Tyrone 2015

In truth Kerry were coasting in the second half and became complacent. This led to the turnover which led to the penalty. However after Tyrone levelled, Kerry reasserted themselves and we're easing away from Tyrone at the finish. It's a pity to see Morgan taking so much flak over his performance. Fitzmaurice showed himself to be a very good manager. His changes both before and during the game all came off a treat. Buckley helped them to settle into the game and worked like a trojan whilst Cowley had complete mastery over Cavanagh. If Tyrone can find some midfielders thus releasing Donnelly to the forward line they will be a top team.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 24/08/2015 14:46:32    1775322

Tyrone are 2/3 years and two free-takers away from being top 3 or 4 team.
As GAA increasingly resembles rugby (league/union, massive drift defenses, short later passes, breaking the 'gain line',attacking in pods looking for an overlap), the need for a couple of dedicated, specialist free takers is becoming paramount.
Whilst lovely skillful play might create goal chances, these are infrequent and lower percentage plays. The ability to stick over 80% of frees 45-50 yards out, is the equivalent of a penalty taker who can keep the score board ticking over from any position in the opposition half.
Until Tyrone has two players of this ilk, they will always fall at the SF stage.
Why two players? Deegan can't black card both of them, can he?

liamoggordon (USA) - Posts: 13 - 24/08/2015 15:03:31    1775347

GaryMc82

Their biggest downfall was losing a lot of decisions as a result of the previous negative publicity of the Monaghan game, and they wasted a few easy chances that could have still got them a draw or possibly a win despite the referee Maurice Deegan.

I agree they didn't take their chances but the rest of that paragraph is complete rubbish, simple as that really.

Tyrone of the 00s were a great team that I genuinely admire who didn't need excuses or pity me complaints but the embarrassing excuses and constant attempts to play the victim of the current Tyrone team is sickening to listen to. Please just shut the F up and get on with your football.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/08/2015 15:08:17    1775355

Lads, did Tyrones playacting and diving come back to bite them in the arse yesterday with respect to the second penalty call ???
if so, is that a karma of sorts?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 24/08/2015 15:28:51    1775374

Its a weird thing that when Kerry win everything all seems well in the world. The balance of the universe has been restored and RTE are happy, fans from other counties seem happy. Its just the natural order.

But are there not people out there sick to the teeth of seeing Kerry win? Do fans not think, Jaysus Christ not them again.

TyroneLegend78 (Tyrone) - Posts: 52 - 24/08/2015 15:33:09    1775383

That's a bullshit kinda statement Liam, unless this 'Karma' you say, is written into the GAA charter then there is no such thing, there is however a poor standard of refereeing and that is real.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/08/2015 15:38:29    1775387

Tyrone are good at stopping good teams from playing. I give them credit for that, it is a skill in itself (maybe aided by the slippery conditions to be fair, but you need a bit of luck too), but I don't think it makes them a top team on its own. They have too many guys who the team rely upon completely - Cavanagh, Donnelly and Harte. Any of those guys don't play and they drop in quality. Compare that to Kerry, there is realistic talk of dropping the gooch, david moran was taken off and marc o'se was gone off too. But you had guys like Crowley, Geaney and fitzgerald doing well, that the week before weren't in the team.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 24/08/2015 15:48:43    1775397

TyroneLegend78

Its a weird thing that when Kerry win everything all seems well in the world. The balance of the universe has been restored and RTE are happy, fans from other counties seem happy. Its just the natural order.

But are there not people out there sick to the teeth of seeing Kerry win? Do fans not think, Jaysus Christ not them again.

Fans from other counties seem happy?? Where are you getting this from?? Anytime we do win then 3 or 4 anti kerry threads are created on here!!
On RTE the panelists all agreed that Deegan had some part in Kerry winning..Brolly highlighted kerrys fouls and not once mentioned the horrible challenge on the gooch.

To answer what you asked..no i am not sick to the teeth of Kerry winning.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 24/08/2015 15:50:28    1775398

TyroneLegend78

This kind of perplexes me as well. There have been many comments posted up here from various counties and on other media forums which were either anti-Tyrone in their nature or surprisingly pro Kerry. I say surprising given that they have reached over 50 AI finals, won nearly 40 and are on course for yet another but the general GAA community just seem to blindly accept this as the status quo, its a curious state of affairs indeed.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 24/08/2015 15:51:43    1775399

Has it not been shown clearly on the Sunday game that the second penalty claim was no penalty so the ref was correct. The decision on the cards had no bearing on the game, Enright would have been replaced had it been a black card and at that stage of the game whoever replaced him would have done the same job till the final whistle. The major goal chance in the first half for Tyrone and the penalty in the second half both came from huge mistakes for Kerry players giving away the ball. The fact is Kerry were the better team and there mistakes gave Tyrone the chances they had. The reason certain parts of the media and certain gaa fans dislike Tyrone is because they are so negative in there play, attitude, discipline and respect for others.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 24/08/2015 16:06:15    1775418

Mr Fox from Wexford would the certain parts be the southern counties and Southern Media by any chance.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 24/08/2015 16:36:06    1775439

As regards gaa fans seems to be from all over the country from reading HS posters. Your trying to Deflect from my post by trying to make it a location issue when the point is about negativity and lack of respect shown by tyrone.

