Tension on the Hill?

You wouldn't catch Donegal supporters at this sort of carry on.

Like Daniel we are all pure as the driven snow & we would be afraid that our mammies would see us on Tv & be waiting for us when we got home.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/08/2015 20:05:14    1776226

It's a sign of the times unfortunately. There was a time, 80s certainly, when gombeens at GAA matches were associated only with Dublin but the pendulum has swung drasticaslly. Just like in the same decade, heroin and drug addiction was seen as an urban problem, now it's a problem in every town in the land. Without wanting to sound like an aulfella, we were always thought to give up your seat for an elderly person, hold a door open for a lady and use your manners. It doesn't happen any more. I was up in Clones at a match earlier in the year. Both sets of fans were on the lash for the day. I won't lie, I like me jars and I can handle a few but as we were lashing down the pints the younger crowd were on a different planet; shorts, shots, alcopops, red bull and vodka, you name it. I wouldn't have lasted an hour drinking that s€&t, even in my prime. Some of them were borderline unconscious coming up to game time. This generation are on a different level and it ramps up aggression levels. Emotion and absurd amounts of gargle don't mix.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/08/2015 20:23:43    1776238

In fairness there is a good percentage of common sense being brought to this forum and not just blind singling out of one set of fans as some would prefer. Daft of anyone to call for the closing of a fine terrace simply because of a minority of idiots.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/08/2015 20:31:49    1776242

It's sad to hear such things are happening, and to be fair Kerry can't be singled out.
Go to Clones early on Ulster final day , fans arriving and a lot heads straight for the bar. Probably just makes the throw in in the senior game and would rather have beer than watch the minor game.
Last year after we beat Dublin , a Dublin man got off his seat and went around shaking every Donegal persons hand that he met. NOW THATS THE WAY TO TAKE YOUR LOSS AND I THOUGHT IT BRILLIANT OF THE MAN.
Young people today are spoilt and you can blame the parents for a lot of how they are behaving.
The counties should have in place supporters clubs, membership cards and ban anyone acting the holligan.
Defeat is hard to take at times but nobody will keep winning and while winning be nice to the loosing supporters.but to me too much drink is being consumed before games.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 25/08/2015 21:07:41    1776259

Good post joxer,, some awful idiots gargling before games,, unfortunately our county gets more support so the proportion of gob daws is higher,, hate the canal drinkers too,, heard them singing 'I'd rather be a p@ki than a royal' a couple of years ago,, absolute morons and casually racist. Think the people around them at games need to end their bs early doors..

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 25/08/2015 21:40:48    1776282

Last year at a hurling match in Croker, a group of 20+ lads and lasses from kilkenny were doing what we all did when we were 18 - annoying adults. One guy (there is of course always one) lobs a plastic bottle (with liquid) and it lands on a kids head about 2 years old or so sitting on his mums lap a few rows down. Like most typical Dub mums she decided to sort this out so she placed the child on the seat howling. Stormed up to the group and asked which one throw it? They all pointed to one guy and she roundly slapped him full on the cheek I reckon they could her it in the bar in Na Fianna. And I think that was that as they say.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/08/2015 13:01:23    1776482

Great Post Joxer ,
The title of the thread is misleading , the problem isn't the Hill its a society issue , Following Dublin for nearly 40 years Ive seen my fair share of twits , heard racist ignorant chants etc However there is an aggression that the younger generation carry with them [ of course not all] that is unsettling .
As for an earlier poster who suggested how far away are we from segregation at games , I would never set foot in a GAA that required segregation , I sit by my fellow country man , give it socks and shake hands afterwards an down a few and banter starts again .
Mentioned in an earlier piece about not having the greatest time in Kilarney this year , a trip Id really been looking forward to , it should be mentioned real fans were sound , it was a younger generation that were more than itching for a fight .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/08/2015 13:15:44    1776504

Damo, its invariably the younger gobsh*tes that are the issue in all counties.

At the final in 2011, all the Dubs around me were falling over themselves to shake my hand after beating us.

But heading outside the stand to hide out in Mulligans for the night, I ran into a group of young knacks coming out who decided to start at me, because they had won.

Do I take them to be a representation of 98% of Dublin fans I've encountered at matches and who have spotted me a drink, win lose or draw, no I don't.

But you get the older gobs*tes as well.

At half time in the final last year I was queuing for a pint and having a friendly chat with the Donegal fella behind me who was convinced they had us where they wanted us, only for some half cut fella from South Kerry to come up and start roaring about Donegal men climbing trees and telling him everyone in his county was an effin disgrace.

