How can O'Rourke and Brolly be surprised with Tyrone fans reaction?

Richieq/. JOXER
Did the two teams not bring the game into disrepute with what went on yesterday.
How comes C Whelen did not ask Dublin/ Mayo to apologise for what went on yesterday. He was quick to ask Tyrone to do so.
Also a lot of posters on here blame M Hart for all Tate is bad about Tyrone.
Therefore I blame J Galvin/ Mayo management for what went on yesterday.
Don't forget there is history here ----1985Dublin v Mayo and Mayo's John Finngot a broken jaw. Nothing done about it and don't forget it was off the ball
Same with Meath 1987/88 1996/97 teams --- very cynical, well able to punch , stamp and all the dark arts.
I did not see the Sunday game so I can't comment but was there as big as uproar as were a few weeks ago.
In other words did Whelen and co on the SG give the Dublin cynicism the same scrutiny as was offered Tyrone a few weeks back
Do you think what T MC Cann done and what happened to RO C yesterday , which was the worst? Love to know what ROC would say.
Add to the fact that McMahon done similar to what McCann done, plus attempted head butt or did he indeed make contact.
What YE boys have to learn is that none of us are whiter that white. Get that into your thick skulls

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 31/08/2015 10:32:41    1778658

The problem is this thread has nothing to do with the Sunday Game, it about Brolly and O Rourke and their reaction to incident by one team and non reaction when it comes to other teams.

To be fair if people cant see that then they are refusing to open their eyes. The Sunday game isnt the issue at all.

yesterday was probably the most cynical game all summer and not a peep from Messers Brolly or O Rourke.

Im afraid to say im starting to see these Tyrone boys have a point after yesterday.

I doubt they would have had time to analyse it all, I've heard both men being critical of other counties before but before yesterday's war the main culprits were Tyrone. I never seen Dublin or Mayo engage in so much cynicism and negativity as yesterday and it was properly highlighted on the evening programme after a full review of the tape, sure the lads on the live game can't discuss everything and leave nothing for the later lads. This notion that Brolly and O'Rourke have agendas is pure nonsense and our esteemed GAA president didn't single out any specific analysts but the programme in general and for that he should hang his head in shame

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 10:34:00    1778659

Superglue. I didnt hear the Sunday game calling on the Dublin player to apologise for diving like they did with mc cann. Even the criticism they gave was a bit of a joke. They focused on 10 bad minutes in the Tyrone vs Monaghan game for more or less the entire analysis but the Dublin game had a full 70 minutes of fouling in it and only spent a few minutes at the end of the Sunday game talking about it. All anyone wants is a bit of fair consistency.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 31/08/2015 10:34:31    1778660

SamOnErrigal

Richieq/. JOXER
Did the two teams not bring the game into disrepute with what went on yesterday.
How comes C Whelen did not ask Dublin/ Mayo to apologise for what went on yesterday. He was quick to ask Tyrone to do so.
Also a lot of posters on here blame M Hart for all Tate is bad about Tyrone.
Therefore I blame J Galvin/ Mayo management for what went on yesterday.
Don't forget there is history here ----1985Dublin v Mayo and Mayo's John Finngot a broken jaw. Nothing done about it and don't forget it was off the ball
Same with Meath 1987/88 1996/97 teams --- very cynical, well able to punch , stamp and all the dark arts.
I did not see the Sunday game so I can't comment but was there as big as uproar as were a few weeks ago.
In other words did Whelen and co on the SG give the Dublin cynicism the same scrutiny as was offered Tyrone a few weeks back
Do you think what T MC Cann done and what happened to RO C yesterday , which was the worst? Love to know what ROC would say.
Add to the fact that McMahon done similar to what McCann done, plus attempted head butt or did he indeed make contact.
What YE boys have to learn is that none of us are whiter that white. Get that into your thick skulls

