If Mayo don't win Sam this year...

Insensitive thread this. If they don't win it they will be back to win it next year. Do you think they are going to disappear you fool. They are still one of the top teams in the country and will be for some time.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 25/08/2015 15:45:20    1776015

Dubsfan28
2012 final for me Master....beat the 2011 Champs off the park in the first 50 minutes of the semi final and then let(in my opinion a far inferior) Donegal team beat ye....now if that's not bottling then I don't know what is to be honest man.

In 2012 we were rank outsiders - the least fancied of the 4 semi finalists. Dublin were runaway favourites last year. Indeed, mayo are the least fancied team left again this year. Will you bottle it again? Two years in a row and it is fair to say that serious questions would be asked.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/08/2015 15:50:22    1776021

Add an Eminem backing track and you have yourself a hit psych-up track wayno.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 25/08/2015 16:07:26    1776040

Unfortunately I have a feeling this could be Mayo's year. I've heard they're working hard on the Heimlich Manoeuvre in training.

14KY37 (Kerry) - Posts: 30 - 25/08/2015 16:11:41    1776043

If Mayo don't win Sam this year then they will be there or thereabouts next year again.
They have been there or thereabouts the last decade, don't see it stopping if they lose another semi final or final this year.

That is a massive if by the way.
On their day they certainly have enough to beat any team.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 25/08/2015 16:24:01    1776051

Dub fans are really brilliant at subtle mind games arent they?!

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 25/08/2015 16:35:37    1776067

In fairness to the Mayo panel they have shown great character & desire over the years to consistently come back challenging, then again a team which has no all-ireland will always be willing to go that extra yard. Look at the Armagh teams of the early noughties, they took a few years to come in and finally win one. I think there's a different hunger about Mayo this year though, Aidan O'Shea has been a revelation at full forward but is also equally effective out the field should Mayo need him there. This team has shown fantastic resilience, losing the two finals in a row, then the heartbreak v Kerry last year & losing the manager James Horan who all the players loved, to come back this year and fight again is a testament to themselves and the county of Mayo. I would love to see them go all the way. Roll on Sunday and what is sure to be a cracker of a game.

ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 25/08/2015 16:50:32    1776091

waynoI

They wont for a very long time to come.

Everyone is expectant.

The country awaits the clash of number 2 and 3 in the country.

Most will be wanting a Mayo victory. Understandable.

Mayo without doubt have an insatiable hunger.

But their opponents this weekend wont be fazed in the slightest.

We've been there.

We've done it.

We've won the big one twice in the last 4 years by the smallest of margains.

We've nothing to prove to anyone and this team goes out on sunday under no pressure whatsoever.

Even alot of our fans on here expect Mayo to win. (I don't though)

The weight of the world is on your shoulders.

Its time to deliver Mayo.

Doing it against Donegal in a half empty stadium against an aging team is one thing.

Doing it against Dublin is another type of test..

We're ready, Are you ?

Sink or Swim boys.

This is your time, Have you the bottle ?

Jimbodub called. He want's his posting template back.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 25/08/2015 16:53:44    1776094

If Mayo dont win this year they will come back again for the semi final stage next year and will be a major threat.

If they dont win next year they will come back the year after and again be a major threat. Nothing different from the last 5 or 6 years.

Hopefully they can get over the line (not this year) in the near future..they deserve it and they owe us a beating or two along the way.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 25/08/2015 16:56:35    1776097

Waynol, good to hear that you are ready for action if Jim calls on you.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/08/2015 16:56:48    1776098

I'm only in my mid 20s, and the first AI I remember was Meath-Mayo in 1996. Even then you had lads claiming if Mayo didn't win it that year then they never would. Its been repeated nearly every year for as long as I've been alive

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1646 - 25/08/2015 17:03:17    1776104

Mayo are now in my opinion the "gold standard" team in the GAA. They set the standards of scoring, passing, skill and sportsmanship. If a young lad wants to play football watch the current Mayo team. They are the best. Losing a semi final will not be the end. Both Kerry and Dublin are close to them. But Mayo operate without the benefit of the GAA hierarchy and media approval. Like most Connacht teams have traditionally had to. Mhaigh Eo abú

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 25/08/2015 17:07:32    1776109

If mayo don't win Sam. ...they'Ll come back and give it a good shot next year like every year. Part of me wants them to win because they're a connacht side and they've been so close so many times . Another part of me dosent want them to win because I don't want to listen to some of the mayo fans rubbing it in next year when we meet them (and probably beat us again) although many galway fans did the same when the situation was reversed so I can't really complain.

Credit where credits due fair play to the lads for picking themselves up every year and going out and giving it a good lash every year.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 25/08/2015 17:24:22    1776122

I would hold no fears for Mayo if they were to lose on Sunday.For me,Mayo are,and always will be,part of footballs elite seven counties.Kerry,Cork,Dublin,Meath,Tyrone,Galway and Mayo.Obviously,at various times,some of these counties will go through barren spells,but with their rich histories and traditions,size,populations and structures,they will never be too far away.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 25/08/2015 17:27:18    1776124

Dublinfan28
'Donegal an inferior team'
Would that be the 'inferior' team that put three goals past Cluxton last year?

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4331 - 25/08/2015 17:32:41    1776130

:D

too easy lads.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/08/2015 17:39:33    1776135

If Mayo don't win it this year it will be back to back semi final defeats however they will be back next year to reach another All Ireland final because it will likely be the Ulster champions they will play in semi final.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 25/08/2015 17:45:06    1776141

Just what HS needed; another Mayo v Dublin trolling thread.

Great response Yew_tree.

And for the record, I think it'll be Mayo by 4.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 25/08/2015 18:41:25    1776167

Assumed this must be a wind up but seeing who its coming from you can't be sure.
I believe Mayo will beat the overhyped,overrated Dubs next Sunday by 3 or 4 points.
Up the West!

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 26/08/2015 11:10:01    1776389

If they dont win it will be because they wrent good enough. Like all the other teams that dont win it.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/08/2015 11:28:07    1776402