Tension on the Hill?

I was on the Hill for the Tipp v Galway game and actually stood with Galway lads no trouble in our section.
However yes there was some Tipp young fellas about 16 r 17 your usual trouble makers throwing stuff cos the Galway lads were celebrating.

If Tipp had won and Galway lads were doing that I'm sure we'd feel how they did. Everyone's entitled to celebrate their teams victory without getting finger gestures and stuff rifled at them.

I was actually embarrassed as a Tipp man passing those Galway lads on the way out but I shook their hands and wished them luck. And a lot of them came over and shook hands too with myself and my brother.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 24/08/2015 14:17:02    1775296

There are idiots everywhere. Nowhere near as bad as soccer matches though.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 24/08/2015 14:24:14    1775300

No problem MesAmis..i knew you were not targeting all Kerry fans.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/08/2015 14:25:56    1775303

Thats the spirit wildpundit.I nearly always shake hands with those sitting beside me at games.Win.Lose.Or draw.Thank God these young ginnits are in the minority.Drink plays a big part.You would hope most of them grow out of it as they get older,although sadly,there are a few that man,nor beast,cudnt tame.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/08/2015 14:43:34    1775317

Nearly everyone I know who drinks on the canal play gaa with their club, its not just barstoolers, some are eejits, most arent

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 24/08/2015 14:45:25    1775321

Drink was no doubt the driving force behind any abuse, its very un-Kerry like in all honesty based on my own personal experiences, nothing to see here.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/08/2015 14:51:54    1775335

get rid of the hill!!!!!!

The_Bull (Cork) - Posts: 248 - 24/08/2015 16:40:45    1775448

The_Bull

1775448 get rid of the hill!!!!!!

----

Why exactly.. because a few culchies cant control themselves?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/08/2015 16:44:57    1775454

get rid of the hill!!!!!!

Love it up there. Great craic.

Was there for the Munster Massacre in the capital in 2009 (Tipp 6-19 Limerick 2-7) and am rather ashamed to say left early. When Tipp got their 5th goal my travelling mate who was driving said he wanted to go. The 'cheerios' of the blue & gold sandwich army were still ringing in my ears when we hit the Limerick border. Can't beat the craic on the Hill.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/08/2015 16:49:04    1775461

There'll be tension on the Hill come Sunday :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 24/08/2015 16:53:37    1775466

Find_the_space

Dublin People don't get it when other teams are playing have the hill cause they are assigned 99% of it wehen they play. Tyrone fans were probably a bit tipsy when entering croker and having a bit of craic singing songs, I heard a Yaya, kolo chant but couldnt make out what they were singing.

God help our fans for doing what Dublin have done for years to then be criticised about it!

Probably the clearest manifestation of paranaoia I have seen on these boards. Nobodu- NOBODy- said anything negative about Tyrone Fans. Posters, especially Dublin posters
were very complimentary about Tyrone fans.But hey, don't let the truth stop you from indulging in another lazy anti-Dublin rant! Jeez.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 24/08/2015 16:59:55    1775471

I really don't get the Dublin hill thing, many of the most genuine GAA fans in Dublin prefer the Hill to sitting in the stands, yes you get done buck eejits in there but no more so than from other counties - a lot of s@ite talked about the Dubs, what many forget or don't know is there are few better Gaels than the genuine Dublin supporter.

I'd agree with other posters the biggest issue emerging in match day is the number of 17/18 yr olds landing into the terrace langers, time for the stewards to do their job and bar these idiots from getting into the ground.

Few of the Kerry fans badly caught on TV giving the hand gestures, to be fair looked like a bunch of gobs@ites who had been drinking all day, I'm sure their parents and indeed clubs were proud f them - f@ck all to do with Kerry GAA and more a sad reflection on the way Irish society is heading

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 24/08/2015 17:02:07    1775474

Agreed paudie! Well said buddy!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 24/08/2015 17:59:07    1775515

Murph

There was a good atmosphere been honest. Playing Dublin you get the majority who wouldn't know there own club and canal drinking brigade loud and brash. Tyrone and Kerry crowd were in general behind the reside and none of the usual crap associated with Dublin

------
Stay classy bud.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/08/2015 19:53:25    1775571

The Hill should be gotten rid of in my opinion. It has no historical significance, only a myth, and unfortunately when Dublin are playing tends to be a magnet for cider drinking gurriers who turn up at Dublin games but wouldn't bother turning up elsewhere, including in a seat anywhere else in Croke Park. Knock the Gill and replace it with a decent single tier covered stand, in fact make it the family stand with the proviso that half the seats goth kids from the competing counties, including on all Ireland finals days.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 24/08/2015 20:22:18    1775590

Will we ever see segregated crowds in the GAA? Only takes a couple of serious incidences!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 24/08/2015 20:45:29    1775596

Onion Breath
County: Carlow

The Hill should be gotten rid of in my opinion. It has no historical significance, only a myth, and unfortunately when Dublin are playing tends to be a magnet for cider drinking gurriers who turn up at Dublin games but wouldn't bother turning up elsewhere, including in a seat anywhere else in Croke Park. Knock the Gill and replace it with a decent single tier covered stand, in fact make it the family stand with the proviso that half the seats goth kids from the competing counties, including on all Ireland finals days.

---
Yeah but Dublin weren't playing yesterday so who was throwing the bottles? They weren't playing in the hurling match the previous week either so who was fighting, as reported, then? Did you not read the posts above?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/08/2015 20:56:59    1775601

Onion Breath
County: Carlow

They cannot knock it for a number of reasons : natural sunlight will not enter the stadium if its closed of like the canal end. Also there are houses there and Irish Rail run past.

The Hill is a brilliant place once its filled. When its packed with flags on AI final day , its something to behold.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 24/08/2015 21:04:47    1775610

I really don't get the Dublin hill thing, many of the most genuine GAA fans in Dublin prefer the Hill to sitting in the stands, yes you get done buck eejits in there but no more so than from other counties - a lot of s@ite talked about the Dubs, what many forget or don't know is there are few better Gaels than the genuine Dublin supporter. I'd agree with other posters the biggest issue emerging in match day is the number of 17/18 yr olds landing into the terrace langers, time for the stewards to do their job and bar these idiots from getting into the ground. Few of the Kerry fans badly caught on TV giving the hand gestures, to be fair looked like a bunch of gobs@ites who had been drinking all day, I'm sure their parents and indeed clubs were proud f them - f@ck all to do with Kerry GAA and more a sad reflection on the way Irish society is heading
PaudieSull1 (Down) - 24/08/2015 17:
Fair play to you Paudie it's posts like yours that restore faith in what this forum has to offer with all the spitefull pettynesd that is so prevelent. Plenty of misrrable boys out there who can't wait to put the boot in at every opportunity God love them.
Fsir

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 24/08/2015 21:12:51    1775616

Danny Dyer is doing a documentary on this next week.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 24/08/2015 21:16:25    1775617