Will Dublin & Mayo get the Tyrone treatment?

There is no doubt the end of that game was exciting BUT there was a cynical, dark side to it. Pulling, dragging, dirty hits, deliberate fouls, feigning injury they were all there. If we are to have consistency the media must highlight all of the above. Tyrone have been absolutely hammered for this so will we get the same postmortem here? I won't hold my breath and that is what angers Tyrone and most Ulster Gaels.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/08/2015 17:17:35    1778095

You must be joking mate! No chance , it will all be brushed under the carpet

SpionKop (Galway) - Posts: 40 - 30/08/2015 17:24:20    1778105

Ulsterman

There is no doubt the end of that game was exciting BUT there was a cynical, dark side to it. Pulling, dragging, dirty hits, deliberate fouls, feigning injury they were all there. If we are to have consistency the media must highlight all of the above. Tyrone have been absolutely hammered for this so will we get the same postmortem here? I won't hold my breath and that is what angers Tyrone and most Ulster Gaels.

Needs to be at the Tyrone level in order for consistency

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 30/08/2015 17:26:11    1778113

You are 100% right. There is no chance that they will get the Tyrone treatment. It is not the narrative that fits.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/08/2015 17:28:47    1778117

It will be the complete opposite. There will be a big effort to get any cards rescinded.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 30/08/2015 17:30:52    1778118

No mention of it by the three wise men on RTE.

Considering the fact that Colm O'Rourke wrote a whole article in the Indo defending his right not to be a cheerleader for the GAA I would have though he would have been all over it like a rash.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/08/2015 17:33:58    1778126

Dublin get away with murder,don't be surprised to see Connolly play next week

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/08/2015 17:35:35    1778127

There's at least half a dozen players whose antics should be looked at retrospectively but what's the betting the Sunday Game tonight and the media tomorrow will ignore most of the cynical stuff and big it up as 'A Great Spectacle Altogether'.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/08/2015 17:35:58    1778128

I felt the very same way watching this game. There was a raking incident in the first half that was not branded the way it sholud have been, simply because it would have been at odds with the script of the game. There is a serious lack of consistency in the commentary and it is something that is very obvious in the commentary.

I think also that there was an absolute use of blanket tactics in the first and most of the second half. The game was very poor until the 60th minute. Suddenly it is a classic. Dont get me wrong, the last 10 minutes were very exciting, but I am making the point that we have got to stop playing favorites with what we want to see and what is actually happening.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/08/2015 17:36:28    1778130

Will McMahon be dealt with now?

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 30/08/2015 17:38:19    1778133

My son has rung me to say Brolly slated Dublin for cynical play , slated both teams for their play at half time , even went so far as to say if it was tyrone and Armagh they be slagged off ,called the play shi73 , so I can only assume original poster was watching SKY or has just chosen to ignore those comments .
Or do you only notice negative sunday game comments when its about the North Ulsterman . Those holding their breadth can breath now .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/08/2015 17:40:11    1778138

Fair point Ziggy. Connolly received a straight red. He'd be a massive loss to Dublin. However and I don't want to take away from a game which I enjoyed, but if anyone shouldn't be playing next week, it's probably Johnny Cooper. He's a really great defender but that stamp really should be more severely punished than a yellow card.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 30/08/2015 17:45:13    1778142

Jesus nordies give it a rest, yea there was cynical play, but compared to what ulster teams does it was teddy bears picnic stuff .
Get over it lads. Ulster football is finished for at least a decade, the 3 best teams in country are still in all ire and not one ulster side would get near either mayo or dubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 17:51:24    1778152

Of course not. Brolly mentioned it quietly in passing, without going on much about it; the other 2 boys did not pick up on it, nor did the presenter - and there will be no fallout and no charges and no media circus. at the end, all were outdoing each other to talk up what was a lamentably poor game, on the basis of a frantic final ten minutes resulting largely from poor refereeing decisions and numerous errors by both teams. i'd say Kerry can't believe their luck - out of Munster on a dodgy penalty decision, into an AI on a dodgy penalty decision and facing a choice of 'opposition' from two teams that are both very beatable. I'd fancy Kerry to hammer the pick of those two teams playing today.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 30/08/2015 17:52:12    1778154

royaldunne i take it you are one of these silly people trying to wind people up. How can you say a game that had dragging, pulling, sledging, black cards yellow cards and red cards as soft stuff. Get real and be a real GAA and call it how it is.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 30/08/2015 17:57:11    1778156

when you are on the floor against Dublin you's better watch yourself as they will always try the sly stamp/dig/punch/poke, whatever. not sure what Philly Mcmahon has to do to get a red card. Dublin and Kerry are every bit as cynical as Tyrone or Donegal and let no-one say any different. the evidence was all there before us Today. Great finish by Mayo. I think Cluxton's days as a freetaker are over. why did Connolly not take 2 of those frees which Cluxton missed (well capable).

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/08/2015 18:02:39    1778164

The media go over the top when its Tyrone cause its what people want to read - they make a living from writing lines

The main reason most people like to read that kind of stuff is because don't like Tyrone.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/08/2015 18:04:36    1778167

Jesus nordies give it a rest, yea there was cynical play, but compared to what ulster teams does it was teddy bears picnic stuff . Get over it lads. Ulster football is finished for at least a decade, the 3 best teams in country are still in all ire and not one ulster side would get near either mayo or dubs.

royaldunne (Meath) - 30/08/2015 17:51:24
----------------
Give over ye slabber. Compared to old Meath teams it might be teddy bear stuff. It was ever bit as "horrendous" as anything Tyrone were involved in this year. Lots of off the ball hits and niggling,blocking runners,pulling jerseys. I'm sure the sledging was there too. And don't even let us all get started on the backwards and across field play! Donegal were castigated for this legitimate type of play. I'd say the Dubs won't be though and what's more neither should they be. It's not against the rules to play possession football.!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 30/08/2015 18:07:31    1778174

Kevin03 i seen no lad theatrically fall to ground for a hair ruffle , i seen no Rugby tackles when a lad in on goal, today was cynical yes, but on the comparison to anything some ulster counties bring it was minuscule, and that shouldn't be something to aspire to.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 18:10:06    1778182

ziggy32001

Dublin get away with murder,don't be surprised to see Connolly play next week

----
I have to say I got a good laugh out of that. Check the free and card count. Two blacks and 1 red. Was there any mention of the blatant dives by O'Connor and O'Shea or was it the dirty aul Dubs as usual? 1 point from play from Mayo in the first half tells a lot. Colm O'Rourke, Dublin bias. That's hilarious.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/08/2015 18:10:58    1778187