Kevin Keane Appeal

Looking at both the Connolly and Keane incidents, Donegal really don't cover themselves in glory in either case. No way Keanes will be overturned, seems a waste of time to be appealing it.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/08/2015 17:41:03    1772172

Set upon master? Ah give over. Still i would have no complaints if he did get off. It wouldnt surprise me. Prefer to beat ye with a full deck tho. No excuses :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/08/2015 19:19:41    1772183

The silly season is truly upon us.

Laughable stuff.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/08/2015 20:57:37    1772217

He hit Murphy and deserves the ban. Irrelevant what Murphy did to him to get him riled up, he should never have reacted.We're better off without a loose cannon on the pitch on the 30th. When last I looked the Dublin team didn't contain too many shrinking violets. A good defender can take the abuse, verbal and physical but control his anger without such a headless reaction.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 18/08/2015 21:40:17    1772227

Personally I would like to see this ban overturned but somehow can't see it happening. It was more stupid than malicious, a bit of pushing and shoving and then a silly liittle strike. Unfortunately if they overturn this one then it would be open day on all bans for striking an opponent. Keane is a wholehearted player and gives everything, a likeable player, so it would be a shame for him to miss out on the semi final.

I don't think there is much point blaming Michael Murphy, at least he didn't fall about the ground clutching his face. He was definitely at fault for pushing Keane but to suggest that he receives a ban for this is simply ludicrous. If we start banning players for pushing and shoving then there would be a lot of players serving suspensions.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 19/08/2015 09:48:37    1772285

Looks like we got a sympathy vote after all the drama from the semi final last year! Some craic.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/08/2015 08:04:02    1772880

Surprised (but happy as a Mayo man) to see Keane's red card overturned. It goes against the rules as far as I can see.
Would it be overturned it it were in a league game or a club game?

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 20/08/2015 08:10:49    1772883

I guess them ain't the rules Jimbo ha delighted for the lad to miss out on an occasion like this for a little puck would be shocking as Brian Farrell is in some room scratching his head again.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 20/08/2015 08:15:07    1772884

Reduced to yellow, seems fair enough to me.

No doubt we'll have a few on claiming it's a disgrace, there was a clear strike. But it's a common sense decision.

Did Hughes deserve his red card for striking McCann's hair?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 20/08/2015 08:35:11    1772891

I stand corrected on this one as it is reported that the ban was overturned. Happy that it has been overturned as it would have been awful for him to miss the match over a strike that didn't have much intent. However does this mean that any striking incident can now be overturned? It might open a can of worms with every team appealing decisions and this further undermines referees.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 20/08/2015 09:35:33    1772917

1772884 I guess them ain't the rules Jimbo ha delighted for the lad to miss out on an occasion like this for a little puck would be shocking as Brian Farrell is in some room scratching his head again.

Just goes to show how much of a farce this game is to be honest...

I'm happy that you're delighted Clond

Hope he goes onto kick the winning score... just for you :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 20/08/2015 09:37:34    1772919

I have to say, Im surprised. I wonder what was the criteria? I seriously doubt they done what they should be doing all the time and used common sense.

However, if they rescinded it on lack of malicious intent, then I think that is a good thing for the game going forward. There is a danger of becoming slaves to how rules are worded etc, rather than having the rules serves the good of the game. This is a step away from the former, towards the latter.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/08/2015 09:38:06    1772921

I am very surprised. Credit to the county board for chancing their arm. Murphy started it and had Keane by the collar so maybe that's why they let it slide? Oh well on we go. Keane might not even start the game but is a good option to come on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 20/08/2015 09:39:28    1772923

Somebody should have explained the rules of GAA to the boys in the CHC. Actually possibly the biggest joke I have seen in years that he got red card rescinded. It couldn't have been anymore obvious the he struck with a closed fist. The rule states its a red even if he didn't connect with Murphy but he did. I am beginning to give up on Gaa it is becoming a bigger joke by the week. Every decision favours the big teams and we wonder why there's such a gulf in class between teams

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 20/08/2015 09:44:52    1772930

Only word I have for this is a disgrace, they try to enforce a rule that doesn't exist then do not uphold a rule that does exist

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 20/08/2015 09:52:07    1772935

Laughable decision that completely undermines the officials who made the correct call in the first place. 3 minutes left of a game that was well won and he punches an opponent in the face having only just been brought on. And then laughs his way off the field. Why did Mayo even want such a guy available for an All-Ireland semi final?

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 20/08/2015 09:56:14    1772941

Pingcity
County: Longford
Every decision favours the big teams and we wonder why there's such a gulf in class between teams

If that is the reason you believe there is a gulf in class or part of it then we really do have problems.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 20/08/2015 10:07:13    1772957

Mayo have Tyrone to thank. They caved to the pressure from tyrone so needed to seem balanced to other counties and protect the soft wee precious red hand lads feelings

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 20/08/2015 10:09:45    1772962

Laughable but utterly predictable from the powers that be.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/08/2015 10:16:14    1772971

Pingcity
County: Longford

Somebody should have explained the rules of GAA to the boys in the CHC. Actually possibly the biggest joke I have seen in years that he got red card rescinded. It couldn't have been anymore obvious the he struck with a closed fist. The rule states its a red even if he didn't connect with Murphy but he did. I am beginning to give up on Gaa it is becoming a bigger joke by the week. Every decision favours the big teams and we wonder why there's such a gulf in class between teams

That's a big leap you have made there, lol.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/08/2015 10:21:05    1772977