J Cooper

Priceless, I think I just saw the Dub no. 4 nut A O'Shea!! Ps. Double hop by McMenamin for his point!

1914 (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 30/08/2015 16:36:33    1778058

Had posted at the time it happened re the head butt but it didn't make it through somehow. Glad I'm not the only one who saw it, was doubting myself there!
That's 2 Dubs who should have got red and a third who actually did! Couldn't see what Connolly did so can't comment.

1914 (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 30/08/2015 17:45:52    1778144

Disgraceful stamp straight red and unfortunately with the ref giving a yellow card nothing more can be done

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 17:59:12    1778158

Brolly, Spillane and O Rourke. No mention of the cooper challenge which was a straight red, potential leg breaker. No mention of the Philly Mc Mahon headbutt. The tug of the jersey isn't a black card because the blac card rule is a complete and utter farce, it does nothing to cut out cynical play and favours the big teams, in fact bastick coming on was a bonus for Dublin but the tug was a yellow card not given which would have been followed by a 2nd yellow and a red and again no mention from the panelists.

To be honest I know Tyrone lads have gotten stick for playing the victim but when you look at the reaction from the panelists to their game and this one then I have to say I can see why they feel aggrieved. It was one of the worst refereeing displays of the summer capped off with 2 non penalties given yet not a peep from the panelists and they couldn't wait to highlight Deegans mistakes last weekend even though overall he had a good game.

Balance or the lack of it from our analysts is a huge problem.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 30/08/2015 18:01:43    1778163

Bad challenge by cooper. If it was a Tyrone player there would be an outcry. Double standards from Dublin/rte as usual

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 30/08/2015 18:06:15    1778171

The analysts at half time were hopeless!

Copper should have got a red - Flynn tripped himself for the penalty, none of this was highlighted.

But sure - it all seems to be a bit of craic up in that Sunday Game box

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 30/08/2015 18:06:42    1778172

ya the ignorance of anything bad that Dublin do is unreal

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/08/2015 18:10:01    1778181

hopefully all these will be hi-lighted tonight in the Sunday game. If they are not hi-lighted then there is clearly biased anaysis by RTE.
and I am not usually one given to such statements. but I thought some dublin backs over-stepped the mark Today (as they have on previous occasions).

any idea what happened to Rory O' Carroll. (i hear 10 stitches,concussion).

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 30/08/2015 18:10:21    1778183

I thought that was really nasty from Cooper, a fine player who doesn't need to resort to that. Philly McMahon got away with a butt on O'Shea as well. There was a lot of niggly stuff in the match which surprised me. Conolly seemed to lose his cool in the first half and it was no surprise he eventually got sent off.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 30/08/2015 18:11:17    1778188

if it was a kerry player brolly would be up in arms

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 30/08/2015 18:27:09    1778200

Why all the anger lads?Im sure all incidents will be talked about tonight on the Sunday Game.The pundits will have ample time to clear up a lot of the stuff that went on,and if any Dublin players are culpable,i wont be defending them.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/08/2015 18:34:05    1778207

s goldrick

any idea what happened to Rory O' Carroll. (i hear 10 stitches,concussion).

He was knocked out with an elbow.

Not sure by whom but judging from the reactions on HS it was either Philly McMahon or Johnny Cooper! ;)

Was it not caught on camera?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 30/08/2015 18:46:03    1778222

cuederocket

Why all the anger lads?Im sure all incidents will be talked about tonight on the Sunday Game.The pundits will have ample time to clear up a lot of the stuff that went on,and if any Dublin players are culpable,i wont be defending them.

Well said cueder man.

A lot of anger out there all going one way.

I've already seen the Philly incident, although it was fairly tame by the letter of the law he should have gone.

Very little outcry over ROC been smashed up to the extent he needed 10 stitches and could not continue in the game after only a few minutes.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 30/08/2015 18:54:51    1778241

The Rory O'Carroll incident was not caught on camera

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 30/08/2015 18:57:09    1778246

I must admit I thought our penalty was not correctly awarded but then neither was Mayo's.Time to use a TMO where possible.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 30/08/2015 19:21:53    1778269

ziggy32001

The Rory O'Carroll incident was not caught on camera

Perfectly executed so.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 30/08/2015 19:41:25    1778295

Former_Poster

After the furore around Tiernan McCann for what I considered harmless playacting,

Please, is that how low Meath football has sunk? I don't think Lyons or O'Rourke would agree, with that attitude we'll see the re-emergence of Meath sometime in the 22nd century then.

kevin03

I would rather have a player dive than try to viciously hurt another player.

Is that the best you can do, that's a great excuse for cheating. You'd be a proud addition to the legal profession. If only Tyrone left it at diving and feigning injury maybe we'd could accept it. I mean McMahon's clothesline on McManus wasn't an attempt to injure. And this from the team that practically patented the old knee-drop on a prone player. You're going to find out how popular you are in the Ulster championship next year. If you make it past the first round intact I'll be mightily impressed.

Now to the actual thread:

Copper deserved a red, he's not a player I've too much time for and this was a particularly nasty incident. Too much mouthing from Dublin today for my liking, didn't see the alleged head butt or Connolly red card incident, so can't comment on them. Dublin stopped playing after 60 minutes, happy enough to have survived.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 30/08/2015 19:48:03    1778300

Personally I'm not sure the anger is necessarily towards the Dublin players to be honest.

It's a high pressure game and players make mistakes.

I think the anger comes from how it's dealt with by the likes of our esteemed national broadcaster

And I wonder if a lot of the holier than thou posters who were all over the mc cann thread will be as active.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1344 - 30/08/2015 19:58:25    1778315

@rcarragh I presume that is tongue in cheek from you - do you actually believe that Dublin football isn't based on cynical play and has been for past few years. Also as Shane Curran noticed today post game he has included soccer/Kerry style mouthing off at referee to your arsenal. That given ref gave Dubs everything lucky to have 14 on pitch.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 30/08/2015 19:59:42    1778318

Rcarragh fair play , of course cooper should have walked, i didn't see what happed to roc but if it was a elbow as most seem to say then the offender should be banned , McMahon was out of order too and cccc should and id say will act on it.
But a player i have been critical of many times should his class today in reaction to McMahon, he could have gone to ground holding his face but he just put his hands out and looked at ref , no play acting. Fair play Aidan o shea

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/08/2015 20:31:23    1778345