call him out as a cheat. Dubs don't hide behind Sunday Game, Southern Media vistimisation excuses. We'll call it if it is genuine.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/08/2015 21:30:05    1778428

Only problem with game was inconsistency of the ref. The ref was a yoke, mad stuff going on/off the ball. But sure another big pay day for the GAA it is all good as the cash flows. Parts of this game was no different to the Tyrone/Monaghan game but sure that is the modern game get over it, we get another helping next week!! Can't wait

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 30/08/2015 21:52:55    1778451

No only the Dubs will get the Tyrone treatment. Whelan was a whimp last night on the Sunday Game as he allowed that patsy McStay rabbit on about the Dubs as if his sanctimonious diving flappers had no hand/act or part in any of the crazy stuff going on. It was ALL over the pitch - everyone was at it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 31/08/2015 08:37:52    1778467

Going to be a long week of Dub bashing, I'll get me helmet.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/08/2015 08:50:02    1778478

arock

No only the Dubs will get the Tyrone treatment. Whelan was a whimp last night on the Sunday Game as he allowed that patsy McStay rabbit on about the Dubs as if his sanctimonious diving flappers had no hand/act or part in any of the crazy stuff going on. It was ALL over the pitch - everyone was at it.

------
In fairness to Whelo, he's the best and most honest analyst in the game. He calls it as he sees it. My only gripe was that the incident, worst of the game, involving ROC was not analysed. I don't think McStay even mentioned it yet a Dublin player, coincidentally tasked with marking their best player, was taken out and had to have 10 stitches. Anyway, we'll move on and regroup. We played very poorly yesterday, had 3 men sent to the line, another having stitches, ended with 14 men but yet nearly won an AI semi. The resolve and will is there. Bring on next Sat.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 09:00:12    1778487

Too many people trying to jump on the bandwagon of inconsistency in the media, the media are as inconsistent as the refs they berate but we knew that. On the game if I was a dub I wouldn't be concerned about the suspensions it would be the teams defence, the evolution from last year hasn't been as dramatic as some claimed and the amount of frees given in the scoring zones was criminal. In their defence the defensive leader went off early but the others didn't step up at all, quite the opposite.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 31/08/2015 09:01:52    1778491

Particularly nasty game full of unsavoury incidents. If the disciplinary aspect was correct Cooper and Connolly would miss the next day. The Cooper incident was out of character for Cooper and Connolly three a number of digs into Keegan on the ground.

However Keegan threw an elbow into Connolly just before they tangled which should also be cited. O'Connor should also be cited on the Mayo side for what he did to O'Carroll.

I didn't see any played back of the McMahon incident but if he headbutted AOS then he should go too.

For me all of Cooper, Connolly, Keegan and O'Connor should count themselves lucky the next day.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 31/08/2015 09:26:13    1778519

Arock
Couple of things here, first you say it was same. As Monaghan v Tyrone. Fair enough point if you saw it like that
But let me tell you I did not see any Tyrone /Mon players leaving the field all bloodied.
Saw no head butted/ attempted head butted.
No wayward tackle ( think J Cooper)
Yet Tyrone got LYNCHED.
How comes C Whelan did not apologise for Dublin behaviour yesterday. He was fairly quick on to Tyrone to apologise
Allegedly Mickt Hart is the man behind all Tyrone's cynical stuff--- Can we now level the same charges at J Gavin/ Mayo management
Did P McMahon dive? What about his head butt or attempted one.
I did not see the Sunday game. Did C Whelan / Sunday Game give Dublin's cynicism the same level of scrutiny as was offered to Tyrone a couple of weeks back. ???
If not the Tyrone county board have IMO the right to protest to the highest level the Double standards that are applied to different counties.
My view is Tyrone were not wanted to proceed any further in this year's championship. Donegal were not wanted in 2011 and different writers said so on the Monday after the famous semi with Dublin
I have watched a lot of football, the worst two cynical/ dirtiest games I saw were yesterday and 1983 All Ireland final. Closely followed by Meath / Cork games in 1987/88.
Tell me any real bad games concerning Ulster teams?? But we do get rough treatment from the media /RTE.
in saying all this I know they were two teams there yesterday so it's hard to blame one over the other Also what about the Kildare sub and the Tipp no 8 after the game. Just read that Kildare have to concede playing Minor games at home for the next two years over similar incidents. A new thing creeping into games -- using subs to do the dirty work. But no much wrote about it or said about it ----Tyrone were not involved.
A lot of people said a lot of things on here over the last few weeks( Tyrone M Hart T McCann ) did it not come back to haunt them after yesterday's incidents ( including the minor game) ?? As I said before none of us are whiter than white.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/08/2015 09:30:16    1778524

It was a dirty game of football. As a Dublin supporter this is not the way I wanted to see my team play. TMO needs to be brought in.
Connolly struck anther player its a straight red. Having said that the Mayo player should have went because even in rugby that tackle wouldn't have been allowed.
They missed the nasty foul on ROC. As for Philly, a career in acting beckons, not normally a dirty player but I think a rush of blood to the head after seeing ROC go off. Ciaran Whelan made no excuses for Dublin on the Sunday game. He also pointed out that both Connolly and O'Shea were targeted and that this was wrong.

