Will Mayo target Stephen Cluxton?

The master, if clarke or hennelly had of being doing it or do it, you would not be giving out.

That is madness what you are suggesting.. The game has slowed down enough with the 13 defenders as it is!!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 20/08/2015 15:27:29    1773310

TheMaster - if you are being serious. Which I highly doubt a lot of the time. Then you are being ridiculous.
If McCauley goes on that run as you mention, a team with a thought out strategy deals with the kickout, i.e passes on the man, sweeper cevers etc.

If you don't have these strategies in place then you deserve to be punished for your lack of preparation or cop on.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 20/08/2015 15:33:18    1773319

I think there's a good chance Stephen Cluxton is going to target Mayo...with a wupping

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 20/08/2015 15:47:49    1773326

AthCliath87
The master, if clarke or hennelly had of being doing it or do it, you would not be giving out.
That is madness what you are suggesting.. The game has slowed down enough with the 13 defenders as it is!!

They do do it. I still say it isn't fair. If a team gets the better of you and gets a score, you should have to start again properly, instead of these cheap kickouts where the other team cant contest it. Give them a few seconds to get back out. If that makes it tight on time then actually enforce the 3rd man tackle rule - cutting out the time taken up with pushing and shoving matches should more than compensate the loss in time.

Shouldn't the same thing apply on frees then? We rarely see a quick free actually allowed to take place. The exact same principle applies.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 17:19:26    1773406

Funny just sitting back and watch the Master do what he does best , talk total Utopian garbage .
Fair play Ethos , you couldn't make it up , bot even Trotsky or Lenin went as far as the Master on this forum .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/08/2015 17:22:55    1773407

Do you not understand the concept of the ethos of fair play? It is the basis that all sporting contests of any description are based on. You seem to think that a sporting contest can be loaded in favour of one party. Im genuinely at a loss to see how you came to that conclusion.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 17:53:50    1773429

Master you are once again taking nonsense. Stupid idea, slowing the game down even more, ridiculous. And then the midfield sector would be overloaded with bodies!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 20/08/2015 18:21:17    1773457

How would the midfield sector be overloaded with bodies if everyone went back to their positions? Is it overloaded with bodies for the throw in? Such nonsense. It wouldnt slow the game down either, it would just prevent very quick kick outs the same way the ref prevents quick free kicks. There are as many frees as kick outs in games - do they slow it down? No.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 21:00:05    1773551

The Master, have you ever played a game of football?? I know for a fact no1 I play with would want to enforce a rule like you are suggesting. It is utter madness tbh!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 21/08/2015 10:21:50    1773658

Master most of the time you can make points that are fair and good for argument. This one though: Nobody wants to slow the game down by stopping quick kickouts. In fact I think most people would prefer if more quick frees were allowed, it lets the quicker thinking players have more opportunities to score, and would punish the indisciplined players who talk back to the referee, instead of focusing on their game.

Jimmy192 (Mayo) - Posts: 107 - 21/08/2015 11:02:50    1773695

AthCliath87

1773658 The Master, have you ever played a game of football?? I know for a fact no1 I play with would want to enforce a rule like you are suggesting. It is utter madness tbh!

Don't you get it ? its about fairplay ? or so Master thinks , it hasn't dawned on him that not a single person can fathom his logic , but mark my words it wont stop him .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 21/08/2015 11:05:16    1773696

I'm pretty sure that's what Kildare's plan was against Dublin all along, concede loads and let all their players run at us. Then we'll take quick kick outs and catch them on the counter...

If Mayo think there's a weakness to be targeted regarding Cluxton then they'd be right to target it. Same as what all successful teams do when it comes to planning for the opposition.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 21/08/2015 11:31:18    1773714

Another bizarre discussion.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 21/08/2015 11:38:03    1773718

Jaysus poor Steo can't win! He comes out to take a free or a 45 and he takes too long and he's criticised, he grabs the ball after a wide or a score and kicks it out quickly and he's criticised. Any wonder he gets frustrated?!

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 21/08/2015 11:46:22    1773730

Long.Dub.Glic

If only he done it the other way around, Imagine!

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 21/08/2015 12:13:24    1773754

How would the midfield sector be overloaded with bodies if everyone went back to their positions? Is it overloaded with bodies for the throw in? Such nonsense. It wouldnt slow the game down either, it would just prevent very quick kick outs the same way the ref prevents quick free kicks. There are as many frees as kick outs in games - do they slow it down? No.

To answer your question , no it isn't overloaded with bodies for the throw in. I'm not going to even bother explaining why.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7900 - 25/08/2015 20:53:57    1776251

I don't understand. Why would they target Cluxton? Surely it would make more sense to aim for the portion of the goal unoccupied by the goalkeeper?

14KY37 (Kerry) - Posts: 30 - 26/08/2015 10:33:21    1776358