Cut off the North

DoireCityFC
County: Derry
Incidentally, what was #1 in Strabane, the road out of it?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 14/08/2015 13:20:13    1770114

brendtheredhand

DoireCityFC
County: Derry
Incidentally, what was #1 in Strabane, the road out of it?

Into Donegal!!!!! Couldn't resist there lads!!!!!

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 14/08/2015 13:28:22    1770122

plike the london was voted out last week in the city council :)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 14/08/2015 13:38:05    1770136

@Doire... Good. Too much of a mouthful. Like watching Irl play S Afr in Dublin. By the time the anthems are over, the poor lambs haven't enough puff left for the match. Shame.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 14/08/2015 13:41:35    1770145

Bain the road out of strabane is the Derry Road. Only thing tourists stop for is to get directions to the city

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 14/08/2015 13:46:09    1770151

plike yeah but we all know the first 6 letters are silent :)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 14/08/2015 13:47:47    1770154

There should be a new law made.Anyone using that horrible L
transfix before Derry should be fined!!!!

In 1921 Tyrone and Fermanagh were included in the Northern
state despite having Nationalist majorities.Derry and Armagh
now have Nationalist majorities and yet are still held.Within
about 10 years Down will be "greened" too.

Effectively there will be one Unionist county and that will be
Antrim.Yet they wont agree to united Ireland even then

They have a hypocritical sense of democracy.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2015 13:52:05    1770161

There should be a new law made.Anyone using that horrible L
transfix before Derry should be fined!!!!

Sure didn't the Unionists not force that young singer from the X Factor to get his name changed as it offended them - yer young man Joe McDerry. After a lot of negotiations they agreed to Joe McElderry as Joe McL'Derry just looked too wrong as a name.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 14/08/2015 14:12:06    1770182

Yeah they also wanted Cadburys dairy milk changed.

If they dont like it they can more to New Hampshire and chose between Derry or londonderry

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 14/08/2015 14:20:44    1770189

Can't we all just get along!

Ourselves, Cavan and Donegal are like Hugo Simpson (Bart Simpson's evil twin brother)...Too much of a boy for crazytown and too much of a crazy for boytown! Amazing how we so easily are grouped and cast aside as Northern or Southern depending on what the hubbub is....All in good jest though.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 14/08/2015 14:33:32    1770201

The Irish Republic is 'owned' by the EU. Be their bitch... if you must. The rest of us were railroaded into it!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 14/08/2015 14:39:36    1770210

Aye Red and Black but dont forget their 'jewel in the crown' up here in Antrim has been greened forever too.

If only we could fit them all into Larne!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/08/2015 15:23:32    1770263

Bumpernut your alright.Lucky even they know that a one county
state isnt viable right.....I hope???

Youse are making Ballymena greener good work!!!!Much done
more to do!!!!Youse are up against it up there.Maybe lay on
a few boats with one way tickets!!!!

Everyone in the GAA should be able to get along.There is no need
to cut anywhere off.If the rugby fraternity can get along with much
less in common surely the gaels of Ireland can work together
for the betterment of the GAA.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2015 15:38:21    1770278

Ah, the rugby fraternity. The Bull Hayes being typical of many Munster players (blue collar & GAA by instinct), as opposed to BOD (blue blood & elitist by nature).

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 14/08/2015 16:54:46    1770347

I meant Béal Feirste Red and Black!!

They can have Ballymena along with Larne!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 14/08/2015 16:59:22    1770354

Yeah Belfast is now a green city along with Derry and Newry.That is a
big blow for them alright.All they have now is Lisburn lol.

Look at their tactics in Fermanagh/South Tyrone????Its amazing to me
that any Catholics would want to prop up their Union when they see
that???

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1628 - 14/08/2015 17:16:14    1770364

AAHHHH HERE NOW BOYS.

I was a bar man for years and a wise man told me never discuss three things when you work behind the bar
Sports
Women
politics

This is a forum for gaa conversation , matches , refs, gaa matters.

This is not a forum for politics. Also this thread is in relation to gaa and the northern teams treatment. That treatment can only come from Gaa HQ and certainly not from britain or europe so can we keep the subject on the gaa.

More so than most our northern cousins have had more alot more to put up with over the years to support their sport. The earned their rights in the gaa family. But as i said earlier that is a privilege and not one to be scoffed upon and certainly there is no place in this site for politics and the plights that comes with same.

Alot of posters from ireland have spoke with fondness of the people and supporters of ulster counties. In 2012 i had the greatest craic with the lads from donegal.

But i think with the change of topic we have missed the opportunity to deal with the matters at hand. 50% of posters here are playing or directly involved in their clubs at some level. And while it is very hard not to back your counties in all matters i think it does give the opportunity to digest whats being said and relay it back to our clubs thus moving it along in a silent whisper which may or may not effect a change ..

Gaa matters only cause silent whispers wont reach the E.U

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 14/08/2015 17:30:42    1770367

Great game yesterday, however only one thing. There was the most blatant cynical fouls as the Galway full back speak tackled the Tipp full forward with both arms around him. A very dangerous tackle...................WHERE IS THE NATIONAL OUTCRY AND THE DEMANDS FOR CRUCIFIXION??????????

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 17/08/2015 12:57:53    1771361

Best game of hurling I have ever seen. Galway full back had to take Callinan down. That is hurling.
Should look at Fan Larkin versus Ray Cummins. Fan at height 5'5 let Ray 6'3 catch the ball, then dealt with him at ground level. I believe Ray was held scoreless by Fan.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 17/08/2015 13:51:34    1771403

Galway full back had to take Callinan down.

This is my point two years ago Sean had to in your words take McManus down and look at the outcry, why is this different??

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 17/08/2015 14:06:00    1771414