The "Dublin" Media

The poor wounded Dubs want to share in the pain!!
The most interesting assertion in this topic so far was to read bEANsync@^# from Down making assertions about bees farting in 2003. Did you see that progrom sorry programme on BBC2 last night with the bit about beehive hunting in the Sundarabund marshes I wonder was that BEANo's inspiration?

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 13/08/2015 17:16:36    1769604

Stupid thread, you made this point in another discussion yesterday and when no one picked it up for you, you decided to open a thread on the subject to get a bit of attention.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 17:21:19    1769607

seanie_boy
Thank god a fine Mayo man like James Horan has just come out and vindicated EVERYTHING the Tyrone,and other posters,have been saying on the matter since Saturday.Thank you James.

But I thought the 'Southern media' couldn't be believed...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 13/08/2015 17:23:18    1769608

Liamwalkinstown

1769423 Can someone please tell me who the "Dublin Media" are

Roy Curtis springs to mind, a jack of all sports Journalist who becomes an GAA expert whenever the soccer isn't on.

However the broader term is normally used in relation to RTE, who are based in Dublin and thus anybody under their umbrella falls under that bracket ( Brolly, O'Rourke, McStay, Whelan, Earley, O'Hara etc ).

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 13/08/2015 17:38:37    1769618

Tell ye what folks, call the media what they are, the media, leave out the Dublin bit, and we will all get along swimmingly!!

(Roy Curtis is to GAA writing what Shane Curran is to eastern european female synchronised swimming)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2015 17:41:57    1769623

Low and behold as soon as a southern commentator says something that helps their cause he is suddenly the one to be listened too. What a bunch of clowns. Ha ha haaaa.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2015 17:43:03    1769624

Ah yes Liam. It's partitionist rhetoric used by some Ulster posters, we know who they are, used to support their paranoid view of a north/south divided GAA community. It's the old us versus them thing. Unfortunately it back fires more often than not. The Irish News - I presume this could be classed as Northern based media but who knows - contained a good article this week slating the antics of Tyrone. Several neutral posters like myself and seanfinn have referenced it but of course it is blanked by the usual suspects from Ulster as it doesn't suit their partitionist agenda. Similarly when you point to Ulster commentators who have been outspoken on the matter of Tyrone's antics, Malachy Clerkin, Joe Brolly, Pete McGrath, numerous players on social media etc. you will again receive a blank from the usual suspects as once again it doesn't suit the partitionist agenda.

We even had the "Dublin Lead" southern media yesterday. We also had reference to the "Free State". Again it's all partitionist and political rhetoric and speaks volumes of the people who come out with it. Clearly the bitterness runs deep. I don't know what these people would do if Tyrone started playing great football again a la 90s, were never involved in a controversial incident again and the media praised them to high heaven - crawl back under their rock I suppose!

I would say that Limerick and Cork (Leader and Examiner) are glad that they got off so lightly. They would be the Westerne and People's Republic of Cork based media and so definitely not "Dublin lead".

Once again, for the record, the decision to ban McCann for 8 weeks is shocking. Yellow card on the pitch and pressure on Harte to sanction him internally should have been the outcome. Anyway, I still think he will get off though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2015 17:54:35    1769632

Dubh_linn

1769624 Low and behold as soon as a southern commentator says something that helps their cause he is suddenly the one to be listened too. What a bunch of clowns. Ha ha haaaa.

____

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 13/08/2015 17:55:52    1769633

Joxer
Well played :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/08/2015 18:00:45    1769639

Dubh_linn

1769624 Low and behold as soon as a southern commentator says something that helps their cause he is suddenly the one to be listened too. What a bunch of clowns. Ha ha haaaa.

____

------
Ha, even Joe Brolly was seen as a saviour yesterday because of his tweeting to McMahon. The hypocrisy knows no bounds. You honestly couldn't write it.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2015 18:09:21    1769647

Liam has been posting here for years and is a great man to come with what he thinks is a populist view and then appeal for all the right-thinking people to back him up.
Give it a rest Liam... you're full of bull.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 13/08/2015 18:18:14    1769655

When the media dictates the direction of an organisation, by having that organisation or group react to the media pressure to create new rules in reaction to pulpit type protestations, then it is wrong.
in the past couple of years we had the "seany Johnson rule" to limit a players movement between counties, the introduction of the Sean Cavanagh Black card rule, and now it looks like the tiernan McCann, simulation rule will be next.
If you can honestly say that the media was not the driving force behind those rule changes or is not the cheerleader for the Tiernan McCann issue, then I congratulate you on your opinion.
Dublin-centric, anti-north, pro Kerry, against the Blanket, for the purity of the kicking game... it doesn't really matter.
When the media stops reporting the news to inform those who choose to read/view/listen and instead use there commercial platform to direct the actions of an association, or to tell you how "angry/confused/upset/humiliated... you should be then it hedges itself towards propoganda.

notimpressed (UK) - Posts: 98 - 13/08/2015 18:27:11    1769660

seanie_boy Thank god a fine Mayo man like James Horan has just come out and vindicated EVERYTHING the Tyrone,and other posters,have been saying on the matter since Saturday.Thank you James. But I thought the 'Southern media' couldn't be believed...

TheMaster (Mayo) - 13/08/2015 17:23:18
----------------------------
Why don't you address what he said?That would fit you better. It probably sickens you to the pit of your stomach that it was James Horan that came out with such a statement to completely support the points myself and other posters have been trying to make on here :)

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 21:03:29    1769751

The Dublin media are country lads writing in newspapers based in Dublin, most sports editors in our national newspapers have been country chaps down the years and they have the final say :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 13/08/2015 21:11:36    1769757

Lovely to see all you Dubs getting on so well, really nice to see, keep it up lads, and Jackeen, its all good.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2015 21:17:21    1769765

Well you see you have to be suspicious of Horan.

1- he didn't state what should have been done with Horan. That immediately devalues his comments - similar to most Tyrone supporters here who agree there was a crime, moan about the sentence but don't state what they think the sentence should be, nor what action Tyrone management should take to cut out this systemic cheating.

2- I should think that Horan fancies himself as a potential media pundit. If that's the case I would expect him to comment.

Finally, he has said nothing that 99% on here don't agree with. The sentence was harsh, he is being made an example of and Brolly's column didn't help his case. Brolly has made up for that with his tweet though hasn't he?

And this does not vindicate all Tyrone posters comments this week. His sentence was never debatable was it? We all know it was harsh. It's the tactic itself that's the problem.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2015 21:27:23    1769776

That's true Realdub. We're just the ManU loving Dubs with no intetest in GAA. Isn't that what the other 31 counties are always telling us anyway. There hasn't been a decent GAA sports hack from the capital since Keith Barr in the noughties, even if he did have a shadow journo correcting his spelling mistakes :)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/08/2015 21:33:02    1769784

Fair play Bren, ye can't beat a bit of backslapping , helps certain lads feel needed :)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/08/2015 21:40:46    1769792

Horan wrote recently Mayo hammering Sligo hammering would make mayo mentally stronger yet he dismissed Kerry hammering of Kildare would do them no good

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 13/08/2015 21:42:58    1769795

Joker
If you read the Irish news this week ( I think Wedensday) Kenny Archer writes a good article about Tyrone But he say everything must be seen to be equal.
Ban a man and others walk scot free over similar incidents Do you just read what you want to hear ??

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 13/08/2015 21:59:54    1769814