HS - Long Time Posters

I've been contributing since the old days as well albeit I used a different "handle" back in the late mid to late 90's. Stuck with Lockjaw since about 2007 I think!

Ballboy was some craic - who can forget the day that he fell for the HS April Fool's joke about the Dubs recruiting AFL players...!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9147 - 14/08/2015 09:07:59    1769839

Here since about 05-06 but have had a couple of different usernames since then.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/08/2015 09:15:31    1769843

Here not quite since the start but fairly close....I think. I contributed anonymously until they made you get logins.

The new closing hours are a disaster though. We'll never have another contribution (I was guilty of one infamous one myself) like Jim's "God's or what" post starting off with "Just back via pub" or something like that. Surely people could contribute over night and then be screened the following morning before allowing on the site admin?

Also would the administrator know when logins were created?

I do enjoy the board overall. Great posters to leave include puddersthecat, hag and cheese, there were a few Cork posters who I used to have great debates with. Hurlingdub, Slayer, Marlon_JD, maroonatic are great hurling posters. I think nothing of any Clare poster. Bunch of mouth pieces and know it alls.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 14/08/2015 09:25:48    1769855

I joined in 2011 in response to the scurrilous, vicious, mean spirited & totally unwarranted attacks on the venerable JMcG after the Dublin game!!!

Yes, there are times when I could give it up, too much trolling these days, but a short break to recharge the batteries usually does the trick.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 14/08/2015 09:34:37    1769860

Started off as just a reader of the form for a long time as it and other such GAA forums are a good way to keep up with what is going on around the place. Guess it reached the point where I felt the need to get a user to respond to something which irked me - that was around 2008/09 and have been here as irked me and only irked me since (despite some McCarthyismesque allegations - or should that be McGaryismesque allegations.... ;-) ).

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/08/2015 09:35:50    1769863

Yeah, the admins should be able to help us out here.

All logins should be registered in a file and sorting them in order of date should be no problem. Facebook released theirs a few years ago showing who their first 50 members were. It'll be the same file all passwords are stored so will need to be edited before publishing but hopefully admin can help us out on this one.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 14/08/2015 09:43:12    1769873

I'm here since 2005 I think. 10yrs talkin shi*e

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 14/08/2015 09:53:14    1769882

I need to post more.

Long time reader (since early 2000s i'd say).
Part-time contributor.

OffalyBigBall (Offaly) - Posts: 625 - 14/08/2015 10:02:00    1769887

Black&White from Sligo was good poster. Not around any more.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 14/08/2015 10:07:43    1769890

Been on here since about 2002/3 when I resided in Yorkshire. Our whole team joined up and got involved in a bit of cyber sledging with our big Yorkshire rivals at the time. The UK section of hoganstand was never so active. Things got to a stage where the Yorkshire county board contacted the clubs and banned the use of it to slag or 'sledge' the other team. Any player found to be 'at it' would be disciplined ......great times. :)

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 14/08/2015 10:14:06    1769897

I wudnt be praising WUM's on here like a few posters have done.Personnally i think they are a pain in the swissrole.I see most of the football threads have quickly descended into farce lately.The bigging up of the opposition is now the last refuge of the scoundrel.Decent,fair minded,sensible posters are in thin supply.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/08/2015 10:24:02    1769906

Longtime reader, random poster

I miss Patrique, what a fine contributor he was and Ard Ri is sorely missed and NorthMeathMan rarely posts on my county board

Ballboy was the one that always stuck out as a total fool

Some of the Dublin posters are brilliant, Liam and Clondalkin and was there a poster Snufalufugus who used to sign off at the bottom of evey post!!!!

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 14/08/2015 10:29:46    1769909

Not good with dates/years but think I'm here since around 2002?

Some great posters already mentioned that no longer contribute. Always wondered about Tongo. He (she?) was always interesting as neutral "outsider".

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 14/08/2015 10:30:50    1769913

And also there have been some terrible, terrible posters over that time that are absolutely no loss to anyone.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 14/08/2015 10:39:48    1769919

Some of the hurling posters are my favs.Barnowl,festinog and quite a few Galway lads.Slayer & dissilusioned fan from Limerick.Benny & culchie from Cork.Pinkie & Doyler from Wexford.Damo abd hurlingdub from the capital.Marlon and Killarney in Tipp.Couple of the Antrim lads,Ban,Greengrass & a few others.All good hurling men.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/08/2015 10:40:36    1769920

I think some of the best posters ever on this site are some of the relatively new bunch

A lot of the names mentioned all went over to GAA Tipster... you'll find them there

The site is in a healthy place

Those saying that the site is going down hill are talking through their hoops

It's ALWAYS been like this and actually it's been far worse at times

Problem is...

You only have a certain amount to say, a certain amount of personal insights.. you just end up repeating yourself

That's why I like starting threads just to get a bit of chat going

I've started 100's of threads...

We need a little more of that from certain posters... they are happy to criticise but rarely start any threads of their own

That's the sign of a good poster... being able to see an interesting topic and getting some chat going, and sometimes in order to do that you have to stick your neck out and stir it a little...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2015 10:49:30    1769932

Breffni39

1769919 And also there have been some terrible, terrible posters over that time that are absolutely no loss to anyone.

----

Very true

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/08/2015 10:50:19    1769935

Im here since 2009.

And the loss of the Non-sport threads where people could talk about anything from how they put the fig in fig rolls, To the conflict in Iraq has seen a major decline.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 14/08/2015 10:52:04    1769937

Started posting on Hoganstand around 05 or 06 under various names and signed up as the backwards Meath man in 2007.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/08/2015 10:56:10    1769940

Here a while myself,I have posted about double the amount of posts,as I had to change my username,the other one was similar but it wouldn't work anymore!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 14/08/2015 10:57:53    1769944