Kevin Keane Appeal

Surprised he got off, wrong IMO as it sets a precedence but maybe the precedence was already set and that's why he got of. Don't think it will have a major influence on the game because

a) it's unlikely he will start
b) if he does come on it will likely be because someone is getting a roasting and probably too late for mayo at that stage
c) a token substitution at end of game is unlikely to alter the outcome

the only scenario i see this having a influence is if one of starting defenders gets injured early in the game which is possible.

IMO it is an unfair advantage to Mayo but nothing like if this was AOS or LK for example

2winjustonce (Mayo) - Posts: 65 - 20/08/2015 10:25:46    1772983

Crazy decision .. now refs are going to have to decide how hard the player strikes ...
It was possibly rescinded because Murphy instigated it however the right course of action therefore shud b that Murphy was also given a retrospective red caed at last night's hearing and Keane red card upheld

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 20/08/2015 10:37:38    1772996

tyronemanc

Only word I have for this is a disgrace, they try to enforce a rule that doesn't exist then do not uphold a rule that does exist

You have it in one. There are literally no rules to this game we all love.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 20/08/2015 10:43:05    1773000

It was an excellent piece of refereeing and the collusion between ref and umpire was absolutely spot on

They did extremely well and came to the right decision

As clear as a red card offense you will ever see

And it still gets over turned

Feckin laughable... what a shambles

Again hats off to the ref and umpire for doing a perfectly spot on job

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/08/2015 10:58:31    1773016

Disgraceful action by Mayo County Board appealing. If the semi-final ended up in a draw with a Dublin player red-carded Mayo could have no complaints if Dublin County Board appealed the decision and had it overturned.

Until you put your own house in order you can't complain about others.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 20/08/2015 11:03:39    1773019

rossy15
County: Roscommon

1772996 Crazy decision .. now refs are going to have to decide how hard the player strikes ...
It was possibly rescinded because Murphy instigated it however the right course of action therefore shud b that Murphy was also given a retrospective red caed at last night's hearing and Keane red card upheld

Murphy didn't strike so yellow was all he would have deserved it was Keane who did the red card offence and was rightly sent off. Must be a few mayo men on that hearing committee

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 20/08/2015 11:05:14    1773023

A backup FB isn't going to derail the Blue Juggernaut, let's be real folks

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 20/08/2015 11:13:06    1773033

Not sure how Mayo managed to get that overturned. There was very little in it admittedly. The fact that Murphy's reaction was to complain to the umpire rather than clutch his jaw probably tells you a lot about the force Keane used... and the strength of Murphy's jaw! Still striking is striking.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/08/2015 11:14:44    1773035

opa01

Disgraceful action by Mayo County Board appealing. If the semi-final ended up in a draw with a Dublin player red-carded Mayo could have no complaints if Dublin County Board appealed the decision and had it overturned.

Until you put your own house in order you can't complain about others.

Opa, i seem to remember connolly appealing a red card and allowing him to play in the final in 2011. So whats your point? Appealing is open to everybody.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 20/08/2015 11:31:11    1773053

opa01
Disgraceful action by Mayo County Board appealing.

Jog on....they took a chance and it paid off. Go have a rant at the CCC if you want someone to blame.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 20/08/2015 11:32:39    1773056

This is the way of the GAA. They are only consistent in their inconsistency.

It's hardly a precedent, plenty of players have been exonerated in an appeal including some from my own county.

It's a case of ah sure we couldn't let him miss a semi final for that. Either change the rules or enforce them.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 20/08/2015 11:37:06    1773061

I think ping city Murphy was a little more clever in his manouver either way Keane was Def a striking offence and should have been upheld ... bizarre to say the least

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 20/08/2015 11:39:17    1773064

saddam
Opa, i seem to remember connolly appealing a red card and allowing him to play in the final in 2011. So whats your point? Appealing is open to everybody.

My point is that until Counties and Clubs take responsibility for their & their officials/players actions the attitude to rules is not going to change. My own county appealed a correct decision a few years back and got the offender off with a 1 month ban for breaking a lad's jaw. They knew it was the correct decision but appealed anyway.

Some of the most strident complaints come from pundits/ex-players who have done worse in their playing time. What this appeal does for Mayo is that it doesn't allow them to complain when another county incorrectly appeals a decision.

In this case the rule was very clear, no ambiguity and Mayo County Board knew this. In my opinion, as much as any player would not like to miss an AI semi-final, no appeal should have been raised.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 20/08/2015 11:57:25    1773092

Just goes to show how much of a farce this game is to be honest...

I'm happy that you're delighted Clond

Hope he goes onto kick the winning score... just for you :)

If he does he does, he doesn't deserve to miss a game for a little puck like that no way.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2015 12:13:04    1773109

Right decision. It was merely a love tap anyway. The game needs to man up and try and catch up to the real men who carry hurleys!

Mayoabroad (Mayo) - Posts: 14 - 20/08/2015 12:37:06    1773131

opa01

saddam

My point is that until Counties and Clubs take responsibility for their & their officials/players actions the attitude to rules is not going to change. My own county appealed a correct decision a few years back and got the offender off with a 1 month ban for breaking a lad's jaw. They knew it was the correct decision but appealed anyway.

Some of the most strident complaints come from pundits/ex-players who have done worse in their playing time. What this appeal does for Mayo is that it doesn't allow them to complain when another county incorrectly appeals a decision. Every county has the right to appeal if they feel aggreived. Thats why the process is there. I also think it allows the cccc have another set of eyes on how the row started which the ref may have missed.

In this case the rule was very clear, no ambiguity and Mayo County Board knew this. In my opinion, as much as any player would not like to miss an AI semi-final, no appeal should have been raised. You are entitled to your opinion the same as how Mayo are entitled to appeal a referees decision.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 20/08/2015 12:37:40    1773133

The GAA is becoming a bigger joke by the day,it wasn't much of a punch but that's not the point,typical Ireland.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 20/08/2015 12:37:43    1773135

It was an excellent piece of refereeing and the collusion between ref and umpire was absolutely spot on
They did extremely well and came to the right decision
As clear as a red card offense you will ever see
And it still gets over turned
Feckin laughable... what a shambles
Again hats off to the ref and umpire for doing a perfectly spot on job

Yes Id agree. However, the same could be said of the Diarmuid Connolly case. You weren't calling that a shambles however...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 12:41:13    1773137

True or keegan last year even

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2015 12:51:39    1773149

Some of the Dubs on here complaining about Mayo's appeal...

Connolly 2011 ring a bell lads?

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 20/08/2015 13:01:18    1773162