Darragh V Tomas - better articles?

For me Tomas 100%
Tomas writes about the game, about tactics, about football
Darragh, writes about Darragh.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2015 10:07:15    1772302

I enjoy both, but Tomas seems to have a way with words that makes him a little more skilled. His writing on Kilkenny's win over Wexford in the hurling was great stuff. He admitted he didn't know what a 'wristy hurler' was but was wise enough to say Kilkenny's warm up looked different as they just blast balls at each other & can control them with one touch.

The article on Cork football was probably the only one I'd question.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/08/2015 10:33:09    1772335

Anyone who has seen Dara on SKY, either as a studio analyst or co-commentator, will know that he is totally out of his depth when it comes to analysing the game. Sitting alongside Horan, Canavan or McGuinness has made that abundantly clear. His MOTM choices are particularly bizarre.

However, to be fair to him, I do like his newspaper articles. I agree with Liam that they are filled with yarns from his playing days, but they do give an insight into the mindset of a footballer at the top level of our game, and are often entertaining.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 19/08/2015 10:38:31    1772341

Never read one of Tomas' articles as they're in the I*** unfortunately.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 19/08/2015 10:39:05    1772343

They both pale into insignificance when compared to the literary musings of JMcG whose weekly column is Shakesperian in tone.

Some man for one man.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 19/08/2015 10:41:54    1772347

have to agree with muckross
id read mcguinness
wouldnt bother with other too

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/08/2015 10:55:06    1772362

Tomas writes about the game, about tactics, about football
Darragh, writes about Darragh.....

Brilliant !

Tomás, for me, is also better craic than Dara,a storyteller with a lot of humour when he's writing and doing analysis, not afraid to give his own opinion regardless of what others might think. He's a breath of fresh air.

Dara isn't too different to other analysts, not really telling you anything new. Not bad compared to those other analysts and writers but boring in comparison to Tomás.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7381 - 19/08/2015 11:09:19    1772373

McGuinness has been good in fairness. Tomas O'Se is as good though and lots of people underestimate him. (He also seems to take himself less seriously than dara) Dara can be ok, if a bit repetitive at times, but when Kerry are involved he always tows the line too much. His is more of a history column than a football column, but it is what it is, they are different columns, take the good out of each.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/08/2015 11:17:49    1772382

I read both weekly along with ex-players Bomber (Thur) in Indo, Darragh O'Cinneidé (Sat) Examiner and Mike Quirke (Wed) Examiner.

Of all of them from a coaching point of view Mike Quirke gives a very good insight into the game both past and upcoming but that is probably due to his professional capabilities as a Kerry GDA, Bomber I can take or leave his knowledge is unquestionable but there is rarely anything new or exciting in his postings, of the two brothers whereas I enjoy Darragh's offerings on a Wednesday, I think there is more depth and research is prob the wrong word but Tomás's go deeper into the game both from a player, fan and pundit perspective, I get the impression of two kids in schools handing in the same essay, it's like Darragh's was done on the bus to school in the morning while Tomás made more or an effort and did it over the weekend, if that makes sense… but of all the above not one of them is a patch on Cinneidé's in the examiner on a Saturday…. Streets ahead of the rest of them.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 19/08/2015 11:20:10    1772386

Both are very good , Dara talks about Dara cause that's obviously the angle the Times won't to go with but either way there both very good. Also Michael Quirke the former Kerry player has very good write ups.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/08/2015 11:43:50    1772402

Thomas is better,dara's book wasn't great,I heard Thomas is bringing out a book which I would really look forward to.

colm860 (Kerry) - Posts: 75 - 19/08/2015 13:06:21    1772472

Tbh I'm always quite wary of Kerry pundits, as a lot of them play the cute hoor, downplaying their own side and bigging up Kerry's opposition in the run up to games. IMO this is not what they're being paid for and is disingenuous to their readers. However, I'd have a lot of respect for Tomás Ó Sé, as he doesn't really play that game and always calls it as he sees it ( as his column before the first Kerry-Cork match this year proved: can't have been easy writing that based in Cork and playing for Nemo Rangers!).

Darragh's column is a decent read, but more so due to the colourful yarns he comes out with and some insight into the mentality of top inter-county players. He steers clear of any in-depth analysis, especially in the run up to Kerry games (couldn't believe his column before the drawn Munster final- no mention of the match at all!), so J McG would be the man to go to for a tactical dissection of the big match.

The worst expert columnist I ever read was Liam Hayes in the Sunday Times- his "Dublin to win easily" prediction before the 2007 All-Ireland semi-final was a classic goof.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2015 13:29:17    1772491

I'd agree that Tomás' articles are more insightful but I do enjoy the auld yarns from Dara as well. It's be great to have a few pints in their company and let them tell tales of what couldn't be printed or broadcast on TV!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9171 - 19/08/2015 14:32:16    1772553

colm860

Thomas is better,dara's book wasn't great,I heard Thomas is bringing out a book which I would really look forward to.

Best autobiography of any Kerry footballers was Paidí Ó Sé's, IMO. Hopefully Tomás's tome is just as honest!

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/08/2015 14:43:25    1772566

Ah come on Muckross, Jimmy writes about Donegal and Donegal only, its tedious stuff. I know who the game is played I don't need a 1,000 word essay on how Donegal do it every Tuesday!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/08/2015 15:04:52    1772587

If M Sheehy was nearly run out of Tralee for cautioning against the Northern blitzkrieg style, what hope for the two lads?

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 19/08/2015 15:18:48    1772604

Two of my favorite writers these days, Tomas gives better football analysis/insight, but I probably prefer daras laid back writing style

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 19/08/2015 16:05:00    1772647

Darragh is the walking talking definition of a Yerra Yerra Bellyacher Kerry cute Hoor

Tomas is the real deal

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/08/2015 16:10:51    1772653

On the ball Liam.

Tomas articles are quite good. He can be a bit rogueish like Dara but comes across that he knows his stuff about the game. Wheras as posters have stated here that Dara's are usually yarns which sometimes can be entertaining but then lately al ot of his articles have been fairly rubbish...in my opinion.

I think Tomas's book should be a good read, Dara's book (thankfully I only borrowed it) has to be up there with Alex Ferguson's latest book as the worst sporting book of all time.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/08/2015 16:29:01    1772674

Tomás ... great player and great pundit ... love his articles.

SeppBlatter (Dublin) - Posts: 187 - 19/08/2015 16:47:13    1772696