Will Mayo target Stephen Cluxton?

Maybe Claxton should control his temper. Dublin seem to have big dsicplines issues against Mayo. Ger Brennan, James, McCatrthy, Paul Flynn, Diramuid Connolly and Cluxton have sent off in league games against Mayo

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 20/08/2015 12:01:33    1773101

Hughhunt 24.....

Equally Mayo have huge problems with Dublin, and the sending offs suggest refs are punishing one team more than another.

Take for example that Cluxton trip on McGloughlin. Why did that happen....oh yeah as Cluxton put the ball on the tee McGloughlin kicked his hands.

So kicking someone is a sending off (if you are a Dub)

But dont worry boys.....Mayo will beat Dublin out the gate.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 20/08/2015 12:38:47    1773136

Id agree with that hughhunt, cluxton had nobody to blame but himself for getting sent off against mayo. You cant kick someone for stopping you taking a quick free/kickout.

On the topic of very quick kickouts. I have to say, I don't think they are fair. A team works a score and then the ball is flying out past them before they have even had a chance to turn around. They are being punished for attacking. I think the ball should have to be on the tee for 6-7 seconds before it is kicked. Guys should be given a fair chance to get back into position.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 12:47:56    1773142

I think we do it on purpose hugh....playing with 14 suits us!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2015 12:49:30    1773143

Jimmy McG said in a recent article that he prepared donegal as hard as he could to target cluxtons kick outs, he said they could not have been more prepared for it and yet he said, Donegal still didnt get even close to him

if Jimmy cant do it, Mayo shouldnt bother trying
stick to their own game

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/08/2015 12:55:29    1773153

CroiGorm

I never said anything about a conspiracy theory or inherent bias. You're very defensive. Does this big bad Mayo team worry you? ;)

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/08/2015 13:05:48    1773168

I think they'll certainly push up on the kick outs and try force him to kick long, can't see Mayo giving up the possession and trying to cut off Dublin runners at their own 45. Mayo would dominate our midfield in an aerial contest. To combat I see Dublin playing with a sweeper to be available for the shorter kick outs and provide ROC with cover on AOS.

I don't see Mayo going out to purposefully antagonise him, but that's not to say that if the game is at a boiling point and he's looking tetchy they won't try rise him again. Every team, including Dublin, would do that if they saw a player on the brink.

Should be a great game, genuinely can't call it but as Jim said Mayo have a bit more momentum. However if ALL our half forwards play the way we know they can play, then I think Dublin will just edge it. Either team by 2.

DNS1916 (Dublin) - Posts: 64 - 20/08/2015 13:11:53    1773173

Cluxton breaks the rules each time he takes a different ball for his quick kick outs, game ball still up on the nets behind the goals when he takes a quick kick out

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 20/08/2015 13:15:50    1773176

One danger for Dublin is if Mayo let aerial ball in on top of O'Shea right on the small square. Cluxton tends to come out to punch and if O'Shea gets in on top of him there could be a few key clashes. If O'Shea catches the ball and gets through one on one, I doubt there will be any physical impact as O'Shea will look to go to one side of him.

As for the kick outs, Mayo will need to stop the runners outfield also. A tough task in what should be a mighty battle.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 20/08/2015 13:20:46    1773183

Liamwalkinstown

Jimmy McG said in a recent article that he prepared donegal as hard as he could to target cluxtons kick outs, he said they could not have been more prepared for it and yet he said, Donegal still didnt get even close to him

if Jimmy cant do it, Mayo shouldnt bother trying
stick to their own game

Mayos game plan involves pressuring the kickout of everyteam they play. I hope Jim Gavin has been watching as much of Mayo as you have.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 20/08/2015 13:24:07    1773188

Best way to target Cluxton would be to find out where he lives, kidnap him and put him in a box and ship him to Ghana, thus missing the game altogether.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 20/08/2015 13:24:57    1773189

1773142 Id agree with that hughhunt, cluxton had nobody to blame but himself for getting sent off against mayo. You cant kick someone for stopping you taking a quick free/kickout.

