Kerry footballers get less credit that any side

Strange take on things and contradictory to suggest it is a mental thing if you consider that Kerry have beaten Mayo easily in AI finals anytime they have met yet you are suggesting they would beat Dublin but not Mayo. Dublin while not in form to suggest they will beat Mayo or Kerry this year have been more than a match for ye in recent years and done the business when games were there to be won and lost.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/08/2015 11:22:57    1775776

Kerry get less credit....is that a joke??

In the munster final this year Colm Cooper played an 8 yard pass to a fella who sped past him unmarked , and it was called "genius" !!
James O'Donoghue got MOTM in the same game and it caused a national convsersation!!

Get off the stage!! If a Kerry forward farts, its a WORLD CLASS fart....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 25/08/2015 11:35:02    1775779

noelnyc

. Hesitant to repent another point I made but Tyrone or Kerry would beat thj Dubs, a mental thing I feel.

How did that mental thing work out for Kerry and Tyrone in their 2 most recent Championship meetings with the Dubs?!

Stunning analysis bud.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/08/2015 12:16:39    1775823

25/08/2015 11:35:02
Liamwalkinstown

If a Kerry forward farts, its a WORLD CLASS fart....
You're probably right about the world class forwards Liam eventhough this particular Kerry team isn't a great one really. They've still a bit to prove. Definitely fancy Mayo or Dublin.

thykingdomcome1 (Kerry) - Posts: 78 - 25/08/2015 13:14:00    1775874

Monaghan played the purest brand of football this year. Where's our credit.

farneyforsam (Monaghan) - Posts: 35 - 25/08/2015 13:58:31    1775913

Well i dont think it comes as a great shock that our footballers dont get any credit on hoganstand and some other media outlets.

Last year the ref got us through against Mayo in both games..in the final we were lucky that the Donegal goalie set us up for a goal and our defensive set up meant we really didnt deserve to win.

Against Cork this year the ref got us through again. Against Tyrone the ref had his Kerry jersey on once more even though the only decision he got wrong in Kerrys favour was the Enright black card issue IMO.

In the noughties we reached 8 finals in 10 years and still we werent seen as the best team by some.

However they do get massive credit in their own county which is all that matters really, these bunch of "average" players have brought us great enjoyment over the last 2 years and we certainly didnt expect reaching back to back finals.

The comments on this thread show the massive resentment for Kerry in most corners of the country but nobody in the kingdom is surprised anymore.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 25/08/2015 14:31:05    1775946

Would ye ever give over with that oul' Blue Juggernaut 'aura' guff!!!! The cute hoorsim is getting tiresome at this stage -try another schtick! You must think we're all total gobsh*tes up here. The Dubs have no aura - you have the aura of being champions, winning Sam more than any other county & and you demolished Kildare. Behind this cute hoorism is the smug assumption that ye all ye have to do is turn up and take 'your' trophy back.

Avonali have you been on the moon since last Sunday evening? Just look at this thread 'Kerry are lucky' 'Refs favour Kerry' 'Kerry are cynical' these themes have been regurgitated throughout HS and other forums and yet you attack me? Have you got an ABK agenda? Wouldn't be the only one if so. Have we seen these sentiments towards the Blue Machine or Mayo for that manner on this scale? The answer is a resounding NO. The players & management & even Kerry fans have been getting in the neck for the last 2 years. We celebrated too much according to Jarlath Burns, dearie me celebrating at getting to an AI 2 years in a row, what whinging will be hit with next!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 25/08/2015 15:48:33    1776018

Yooo Dubh Linn, ye some people just don't get the mental thing, obviously some of ye are incapable of seeing certain things in football. The mojo favors Mayo over Kerry because Mayo are due a win over Kerry and Kerry have the edge over Dublin because Kerry owe the Dubs one . And Kerry are simply a better team at the moment. And I'd say Fitzmaurice will have ye figured out, if ye get past Mayo. Good luck Sunday to both teams.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 25/08/2015 18:43:52    1776170

Lads for F-sake, why are you so worried?

Who gives a rats ass what a bunch of begrudging anonymous keyboard warriors think about us?

Who gives a toss what the media in the 'pale' think either, look at the reaction to the game on Sunday it tells you everything you need to know. Most of the focus on Tyrone's misses or the referee's performance and barely a mention of what Kerry actually did right to win the game!!!

I'm so proud to have such a special bunch of talented, honest, courageous young athletes representing us on the national stage. Look at the excitement and pride they have brought all us Kerry fans over the last two years, epic performances against the best Ireland has to offer. Last year's win was something truly special and they've followed it up by reaching another final, something no other county has even managed in 25 years!

These boys follow closely in the footsteps of another very special group which dominated in the decade before them, but they are their own men as JOD put so eloquently in his post match interview.

Win or lose next month they are our heroes and they will never be too far away from an All Ireland over the next few years.

