10 reasons why Kerry will retain Sam

1 reason: the ref, sure there are stories going around that the ref for the Kerry v Tyrone game last weekend was at a few Kerry weddings in the last few weeks, nothing would surprise me

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 27/08/2015 17:54:04    1777232

I personally don't think they will win Sam. I saw enough in the first game V Cork plus last Sunday to have a felling Kerry has problems in the back line.
Cork got through twice in the drawn game to score goals and to be honest Tyrone should have scored a few more on Sunday.
As regards E Fitzmaurice , he is a very good manager, got a lot of luck last year, Mayo should have beat them and indeed Donegal could and all but at the end of the day the fault lay with both Donegal and Mayo,especially Mayo who were unable to close out the game when in charge
But I don't think E F is as good as M Hart. He took Tyrone , a county with no history of winning Sam to three All Ireland's and on each occasion beat Kerry either in the final/ semi final.
Since 2010 Dublin have two all Ireland's , Cork, Kerry and Donegal have one each and I now predict Mayo to join them this year. So I don't think any of the above mentioned counties were way in front of anyone else and there is defiantly no talk of how far in front Dublin are this year. That post has disappear off the radar altogether
As regards the Kerry forwards, hooch was one of the outstanding forwards in the last ten years, will he ever rediscover that form again as I thought he was well held by Tyrone the last day.
As regards O'Donoghue he was held scoreless on Sunday, same as in last year's All Ireland final. Will he produce it in the Final.
But every county have natural footballers, they don't have Kerry's tradition, well most of them don't. But you look at Ulster teams over the last 10/12 years and the forwards who came out of it , Peter Canavan, S O Neill O Mulligan, S McDonald O mcConville Ronan Clarke Aidren Sweeney, Brendan Devaney ,P Bradley and B Coulter. All fantastic footballers.
My opinion of the result of the All Ireland would be and I don't think many will agree---- Mayo to beat Kerry if they get there , if not Kerry to beat Dublin.
Don't forget last year when Mayo played Kerry for a period in the game Mayo played the best football seen all last year but still could not close out the game.
I think they have learned, mentally I think they are really tough, after all the big games they lost over the last five years they still keep coming back and I think this is their year.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 27/08/2015 20:07:14    1777284

Could you credit it, Fitzmaurice gets Kerry to back to back finals and lads on here are still questioning his worth as a manager and still relying on the 'oh sure Kerry are unreal lucky' line.

If Gavin or McGuinness managed what Fitzmaurice has done in the last 18 months fella's on here would be saying Brian Cody wouldn't be fit to tie their laces.

A bit of perspective and a little credit to an outstanding individual please.

If we manage the Double (or the Double Double as its now being called in Kerry) Fitzmaurice will be the key reason why....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 27/08/2015 21:34:15    1777311

Don't want to be seen as over defensive here. Just reasonable and a touch sarcy ;)
However,

27/08/2015 10:55:03
Lockjaw

1776958 Kerry are suspect when teams run at them with hard runners on the overlap. Both Mayo and Dublin have players capable of doing this
Maybe, but I think this danger is over stated by all pundits. All depends on tactics. We could go ultra defensive and block these channels. We could also just outscore the opponents while they focus on scoring 2 or 3 goals. I thought the new young Tyrone forwards showed some great finishing from open play last Sunday and maybe if Tyrone had released the ball in earlier rather than the running game they would have put up a higher score.