For a start I don't have a thick skull so you can take a run and jump for yourself with that comment, Kevin McStay last night compared the antics of Philly McMahon to Tiernan McCann and gave McMahon equal stick as McCann got and Whelan backed him up both in terms of diving/feigning injury and the attempted head butt. There was every bit as much criticism of game as there was with Tyrone/Monaghan. Of course when you want to defend yourselves ye have to mention a past Meath team somewhere ye are all like Peter Canavan in that regard who 19 years later can't forget what the devil worshippers from Meath done to him and Brian Dooher. Show me a Meath man that fell to the ground like a sack of spuds when he had his hair tossled, that feigned an injury or rugby tackled an opposing forward to the ground. We had physical players surely, some were no angels but they weren't the doomsday men a lot of ye paint them as and anyway we concern ourselves with today's game and today's actions not ones from 20 or 30 years ago, matters in today's game need addressing and some actions of players today need stopping and that includes some of the awful awful stuff from yesterday which needs addressing and punishing

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/08/2015 10:56:43    1778705

Ooohhhh the Nordies are getting a bit hot under the collar here and not even an Ulster team left in the competition. Whelan made the calls last night. I know it does not suit your Tyrone victimisation agenda Sam but cop yourself on bud.

As for McMahon doing what McCann did. Don't make me laugh, McCann had his hair tossed. In fact the physio should have been cited also for pretending to tend to a facial injury. How long did McCann serve for that again? Oh yeah, no punishment. Try and at least be a bit objective and take the chip off your shoulder.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 11:13:19    1778749

A clever article by C O`Rourke in Sunday Indo where he attempts to muddy the waters by giving the impression that Uachtaran CLG is against criticism of any sorts. Robust analysis is always welcome and is good for the game. Many including the president object to the very personal nature of the comments. Some feel uneasy hearing professional pundits name calling, slagging off and being personally insulting to amateur players. Colm is well able to dish it out on/off the pitch but is quite brittle when challenged.
Thought Sunday nights analysis was quite balanced and fair. C Whealan was critical of the dangerous follow though on Dermot O`Connor but said such behaviour is not in Johnny Coopers nature. He did not labour the point and ask him to apologise to O`Connor for a potentially shin breaking incident

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 31/08/2015 20:56:47    1779448

Did Whelan ask Cillian O'Connor to apologise to Rory for giving him 10 stitches or do only Dublin players have to apologise?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 31/08/2015 21:20:45    1779480

Did Whelan ask Cillian O'Connor to apologise to Rory for giving him 10 stitches or do only Dublin players have to apologise?

Joxer (Dublin) - 31/08/2015 21:20:45
--------------------
Welcome to our world Joxer :)
Slow down a bit though I'm having bother keeping up with ye bouncing around these threads. Good oul craic though Joxer....right Joxer?............Joxer?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 31/08/2015 21:27:11    1779487

Joxer (Dublin) - 31/08/2015 21:20:45
--------------------
Welcome to our world Joxer :)
Slow down a bit though I'm having bother keeping up with ye bouncing around these threads. Good oul craic though Joxer....right Joxer?............Joxer?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 31/08/2015 21:28:05    1779490

Some of the over personal comments by by professional pundits (paid by our licence fee) which I think that are offensive to amateur participants which crosses the line towards being abusive
1. TYRONE:
" Tyrone pay puke football, have a nasty smell following them. They will never win an AI with BD on board (eat my hat if they do) and dont talk to me of SK as a man" .. wont even go into how insensitive the memory of the lovely late Michaela was treated on amorning radio show.

2. DONEGAL:
" JMcG is a spoofer coaching Taliban to play sh**te football"

3. REFEREES
" He wouldnt know a penalty if it bit him in the arse and he engaged with Tyrone in a manner usually reserved for consenting adults"

Its no surprise that some people object to and challenge such OTT comments.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 31/08/2015 22:02:39    1779524

Of course other teams are as dirty as Tyrone.

Difference is the other teams don't cry when its pointed out. I haven't heard any Dub or Mayo fans complain about the head-butt. I'd love someone to come on here and name one county the SG hasn't blasted at one point.

My own county got blasted for the Derry v Dublin game. Did we complain about basis and an anti ulster stance. NO

Any know if their own county has never come in for some negative feedback?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 01/09/2015 09:01:55    1779541

The game is sold out for next week and that says it all. I hope that everybody is available to play (both counties) and that the GAA get a new governance committee (sack the existing ones as the appear not up to the job) and give the lines men the same power as the ref and cut out all this 'off the ball' stuff as pulling and dragging is not pleasant to watch and leads to incidents.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/09/2015 09:42:26    1779563