Tension on the Hill?

They should turn the hill into a stand and that would be the end of all the trouble, plus it looks crap compared to the rest of the stadium.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/08/2015 21:25:06    1775624

I did read the previous posts Joxer and then gave my opinion on the Hill. Yes I know Dublin weren't playing yesterday. My point is it's a magnet for gurriers and especially so when Dublin are playing when it attracts a certain element who in fact give Dublin supporters their bad name. Better to discourage them by not having the facility of gathering on the Hill in my opinion.

The right stuff, of course they can knock the Hill and put a roof on a single tier stand. Doing so would have no bearing on the railway line or houses behind. The stand and roof could in fact be lower than the eyesore that's there at present and certainly wouldn't interfere with light e.g. as per the north stand at the Aviva only it could be three time as big.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 24/08/2015 21:42:07    1775637

Not surprising really the ignorance of those calling for hill to be made a stand.
No idea what they are talking about and the usual jump in with a post brigade who are eager for a bit of attention.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 24/08/2015 21:46:10    1775641

Onion breath,

"Yes I know Dublin weren't playing" yet still bring Dublin into the discussion when Dublin along with every other county has its fair share of idiots so I don't think its fair of you just to be singling Dublin out to be honest.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/08/2015 09:40:16    1775683

is this more reason to keep the hill dublin only. The last match the fermanagh fans were a disgrace, im certian none of them will remember anyhting on the hill. Th ehill is full of dublin history and anyone thta goes to the ploughing championshipo should stick with the cusack

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 25/08/2015 09:50:15    1775692

There are far more families going to the Hill nowadays for Dublin matches then in the past. People who would have normally been on the Hill whilst teenagers or in their 20s and then moved to the stands are staying put since the Hill's redevelopment. It has made I think for a less raucous but safer and more family friendly atmosphere on the Hill for Dublin games.

In that respects our Carlow Onion eating friend's view on the Hill and Dublin is about 15 years out of date.

In fact, drunken young fellas is a more common sight on the Hill for the likes of Sunday's game or the hurling the previous week. When country teams are playing you do not tend to see as many families or older people on the Hill in comparison to Dublin games these days.

There are still a few drunk eejits on the Hill for Dubs games but I think their percentage has gone way down in the last 10 years.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 25/08/2015 12:34:29    1775847

Sad to see this stuff, but as someone mentioned earlier I think its more a sorry reflection of the youth culture in modern Irish society rather than anything to do with the actual GAA supporters of whatever county jersey these people wear. Invariably its teenagers who are left go to matches unsupervised and get tanked up on cheap drink well before the game throws in.

On the train up on Saturday, I had to sit behind a group of 5 foul mouthed young lads from Dingle who were already heavy at it. For the replay in Killarney I was standing in front of this townie from Tralee dolled up to the nines ready for her night out after the game and supping from vodka disguised in a coke bottle. There she was roaring the most inane sh*te as the game went on, only for a poor old fella from Cork to turn around and tell her to keep it down. She saw red then and started shouting abuse at him, calling him an old 'spastic' at the top of her voice until myself and 5-6 others (both Cork and Kerry supporters) rounded on her and told her to shut her trap or we would get her flung out. She quietened down after that, but its so embarrassing to see people like that in your own county colours.

I really wish these people would just feck off into some field where they could drink, and hurl abuse or fight with each other and leave the rest of us alone.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/08/2015 13:04:09    1775867

Honestly that type of crap just wouldn't be tolerated by the dubs on the hill anymore. Kids will be kids no matter where ye go be it stand or terrace. Remember the young lads from meath last year in the davin. Well on and stripping causing mayhem. Just kid stuff really but its up to those around them not to put up with it imo. Those young lads from kerry are no different from the young kids from fermanagh or meath or dublin or wherever. Its a generation issue rather than a location issue.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/08/2015 13:32:32    1775889

Sad to see this kind of behaviour creeping in to GAA.Some young Kilkenny fans were also captured on TV giving the finger to Waterford lads after Reid's goal in the semi.
Every county has them I'm afraid.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 25/08/2015 13:45:23    1775899

ballydalane
County: Kilkenny

Danny Dyer is doing a documentary on this next week.

Very good, Danny Dyer would fit right in, even thinks he's tough

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 25/08/2015 14:11:46    1775922

Good man The Hermit. There's plenty, young and old, drunk, stoned or otherwise agitated that can ruin a game for some supporters and they're from every county. Thankfully they're a tiny minority and best ignored.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7355 - 25/08/2015 14:12:52    1775924

Not confined to the Hill either - I was sitting next to a man from the North (lower Cusack) who I assumed was Tyrone fan but after about 10 seconds it became obvious he was just there to abuse them. Every second word out of his mouth was 'c**t'. He wasn't even cheering for Kerry, just anti-Tyrone. What's worse is he left with 5 mins to go and the game still up for grabs.