27/08/2015 12:19:14
Find_the_space

1) He came up against nothing and lucky not to concede 3 goals last Sunday.
I disagree with this 4 goal opportunity view that is on the boards. You could equally argue that Kerry missed 6 points that you would expect them to normally take. Tyrone's opportunities consisted of a) a super block down by MOS with 2 defenders behind him and a point conceded as a result. b)A definite opportunity that the Tyrone forward scuffed with poor handling - not created by Tyrone's strong runners though. He should not have been in possession in the first place. A massively risky and blind offload by Lyne - could happen in any game to any team. 3)a scuffed snapshot that could happen in any game 4) A good save from 15 yards out. Would have been a super finish if it had been a goal. Definitely an opportunity though, yes.
By the way Mickey Harte is the best manager on the scene. No argument.
2) Moran & Maher in form of life.best Kerry midfield partnership since 80s - Looked dodgy enough with a small Tyrone midfield MD Macauley or Seamus O'Se may have something different - Everyone has an off day. I thought Maher was strong.
6) Adaptability - Ugly? Cynical? Defensive? - I've relooked at the game. Cynical is hardly the first adjective I'd use unless I was focused on looking for cynicism alone.
7) You've singled out 1 forward. In fairness, Buckley was class last Sunday and in the AI last year.
8) T say they are a team full of leaders i'm not too sure. I agree - still very young in most positions. 15 months ago they were in "transition". Leadership is coming though.
9) History - Doesnt matter if they are going for 10 in a row or their first ever history shouldn't play a part they should want to win it every year like all 33 counties dream before the season. Agree. And it doesn't play a part. Last year was last year. This is a new AI. Needs to be won.

27/08/2015 12:09:14
thelongridge
County: Offaly

1777018 Add soft provincial championship to the list.

Ahem…….take a look in the mirror. Back door is hardly the hardest way either. Just a fact. We need to build standards outside of the 9 or 10 main counties.

27/08/2015 11:51:27
SeppBlatter

1777005 Dubs or Mayo will beat them due to more hunger in the Final.

Seriously? Do you really believe this?

27/08/2015 10:06:43
waynoI

1776922 1 reason why they wont.

Dublin

Quiet possibly Waynol. In fact you're probably right. Cough cough.

26/08/2015 21:48:20
Pingcity
County: Longford

1776868 11. Referees give them everything

Always. It's just fantastic to know we've got a 3 point head start going into everygame.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 27/08/2015 21:49:40    1777312

Kerry are just brilliant,I'm so proud to be a Kerry man and another all Ireland to look forward to,by getting back into the all Ireland again they proved there better champions that Dublin,1 reason I'll give for Kerry regaining all Ireland is they are simply the best team in Ireland ,way hey

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 27/08/2015 21:58:47    1777317

The hermit
Don't forget E F took over a team full of All Ireland medal winners
Compare they to J McGuinness as the team he took over were used to loosing and loosing heavily.
Also E F had the experience of playing in and winning All Ireland's.
Anybody that says he had no luck lastyear is talking nonsense. Most people on here would say Mayo should have beaten them last year. And to me he got fierce lucky against Donegal as everything fell right for him on the day
Give him a couple of more years and we will see but don't forget J MC G brought Donegal to two All Ireland's, winning one So as it stands it's the same as E F barring Kerry wins this year's Sam

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 27/08/2015 22:03:10    1777320

riverboys

1 reason: the ref, sure there are stories going around that the ref for the Kerry v Tyrone game last weekend was at a few Kerry weddings in the last few weeks, nothing would surprise me

Glad i bought him them few pints of guiness..i had a feeling he was the sort not to get a round of drinks back but as he got us to the final I will let this one go.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 28/08/2015 13:56:15    1777491

Sam, can I ask you something (and its a bit unfair to be singling you out as plenty more on here go for this 'Kerry were just lucky' business)

Does any team win an All Ireland without some element of luck somewhere along the line?

If the answer is no, then why are Kerry the only side to have their All Ireland victory in 2014 constantly undermined by accusations that it was just blind luck?

For example, was it not luck in the 2013 All Ireland semi final when the sides were level that two Kerry lads ran into each other allowing the ball to squirt into Kevin Mc's hands, was not added luck that his miss hit for a point ended up lobbying the Kerry keeper and finding the back of the net, to push Dublin ahead?

In 2012, was Donegal's crucial goal against Kerry in the Q-final not luck, a ball in that 99% of the time would easily have been dealt with.

Yet I never hear anyone on here claiming Donegal or Dublin won those years due to pure luck.

Given the topic of this discussion, I wonder why???