I suppose for all the wrong reasons these people need sport as an escape form their own issues...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/08/2015 14:40:59    1776588

Soon after the 2011 final win,i was outside a Ballybough pub,where i saw a couple of Dublin gangsters give a few slaps to a middle aged Kerry man who was walking past with his wife.It was a sad sight.The wife shouted something like "dirty dubs" as he got up off the ground and walked off.Maybe there was others on here who saw this,but about twenty minutes later,a fully kitted out Garda ERU came into the pub where there was a stand off until these well known thugs reluctantly left the premises.Thankfully,ive seen no trouble since that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/08/2015 15:05:13    1776610

The Hill must stay, it is the last link to the old Croke park, when full gives CP a unique atmosphere and is the last bastion of the working man in the increasing gentrification of our national games.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/08/2015 15:13:49    1776618

To be fair in the early to mid 90s when we visited croke for our annual semi final then I would consider myself as one of the halfwits who shouted abuse while being half gargled.

Thankfully ive matured a bit now and would like to take this opportunity to apologise whilst donning my sackcloth in ashes to any 'free stater' within earshot of me including the refs!!

With hindsight maybe I was the reason Antrim lost their automatic entry into the semi finals!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 26/08/2015 15:25:13    1776631

bumpernut
To be fair in the early to mid 90s when we visited croke for our annual semi final then I would consider myself as one of the halfwits who shouted abuse while being half gargled.

Thankfully ive matured a bit now and would like to take this opportunity to apologise whilst donning my sackcloth in ashes to any 'free stater' within earshot of me including the refs!!

With hindsight maybe I was the reason Antrim lost their automatic entry into the semi finals!

Same as myself when I first started going to games with my Dad me and my brother were quite as a mouse. When we reached the tender age of 14 , 15 , 16 and started going to games on our own we joined in the singing along with the other Tipp lads trying to fit in I suppose for the day that was in it.
Back in those days 1997 , 1998 , 1999 , 2000 , 2001 we met Clare quite a bit and sang some horrible stuff about their players namely Davy and Ollie Baker.
I had the privilege to meet him later on in life and mentioned in conversation what we used to sing about him. Also apologized to him for my teen antics but he just took it with a pinch of salt and we had a laugh about it over a drink.His some character all the same a gas man away from the pitch.

Its nice to be grown up now and see things from a different perspective win , lose or draw. I guess some lads just mature over time and others don't.
You have to laugh though when the camera catches some egit given the finger salute how many teams have we seen it this year already anyone know ? 3 or 4 maybe ?

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/08/2015 16:12:42    1776675

At least we can still be trusted with terraces in this day and age. Across the water they had to ban them years ago because hundreds of people would create mayhem on them every week. There are bitter rivalries and there are bitter people. Thankfully for the most part we know how to separate the two.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 26/08/2015 16:50:28    1776701

WildPundit
County: Tipperary

I remember those chants WildPundit. I remember I think it was 1999 in particular, Davy took abuse the whole game, you could see it was winding him up. The Blackrock end was feeling pretty chuffed with itself until the last minute or so of the game, when Clare got a penalty. Davy looked back at the terrace, and then took off like a rocket, and put 70 minutes of irritation into converting that penalty, that ball is probably still travelling. Talk about motivating the guy.

Its worth pointing out that this isn't just a problem with the hill, this happens on terraces everywhere. I remember being on the Blackrock end in the late 90's, 70% of what went on was funny, but 30% or so was pretty nasty. I remember an elderly steward being knocked out cold on one occasion, by someone who climbed over the barrier during the match, not a proud moment. One of the worst days was the match against Waterford in 2000, there was nastiness all day, which culminated in chaos on the train back from Cork when a huge fight broke out, which led to a scary crush on the train. But that's what happens when you've young fella's already twisted when they're getting on the train that morning.
Overall, the GAA has been very lucky that it hasn't had a more serious incident on its terraces over the years.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 26/08/2015 18:42:38    1776780

Dead right Marlon JD I remember at one stage they even put cameras up by d scoreboard at d Blackrock end when tipp were playing. We did have a name and I agree it sounded funny at the time and been honest looking back I'm ashamed of what I was singing but as u know yourself there was a great kick out of slagging Davy, ollie, and Co. 2000 indeed with the train incident was awful.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 26/08/2015 21:48:42    1776869

SaffronDon
At least we can still be trusted with terraces in this day and age.

Not at Croke Park, the Hill has a big plastic Riot fence in front of it, to prevent pitch invasions and to stop the great unwashed desecrating the hallowed ground ! And of course that "problem" doesn't exist anywhere else? along with boo'ing free takers, penalty takers or then now ritual GAA insult calling everyone a "Knacker or a Pikie". It is all just one step removed from someone throwing a punch or kick and then everything will change.

BUT we are talking about a tiny minority, the vast majority of the younger generation are fantastic and will of course surprise and amaze us as they always do.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 27/08/2015 09:40:48    1776904