HS - Long Time Posters

Been on from about 2001/02 i think, memory just isnt what it used to be.

Its the first website i visit when i reach work (during teabreak of course!).

I agree with cue that even with all our whinging and moaning (chips included) and sometimes barbed comments I would miss the craic if it wasnt about. It caters for all sorts, some extremely witty and intelligent posters and some maybe not so witty or intelligent. It allows everyone to express their opinion and when required let off a bit of steam.

'Back in the day'I have to say I always enjoyed the contributions from Jayo,Loyal,Horse,Snuff and of course good oul Padraig!
There was a really good poster from Tyrone, i cant remember his handle, maybe Thomasclarke or Big Sacks can help me out and im not talking about Pomeroy Plunker here.

Anyhow Viva Hoganstand!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/08/2015 10:58:31    1769945

Loyal fecked off when Dublin started to win things...

But have to agree.. A top poster

Former poster has a bang of loyal off him alright! ;)

As I said... most them boys are on GAA tipster

Had an account there myself for a bit but it's a bit ghost town on there

Triona from Kerry and Bald Eagle were also great posters

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2015 11:11:49    1769955

While we're talking about the good ole days, does anyone else think the admins have very inconsistent with what gets posted? I get a lot of posts not published, while some of the bile that gets through is horrific!

I'm all for sensoring posts that damage the character of amateur sportsmen and women but some posts that literally aren't about anyone still get rejected.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 14/08/2015 11:17:33    1769964

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There's basically nobody on Tipster now, or GlobalGAA as it became. Myself and one or two others fire up the odd post, but it's more just a few mates chatting now.

Bald Eagle was indeed another good one. And someone mentioned the Dublin poster, Tomaoo7. He became Mullins, and later Champers on Tipster/GlobalGAA. An antagonist, but a fine poster and, though I've no idea what his username is, I'd guess he's back on here somewhere.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/08/2015 11:29:26    1769976

I cant remember when I joined....It was def the pre 9/11 days. if I was to pick out a landmark world event. Began as mostly a reader.

+1 on what Wayno said on the non sport forum. We need that back. Most major sports forum have an off topic of non sport related forum. This is especially missed when the intercounty season is over.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 14/08/2015 11:33:20    1769984

I just wanna know where Jim is.

The man stole the show but never collected his medal.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 14/08/2015 11:38:22    1769990

yew_tree

1769984 I cant remember when I joined....It was def the pre 9/11 days. if I was to pick out a landmark world event. Began as mostly a reader.

+1 on what Wayno said on the non sport forum. We need that back. Most major sports forum have an off topic of non sport related forum. This is especially missed when the intercounty season is over.
_________

I can name 3 posters that destroyed that for everyone

It became about politics and the admin had no other choice... it got incredibly nasty

Actually Admin should have just booted them off the site for good...

It is a bad loss alright! Some very good chats had on the non-sport forum but was ruined by a tiny minority

As I said... I can name them but they already know who they are...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2015 11:41:18    1769994

I'm here since in or around 01. Definitely pre broadband anyway. I remember my first major rant being about The all-Ireland hurling semi final against tipp. The one that got away :(

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2679 - 14/08/2015 11:42:53    1769996

Thomas Clarke

1769976 jimbodub

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There's basically nobody on Tipster now, or GlobalGAA as it became. Myself and one or two others fire up the odd post, but it's more just a few mates chatting now.

Bald Eagle was indeed another good one. And someone mentioned the Dublin poster, Tomaoo7. He became Mullins, and later Champers on
______

Tomo posted here the other day...

Believe

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2015 11:43:01    1769997

Tomaoo reared his head the other day lads. Just one word. His mantra....believe haha! Ive been here since 2008 if memory serves. Ive gone through a husband and had 3 kids since. Loyak is defo hanging around here just dunno who. Moomoo is here too. Hinself and the naster have very similar posting stes tho the master debates better.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2015 11:43:48    1769999

Tomaoo reared his head the other day lads. Just one word. His mantra....believe haha! Ive been here since 2008 if memory serves. Ive gone through a husband and had 3 kids since. Loyak is defo hanging around here just dunno who. Moomoo is here too. Hinself and the naster have very similar posting stes tho the master debates better.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/08/2015 11:45:49    1770001

The first time I remember posting was 2001, before Limerick played Wexford in the All-Ireland quarter final.

When registration came in around 2007/2008 we had to take usernames. There was a right lot of maggott acting going on with people pretending to be other people and the admins had to step in & say when a post was from an impostor. It was all great fun but a little juvenile.

To be fair, this is a great outlet, makes the working day go faster, some great opinions and the odd flare up but most of the time it's like watching a load of drunken revellers on a beach by night. Not enough females though.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/08/2015 11:47:59    1770003

Pomeroy plunkett ha forgot about him. He used to wind up the celtic / 'ra heads something awful.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 14/08/2015 12:28:39    1770054

Ach slayer is that not what tinder is for?? lol

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/08/2015 12:38:30    1770064

Hurlingdub has disappeared recently, he was also a decent poster.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/08/2015 12:45:05    1770075

See lads, i knew starting this thread we would all start to see sense and get along again!!! :)

Anyone remember Ballyboy and myself and "The Treaty" :) :)

i genuinely miss the fella!

The worst, the absolute worst i ever met on here was a fella with 2 names but the same guy - Real Louth Fan aka Squidworth.

No redeeming characteristics whatsoever

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/08/2015 12:49:01    1770078

We have good,healthy debates on the Dublin county page.All the usual suspects - hill,clondalkin,realdub,ath cliath,joxer,wayno,jackeen etc.A lot of county forums are dormant.Galways is always worth a read.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/08/2015 12:56:34    1770086

Ach slayer is that not what tinder is for?? lol

I'm too tender for tinder!

They'd be swiping the wrong way. Seriously, doesn't a lady always look nice in her county colours?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/08/2015 13:36:53    1770133

Liam RealLouthfan and Squidword were two different posters. They both had one or two battles among themselves.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/08/2015 13:39:59    1770138

A lady always looks nice in her county colours indeed. I agree with you Slayer. That said her county colours always look better off her at the end of the night. Get up the yard ye boya!!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/08/2015 13:44:20    1770149