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2015 14:16:38    1777508

Sorry, in regards to my last statement I thought this was the 'Kerry get no credit' thread not the '10 reasons why Kerry will win Sam' one.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2015 14:18:29    1777513

1 reason - midfield. Moran is an outstanding midfielder and Maher is not far behind. Their passing is also very good so the quality of the ball makes it much easier for the forwards. If they run out of steam Tommy Walsh can come in or Donaghy can move out. They also push up so short kickouts won't work. Can't see Dublin or Mayo troubling this dominance.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 28/08/2015 14:22:40    1777520

Sam
As a top South African golfer once said the harder he trained the luckier he got.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/08/2015 14:45:22    1777538

I would say being one of only 2 teams who can win it should have made your list, 50-50 chance!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 28/08/2015 15:26:17    1777567

Kingdom boy, given the tenure of a lot of people's opinions of Kerry on here I think down here we need to come clean on the actual ten reasons why Kerry will win Sam:

1) Kerry are the luckiest team in the history of Irish sport; no other All Ireland champions have owed their crown entirely to the whims of random chance. It certainly wasn't won through talent, ability, good management, hunger, desire or any other such commodity associated with champions.

2) Eamon Fitzmaurice; The luckiest man in Ireland. Not fit to be utter on the same page as Gavin or McGuinness.

3) The referees: They've won every game for Kerry in the last 18 months. Its a well known fact that a complex of holiday chalets down in Killarney and have offered one to every inter-county referee in exchange for turning a blind eye to Kerry players.

4) 'The Kerry Media': As we all know a horde of ex-Kerry players have clandestinely secured control of the entire Irish media. These men's sole concern is to ensure that Kerry are depicted as Christ himself in football team form.

5) 'Kerry time': As exposed by a poster on here during the week. Like 'Fergie time', Kerry time is designed so that no matter how far behind Kerry are in the closing stages of a game, sufficient additional time is added to allow them to win. Most famously 15.5 hours of extra time were added to the 1930 All Ireland final which allowed Kerry claim the title after the Monaghan team was forced to leave Croke Park to try and catch a horse and cart home.

6)Cynical/Dirty/Ugly football: Its well know the Kerry panel were entirely selected from the 300+ Kerry people who make up Ireland's prisoner population. Fitzmaurice hand picked the most foul, depraved individuals for his starting 15.

7) 'Keiran Donaghy': This guy is trained in engineering full scale riots among fans and players alike, ensuring that even when Kerry are losing, matches are forced to be abandoned and a re-play given.

8) The Kerry Bench: A powerful weapon. The bench, a long, thick durable piece of Norwegian spruce, can be used to simply beat opponents to death on the field allowing Kerry to romp home to another victory.

9) 'Joe Brolly': A secret Kerry County Board operative smuggled across the border to Derry cicra 1990. This sleeper agent was programmed with one mission, to make a sensationalist career in the national media and lull any opposition into a false sense of security by giving the Kingdom no credit. Last Sunday's post match analysis was the work of years of meticulous preparation.

10) Did I mention luck?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2015 15:37:20    1777573

TheHermit

Kingdom boy, given the tenure of a lot of people's opinions of Kerry on here I think down here we need to come clean on the actual ten reasons why Kerry will win Sam:

1) Kerry are the luckiest team in the history of Irish sport; no other All Ireland champions have owed their crown entirely to the whims of random chance. It certainly wasn't won through talent, ability, good management, hunger, desire or any other such commodity associated with champions.

2) Eamon Fitzmaurice; The luckiest man in Ireland. Not fit to be utter on the same page as Gavin or McGuinness.

3) The referees: They've won every game for Kerry in the last 18 months. Its a well known fact that a complex of holiday chalets down in Killarney and have offered one to every inter-county referee in exchange for turning a blind eye to Kerry players.

4) 'The Kerry Media': As we all know a horde of ex-Kerry players have clandestinely secured control of the entire Irish media. These men's sole concern is to ensure that Kerry are depicted as Christ himself in football team form.

5) 'Kerry time': As exposed by a poster on here during the week. Like 'Fergie time', Kerry time is designed so that no matter how far behind Kerry are in the closing stages of a game, sufficient additional time is added to allow them to win. Most famously 15.5 hours of extra time were added to the 1930 All Ireland final which allowed Kerry claim the title after the Monaghan team was forced to leave Croke Park to try and catch a horse and cart home.

6)Cynical/Dirty/Ugly football: Its well know the Kerry panel were entirely selected from the 300+ Kerry people who make up Ireland's prisoner population. Fitzmaurice hand picked the most foul, depraved individuals for his starting 15.