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 24/08/2015 17:09:57    1775481

TyroneUltra

Mr Fox from Wexford would the certain parts be the southern counties and Southern Media by any chance

Here we go again, another deluded load of sh*te, honestly are "southern counties" and "southern media" 2 verbal tics that some Tyrone fans simply can't cure, any criticism at all and they inevitably get blurted out. Try coming up with something new, thinking is good for you, you know.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/08/2015 17:11:34    1775484

fox and htaem...... dislike all you want

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 24/08/2015 17:16:56    1775490

benched

fox and htaem...... dislike all you want

I despise excuses and playing the victim benched and sadly Tyrone are full of those at the minute, but I was also hard on our own manager Mick O'Dowd this year for making excuses, you see I am consistent and I don't believe in 'my county right or wrong', if we're wrong then we're wrong, no excuses.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 24/08/2015 17:44:06    1775510

Htaem

TyroneUltra

Mr Fox from Wexford would the certain parts be the southern counties and Southern Media by any chance

Here we go again, another deluded load of sh*te, honestly are "southern counties" and "southern media" 2 verbal tics that some Tyrone fans simply can't cure, any criticism at all and they inevitably get blurted out. Try coming up with something new, thinking is good for you, you know.

-----
Very true Htaem, they just can't leave geography or politics out of it but sure at least we won't have to hear any of it again now until 2016 and the start of the national league.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/08/2015 18:05:00    1775517

mrfox
The reason certain parts of the media and certain gaa fans dislike Tyrone is because they are so negative in there play, attitude, discipline and respect for others.
That is hitting the nail on the head, aside from all the nonsense they gorge themselves they did have a very good year. They are just so hard to love.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 24/08/2015 19:59:30    1775576

Don't think that's the case at all OP. Everybody knows you write off Tyrone at your peril. We took them as seriously as they deserved, we rose to the challenge in Ballybofey & beat them well in one of the best matches this year. Jim McGuinness called it perfectly after that match back in May, as I think you'll find he did in every single article he penned in the Times this Championship. He predicted then that Tyrone would be around at the business end; indeed a lot of us in DL felt they'd taken the road less travelled, i.e. We had an inkling back in May that we'd be better off in some ways going down that qualifier route but we had the hunger for the Ulster all the same (the Anglo-Celt is such a cherished prize after all). That back-door route allowed Tyrone to build away nicely, blood new players & bond as a team. It has served them well this year & puts them on an excellent footing for next year. They will have learned a lot, in particular from the Kerry game. Fair play to them, they acquitted themselves well yesterday.

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 24/08/2015 20:58:13    1775602

Tyrone's missed goal chances cost them yesterday. You can't afford to miss chances like that and go on and win
But to me yesterday the loss of j MC Mahon a few weeks ago was a massive blow to Tyrone
Had he been playing IMO Tyrone could have won. He is probably their best defender.
But Tyrone have the makings of a very good side. Will make a serious challenge for Ulster next year.
I know their defensive structure is brilliant but they needed a goal early on yesterday to put them in front. Donegal are more or less on the same boat--- defensive teams like Tyrone /Donegal need a goal or two. Get a couple points lead and then play the game on their terms.
But the blanket works to a certain extent, Tyrone proved it yesterday and only for the Kerry half forward line yesterday it could have been a different result.
Funny thing about yesterday James o Donoghue failed to score from play, just like in last year's All Ireland final
Another thing I thought after yesterday's game was how well Donegals defence done last year, conceding just nine points. Not many teams keep Kerry to that and in saying that I know we conceded two bad goals
But I can see Tyrone back , a very dangerous team next year and fair play to them Can't stand these posters from weaker counties running them down, especially counties that have won nothing.
Don't forget that only for Tyrone , Donegal Armagh and Down over the last 10/12 years Kerry would have almost made a clean sweep of All Ireland's.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 24/08/2015 21:34:04    1775630

well said Sam. you have it all covered there. Seann Finn. My neighbour I have moved over the border.I am like the fox over and back.
I think that many people are in awe of teams that have won AI s and in reality have a jealousy streak.
Kerry have won too many AIs . Thats not their fault. the reason been that other counties went to meet them in crocker, went up to play some nice football and admire Kerry playing.
So my message would be get your act and gameplan together and stop admiring them, go out and take them on. Tyrone werent afraid to go at them yesterday.
you wont win an AI whinging about what different teams did to your team.
turn the negatives into positive energy and watch the results change.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 24/08/2015 21:58:22    1775650