The only recognition they need (or want I suspect) is from their own people, to walk into a pub in 10 years time and hear in hushed towns a father tell his son, 'see him Sean, that's Donnacha Walsh the warrior from Cromane who used run himself into the ground for Kerry, what a performance he put in against Tyrone in 2015, a legend'.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2015 19:31:39    1776201

Christ some on here are awful needy, like another county who all year yearned for the need to be reassured by others that people seen them as a top five team why the constant need to be told how great you are? The facts speak for themselves reigning champions back in the final, i think there is a lot of respect out there for Kerry but it doesn't mean we all have to bow down and worship at the altar.
As for people saying J Burns criticised Kerry supporters for celebrating, well that's just not true and just makes you sound silly and bitter.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 25/08/2015 19:34:12    1776206

noelnyc

Yooo Dubh Linn, ye some people just don't get the mental thing, obviously some of ye are incapable of seeing certain things in football. The mojo favors Mayo over Kerry because Mayo are due a win over Kerry and Kerry have the edge over Dublin because Kerry owe the Dubs one

Pity that 'mojo' wasn't around between 1978-2010 for us.

Were you all talk about this 'mojo' coming up the road in 2008 against Tyrone?!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/08/2015 19:34:46    1776207

25/08/2015 18:43:52
noelnyc

Yooo Dubh Linn, ye some people just don't get the mental thing, obviously some of ye are incapable of seeing certain things in football. The mojo favors Mayo over Kerry because Mayo are due a win over Kerry and Kerry have the edge over Dublin because Kerry owe the Dubs one . And Kerry are simply a better team at the moment. And I'd say Fitzmaurice will have ye figured out, if ye get past Mayo. Good luck Sunday to both teams.

Well now my friend its one thing if you have a better team and that's fair enough if you think that you might win on that account but all this business of mojo,due a win and owing someone is bs and far from a convincing arguement. How many times would Mayo have to loose a final before they were due one or indeed yourselves against Tyrone in the last decade. Where was the mojo or the due a win in those cases. The mental side of the game is nearly more important than any other but nothing to do with any of what you mention.
Good luck in the final,whoever wins will need a bit of that too.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/08/2015 08:29:16    1776303

I don't think the Kerry players give a damn about credit - the team taking sam home on the 3rd weekend in September is all that counts.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 26/08/2015 08:59:01    1776308

Noelnyc

Mojo! Really? I saw this posted on another GAA board and i 100% agree. "The thinking that perennial losers have to have their day in the sun doesn't cut it with me - much like the fella that throws money into a fruit machine thinking they have to win some time. Sport is littered with the nearly men or teams,

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/08/2015 09:48:37    1776334

I think they are not getting the credit because of the way in which the won last year's and this year's semi-final. Also the penalty award to them in the munster final. There is a swelling opinion that they are getting the majority of marginal calls in their favour. Also possibly adding insult to injury is that tyrone were lambasted by the media for two weeks and fuel was added to the fire when the tight decisions particularly in the second half were seen to be in kerry's favour.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 26/08/2015 10:36:59    1776360

Kerry do get the credit- don't they get to take Sam home to their county nearly every year!- that is the ultimate credit. I would not say that they are getting marginal calls!. I would like to be able to play a game of football and rugby tackle the opposition in the square without a penalty been given as I'm sure it would help my team on the road to victory.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 26/08/2015 10:45:58    1776368

Adamski- so now Kerry are also to blame for Tyrone getting lambasted for two weeks before the semi final. You reap what you so, those boys brought the heat upon themselves. And as far as mass belief that all the calls have gone Kerry's way, not true. Also, Kerry won the final last year by beating Donegal at their own game. When Kerry were getting beat by defensive teams the media and anti Kerry mob said Kerry were too soft. Now that Kerry have adapted to the defensive mode, they are called ruthless. Ha, ha, ha. Give it a break please.

noelnyc (Kerry) - Posts: 82 - 26/08/2015 10:50:17    1776373

noelnyc

Did I anywhere in my post discredit kerry, no I didn't. I am merely giving my opinion why I believe some people are not giving them credit. I couldn't care less whether or not they get credit or whether they adopted donegal's style to beat them or whether or not they play puke football as a former great kerry player labelled tyrone's style in the noughties. . So relax a little sure Sam will be back down there come end of September and that is all that matters.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 26/08/2015 11:04:50    1776386

Man from county with 37 All-Ireland titles complains that his county does not get enough credit...

Hmmm...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 26/08/2015 11:36:11    1776406

Lets all give a big AWWWWWWWWW to all the Kerry lads who don't feel they are getting "enough credit" I didn't think anybody could be so insecure to need constant praise and adoration all the time. Ye are reigning all ireland champs and have 37 titles to your name for flip sake, if ye don't think you're getting enough credit then fair enough...but just suck it up and get on with it instead of looking for sympathy and for someone to stroke your bellies and tell you it's gona be alright.

"Don't worry about a thing, cause every little thing is gona be alright"

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/08/2015 12:36:44    1776453