On the topic of very quick kickouts. I have to say, I don't think they are fair. A team works a score and then the ball is flying out past them before they have even had a chance to turn around. They are being punished for attacking. I think the ball should have to be on the tee for 6-7 seconds before it is kicked. Guys should be given a fair chance to get back into position.

Oh Dear , firstly you used that word that you are most prone to using fair , Ive warned you before that sport aint the kindergarten .
Secondly the team kicking the ball out are punished for not being alert , for not having tactics to deal with kickouts , as for 6-7 seconds I don't even know how to respond to the most idiotic suggestion of the year , might your suggestion be something to do with fact you guys have a very talented midfield and youd like them all in position to ram home that advantage , surely not .
Defending is just as much part of the game as attacking , if a defender forces through pressure an attacker to hit from distance and it goes wide then why would you reward the attacking team , bizzare to say the least .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 20/08/2015 13:26:21    1773190

TheMaster.....

Don't really think that's a valid point at all. Right, if the kick outs had to be on a tee for a period of time, it favours teams with big lugs in the midfield area of the pitch. Fielders. So basically you give the big lugs an advantage. So not only have they scored, they get to recover to their position of strength and dominance. That disadvantages guys who don't have the prowess and power centrally as they aren't go.

I also think "the cluxton rule" is a debacle. Ball boys speed the game up, stupid decision to stop that. Cluxton is so good and so quick, let's try slow him down. He retrieves the ball or has one ready just as quick as he got the balls from the ball boys. In an age where people want to see the ball in play you are proposing a rule that slows play down? Madness.

Make Cluxton kick with his right leg is the next motion at congress.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 20/08/2015 13:42:41    1773208

Regarding the kickouts, what does the rule at the moment state?

Does the same ball have to be used throughout the game or can any ball be used once a ball goes out of play?

Uncle_Fester (Meath) - Posts: 217 - 20/08/2015 13:45:19    1773213

Id agree with that hughhunt, cluxton had nobody to blame but himself for getting sent off against mayo. You cant kick someone for stopping you taking a quick free/kickout.

Well done, what a great suggestion there. Many down the pub with ya?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7899 - 20/08/2015 13:47:11    1773217

I never said anything about a conspiracy theory or inherent bias. You're very defensive. Does this big bad Mayo team worry you? ;)

So if claiming he has ball boys firing quick balls to him and saying he has an unfair advantage is what if not a conspiracy theory?

And yes they do worry me, any Dub that claims they're not worried is kidding themselves.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/08/2015 13:59:48    1773224

though lads in fairness, getting rid of the dublin ballboys has taken at least 3 points of the dubs. awww

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 20/08/2015 14:08:30    1773234

Haha TheFlaker, very good!

:-)

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 20/08/2015 14:24:22    1773251

Not really jayp, Im not suggesting that all kickouts have to go long, they could still go short if that is what they wanted to do. My point is more about, for example, say McAuley fetches a kickout, runs with the ball leaving his man for dead, moves it on, goes for the return and drives it over the bar - a fine score, exactly what the game is all about. Then before the ball has even hit the deck, the keeper kicks the ball out to his man, who fell on his backside out on the 40. He goes up the pitch ass an extra man, creating an overlap and that in turn results in a point, or even a goal up at the other end. I think McAuley should be given a fair chance to get back into his position for the next play. Im not sure a team should be rewarded with a free man in their next attack because they defended poorly. My example of the tee was more to do with very fast kickouts, obviously it wouldn't need to sit on the tee if it was just a regular kickout. Maybe a better solution would be that the ref has to restart play on kickouts.

Also, damothedub, sport is actually built on the ethos of fair play, i.e. the same rules for everyone resulting in the better team winning, rather than the team the rules favoured...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 14:40:48    1773268

Lord above THE Master is geting stupidly giddy coming up to the game!
I as a neutral am really looking forward to this game. I think Mayo have a really good chance of a win and actually are favourites in most eyes down here in the Wesht!!!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 20/08/2015 14:55:42    1773282