7) 'Keiran Donaghy': This guy is trained in engineering full scale riots among fans and players alike, ensuring that even when Kerry are losing, matches are forced to be abandoned and a re-play given.

8) The Kerry Bench: A powerful weapon. The bench, a long, thick durable piece of Norwegian spruce, can be used to simply beat opponents to death on the field allowing Kerry to romp home to another victory.

9) 'Joe Brolly': A secret Kerry County Board operative smuggled across the border to Derry cicra 1990. This sleeper agent was programmed with one mission, to make a sensationalist career in the national media and lull any opposition into a false sense of security by giving the Kingdom no credit. Last Sunday's post match analysis was the work of years of meticulous preparation.

10) Did I mention luck?

Hermit : you forgot about the importance of having the easiest route to the final .

Sure Donegal beat Tyrone back in May.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/08/2015 16:40:23    1777591

The hermit
That was brilliant but don't be giving away our secrets for god sake , joe won't be happy you outted him :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/08/2015 16:51:37    1777594

Hermit : you forgot about the importance of having the easiest route to the final .

Sure Donegal beat Tyrone back in May.

And we beat Mayo last year which ye failed to do this year..what difference does it make who beat who

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 28/08/2015 18:51:18    1777620

Ah admin, either post up everything I said or don't post it at all but stop selectively editing posts.

Surely your safe from libel, how often those D O'B actually log on here? Then again if he is just a pseudonym for ex Kerry players, maybe your right not to post that!

At least I assume that's why you edited my posts, unless of course I was actaully correct about most of the things I said..

And we all know people have been promised a crack at the Rose of Tralee if the final goes Kerry's way...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2015 19:04:30    1777622

Your still doing it, I'm actually getting worried I've stumbled onto something.

Is a five time All Ireland Kerry defender actually training certain extremists in the middle east???

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2015 19:27:54    1777627

The hermit
Of course you need luck to won games and we had our fair share of luck in 2012 but we did beat all the BEST teams in Ireland that year except of course Dublin who we did not get a chance to play.
But I can also tell you from following Donegal for 50 years we also had desperate bad luck.
I still can't have it they E Fitzmaurice is one of the great managers, wait until he wins a few more All Ireland's as after all he has just win one so far.
Micky harts achievements is way way in front of what EF has done so far and did M Hart get much praise after he won one AI
He did not , it took two more All Ireland's for Tyrone before he got much praise
I will give one reason why Kerry COULD WIN THE SAM THIS YEAR ----- if Dublin get to the final Kerry wil win it
One reason why they won't win --- if Mayo reach the final they will beat Kerry and fairly handy at that.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 28/08/2015 20:14:15    1777646

Your entitled to your opinion Sam, personally I think your being too hard on Fitzy.

Its not just about winning one All Ireland, in 3 years in charge and he has won 3 Munster titles on the trot, taken us to 3 semi finals and now two finals. He did all this while also completely rebuilding the Kerry team in the process creating perhaps the most impressive squad in terms of depth and talent in the history of Gaelic football. He has also made Kerry the most adaptable team in modern Gaelic football.

Remember where we were when he came in? We were reeling from that Donegal defeat, it looked as if half the team would retire into the sunset. We then proceeded to get trounced in our first three League games, let me tell you in March 2013 it looked like Kerry would be in the doldrums for the next decade. Hell, in April 2014 it looked like we were going nowhere after the pasting Cork gave us down in Tralee and the spate of retirements after the semi final loss to Dublin.

18 months later and we are on the cusp of a double-double, its been an amazing turnaround and the key factor is Fitzmaurice.

One last point Sam, in fairness to Mickey or Jim or any other manager they don't operate in the pressure cooker that is Kerry GAA. Paidi got it spot on, we are animals.

We expect and demand success every year and let me tell you despite everything Fitzmaurice has done, if we should lose the final this year and have a poor championship next year, they will be calling for his head down here.

I think anyone outside Kerry who assess the worth of our managers, needs to bear that in mind at all times. Managing Kerry can be a thankless task, just ask Pat O'Shea....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/08/2015 21:48:11    1777663