You will get morons of all shapes & sizes in every county. I was in Omagh for qualifier game earlier in year and the Tyrone fans were excellent (in spite of 1996!), in fact I was more embarrassed by behaviour of some Meath fans abusing their players/manager.

As mentioned though, there needs to be a clamp-down on drunk lads getting onto the Hill because it will only take some eejit to assault someone or a lad to fall and split his skull on the ground before it all hits the fan. And this has been going on for years with lads absolutely locked going into the ground.

SmallHouse (Meath) - Posts: 291 - 25/08/2015 14:38:34    1775954

The only time I've seen people being removed from Croke Park was on separate occasions a young couple from Kildare and two young lads from Mayo. Neither were on the hill.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 25/08/2015 14:55:48    1775968

There were certain counties i couldn't stand - drunk, annoying , no interest in the game..... then one Sunday I was selling tickets ( club fundraiser) in Clones..... I was shocked, appalled, taken aback by the young and not so young full of drink, sick etc... just a nuiseance...
The match had a 4pm throw in ( TV reason) , I was in Clones from 11am with my tickets- , I missed the minor game as ticket selling was the priority but when you are at a venue early and observe the 'fans' it shocking the level of drink consumed..... i do believe people went to Clones that day and didn't get off the bus or leave the pub!!!! And the county .... it was my own!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 25/08/2015 15:20:16    1775996

Been going to the Hill for over 20 years now and I have to agree with Mes that it is not as bad as it was for drunken gombeens than it was in the early 90's when I started going. There are still drunk/stoned aholes that still frequent the place but I have seen it a lot worse in the past but the small minority can still ruin a good day for the majority unfortunately but does be grand in the section of the hill I stand anyway so maybe I miss some of the messing that does be happening.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 25/08/2015 15:22:43    1775998

breffni, though in fairness you dont be in hq much with cavan

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/08/2015 15:51:33    1776023

saddam

1776023 breffni, though in fairness you dont be in hq much with cavan

That's absolutely hilarious alright but in reality I'm probably there more often than you are.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 25/08/2015 16:16:05    1776046

TheHermit

Sad to see this stuff, but as someone mentioned earlier I think its more a sorry reflection of the youth culture in modern Irish society rather than anything to do with the actual GAA supporters of whatever county jersey these people wear. Invariably its teenagers who are left go to matches unsupervised and get tanked up on cheap drink well before the game throws in.

On the train up on Saturday, I had to sit behind a group of 5 foul mouthed young lads from Dingle who were already heavy at it. For the replay in Killarney I was standing in front of this townie from Tralee dolled up to the nines ready for her night out after the game and supping from vodka disguised in a coke bottle. There she was roaring the most inane sh*te as the game went on, only for a poor old fella from Cork to turn around and tell her to keep it down. She saw red then and started shouting abuse at him, calling him an old 'spastic' at the top of her voice until myself and 5-6 others (both Cork and Kerry supporters) rounded on her and told her to shut her trap or we would get her flung out. She quietened down after that, but its so embarrassing to see people like that in your own county colours.

I really wish these people would just feck off into some field where they could drink, and hurl abuse or fight with each other and leave the rest of us alone.

The voice of common sense. I have been going to the Hill for most of my life and I never felt unsafe there. It's absurd to suggest demolishing a fine terrace just because young people who drink to much tend to congregate there. Alcohol abuse is a national problem and it is a problem that is deeply engrained in the GAA. Obviously some posters here have never heard the abuse roared from terraces in Semple Stadium. I remember the homophobic abuse that was hurled from cowardly drunken yobs on the Town End at Donal Og that would make your eyes water.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 25/08/2015 18:48:45    1776175

saddam

breffni, though in fairness you dont be in hq much with cavan

He's still allowed go.

There isn't some sort of anti-Cavan apartheid gonna on that I've missed is there?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 25/08/2015 19:32:10    1776202

Sad to say, but the GAA is sadly devolving into the English Premier League. Lads on the field diving and feigning injuries to fans in the stands and terraces abusing each other. During Kilkenny V Waterford right after TJ Reid's goal, RTE panned to a KK fan on the Hill giving the double middle finger salute to his Waterford counterparts. I know every county has morons like this. I had an instance during the 2012 semi between Dublin and Mayo where an older gentleman asked a younger fan in front of him to sit down in the Cusack and the fan started to yell and scream obscenities at the older man and give him the finger. Where are the days of sitting beside the opposing fans and engaging in harmless banter. On that day I reported the behavior to the steward who then involved a Garda and this solved the issue. If this type of behavior, and there are folks from all counties who do it, goes unchecked there will come a day in the GAA where opposing fans will be segregated and that will be a very sad day for the association.

TOB (USA) - Posts: 24 - 25/08/2015 19:40:12    1776210