Hope the replay is a better game of football. I think Dublin got away with a Draw as we lost our mid field and Moran missed two very scorable points and should have passed the ball instead of shooting for goal. Dublin's short kick outs in the second half could have cost them the game along with a lot of indiscipline in the first half.

spmccann (Dublin) - Posts: 209 - 31/08/2015 09:32:43    1778530

Fair play to Ciaran Whelan last night. He is the king of the analysts and in my opinion he has no equals. he is fair, consistent and has no personal agenda. Did he ever play hurling with Raheny? I would not mind catapulting him over to the hurling sofa.

A coule of things stood out for me from getting another chance to review the incidents. The first is the Diarmuid Connolly incident. he was the victim I think. Lee Keegan was clearly the aggressor - he was successful. He got Dublin's marquee player suspended for the replay. Ok- Connelly did punch him and that is wrong. That is a red card offence. I think our best players need protection from refs and from cynical behaviour. Connolly did not get it yesterday and due to frustration at the very end he gave a little bit of a dunt and now he is out.

Rory O Carroll incident - similar in a way to the above - O'Carroll tries to block the run of Cillian O'Connor which is cynical. For his troubles though he gets an unmerciful belt in the head which means of O'Carrol left the field. This incident needs to be reviewed.

The Mayo penalty - McStay qualifies as the most mug analysis of them all. I remember a couple of fouls last year when Mayo played Cork and he brazenly looked at the camera and said they were not fouls. Last night was even worse. Colm Boyle was not tripped by Philly McMahon. He was flying through the air by time he landed on McMahon's knee. McStay's lies on TV as well as his failure to mention the O'Connor incident was embarrassing.

Philly McMahon and Johnny Cooper did get pulled up for their misdemeanour's and rightly so. It was not brushed under the carpet. It was dealt with. Now I do not think the two lads should be vilified any further on here or anywhere else. They are amateur players that gave their all. They played like kids that were hyped up on two much fizzy pop - McMahon in particular was involved in everything that was bad about the game (I'm not saying he was responsible for all of it -just seemingly involved)-I think he will be told he needs to calm down a bit the next time or those antics will cost his team-I doubt you can be focussesd on the game if you are up to other nonsense - ditto John Copper and he was taken off.

The title of the thread is will Mayo and Dublin get the Tyrone treatment? The answer is yes for Dublin and no for Mayo. On first viewing of the game I believed that Dublin were the main culprits yesterday- on second viewing, that probably is still the case but I am less convinced.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 31/08/2015 09:46:25    1778561

As i expected,the Sunday Game panel didn't spare the rod last night.All ye posters that were spitting blood post game can relax a little as there is no agenda against any one team or province.There never has been imo.A lot of the incidents were highlighted and commented on.All the pundits said it was niggly and cynical.P McMahon's feigning injury,diving and attempted headbutt were spoken about.Connoll'ys tussle with Keegan was shown.J Coopers rake of the studs down his opponents leg was shown.C O Sullivan's jersey tug was shown.C O Connors wild elbow was shown.Just like i thought it would be.No problem at all.I expect McMahon & O Connoer to face retrospective action.We will accept our punishment where it is merited.There is no witchhunt against us.In fact,i was disappointed in our lack of discipline yesterday.This sledging nonsense is a pain in the swissrole.We move on and live to fight another day.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 31/08/2015 09:49:45    1778569

Christ lads I think this word Cynicism is on the tip of everyone's lips and we are trying to find as many examples of it as we can.
The standard modern day players are at is higher than ever - those were two of the fittest teams I think Ive seen playing & that Dublin team are very big physically strong team - the work them lads have put in to be in this condition must be something else. I don't think any modern day team go to Croke Park on a semi final day after the serious work they have done and lie down. They will do whatever it takes to win - I seen two teams going at it & giving it everything.
Was the game particularly dirty - I didn't think so - maybe a few incidents but overall I didn't think it was.
Think we are all looking for negative things from each game - same happened in the Tyrone v Monaghan game.
I thought the Dublin defence were brilliant in the first half and some 50-50 calls went Mayo's way & kept them in the game. Id still take Dubs in the replay. Why did Mayo not go man to man & press the kickouts earlier.
Also credit to O'Shea for not making a meal out of an attempted headbutt.

tyronesaints (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 31/08/2015 10:08:22    1778600

Sp MC Can
Very good post and as you say C Whelan did say that the two players were targeted and indeed it is wrong. We know well as the amount of stick M Murphy has to take , same with the Gooch in Kerry and indeed other very good players. But this has been accepted all along , no protection offered to star players, can be punched , pulled and dragged.
Introduce video technology to help the refs. Yesterday I though the ref was a fair bit out for the first penalty.
Enough stuff has happened this year for the GAA to act. There should be no physical contact when the ball is not around, yet battles are happening all over the field in some games. Pulling jerseys needs to be addressed , a ticking for the first offence . Off with the second. But there is a lot of work to be done to clean up the game.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/08/2015 10:14:01    1778616